Kinross Gold Corporation
Kinross Gold Corporation is a Toronto-headquartered senior gold producer. Its portfolio is led by Tasiast (Mauritania, the company's highest-margin operation), Paracatu (Brazil, its highest-producing mine at 600,000+ oz in 2025), and Round Mountain (Nevada, USA), alongside the Great Bear project (Red Lake district, Ontario, Canada), a major development-stage growth asset where Advanced Exploration construction is ~93% complete as of Jul 2026. CEO J. Paul Rollinson has led the company since 2012; Andrea Freeborough is CFO. Q2 2026 attributable production was 492,326 gold-equivalent ounces at margins of $3,131/oz (+42% YoY).
Notable vs. Peers
- Jurisdiction risk score of 6/10 is meaningfully riskier than the peer average of 7.8/10.
- All-in sustaining cost of $1,821/oz AuEq is 24% lower than the peer producer average of $2,402/oz AuEq.
Lifecycle Milestones
Construction Milestones
5 of 5 reached- Reached — date not disclosed · Source
- Reached — date not disclosed · Source
- Jan 2023 · Source
- Reached — date not disclosed · Source
- Reached — date not disclosed · Source
Milestones are recorded only from a company's own dated disclosure. A milestone with no date shown is one we can confirm was reached but for which no date was disclosed — we don't estimate one. "Not yet reached" means exactly that, not that a date is missing. An "Expected" line likewise only ever reflects the company's own guidance (e.g. a study or permit decision targeted for a stated quarter) — most not-yet-reached milestones have none, and that absence means no such guidance has been disclosed, not that one is overdue.
Not in place: grid power.
Not yet determined: tailings facility, road access, grid power.
Not in place: mill, tailings facility, grid power.
Combined view across 4 projects. Figures below are only combined where the underlying basis genuinely matches -- see the notes under each.
- 24.3%Great Bear
- 9 yrsParacatu
- 11 yrsRound Mountain
- 12 yrsGreat Bear
Jurisdiction (40%)6/10
Kinross's single largest and highest-margin producing asset (Tasiast) is in Mauritania; the wider portfolio also includes Brazil (Paracatu), the United States (Round Mountain, Nevada) and Canada (Great Bear development project, Ontario). This score is anchored to Mauritania as the flagship jurisdiction, not a blended company-wide figure.
Infrastructure (40%)7.1/10
A confirmed mill, confirmed road access, no confirmed grid power, and a confirmed tailings facility at Tasiast.
Nearby producing mine (20%)Not yet researched
No producing mine within 50 km in our reference list (nearest listed: Sadiola (Allied Gold Corporation), 846 km). That list doesn't cover every mining district yet, so a longer distance isn't scored as remote.
Acquisition Susceptibility
A relative ranking of how closely this company matches the profile of juniors that have actually been acquired — not a probability, and not a reason to buy. Acquisitions are rare: only a few dozen significant deals happen a year across a universe of thousands of juniors, so even a high score here describes a long shot. The strongest signal in the research, a producer that already owns part of the company, is scored from its disclosed strategic shareholders. A producer that is a joint-venture or earn-in partner on the project, rather than a shareholder, isn't captured yet.
How this score is built
- Disclosed pending dealSub-score: Not scored
No pending acquisition or merger disclosed (checked)
Not scored: having no deal in flight isn't held against a company.
Weight 26.25% - Producer's strategic stakeSub-score: Not scored
No producer holds a disclosed stake on file (holder register researched) See holders
Not scored: most juniors that do get bought had no prior toehold, so a missing stake says little either way.
Weight 25% - Distance to a producing mineSub-score:0/10
Nearest producing mine: Sadiola (Allied Gold Corporation), 846 km
10 next to a producing mine, 8 at 20 km, 5 at 50 km, 0 beyond 200 km.
Weight 22.5% · 46% here - Lifecycle stageSub-score:5.5/10
Stage: Production
Feasibility and permitting score 10, where deals cluster, and production 5.5; earlier stages score less, down to 1 at grassroots.
Weight 15% · 31% here - JurisdictionSub-score:6/10
Mauritania: jurisdiction score 6/10
Our jurisdiction score, used as is: higher means lower political and permitting risk.
Weight 6.75% · 14% here - CommoditySub-score:10/10
Primary commodity: Gold
Gold 10, copper 8, silver 5, nickel and uranium 4, others 2: most majors' deals are for gold.
Weight 4.5% · 9% here
Weight is each input's share of the full score. “Here” is its share of this company's score: inputs that aren't scored are left out and the rest re-weighted, never counted as zero.
Your Rankings
Management Team
President and Chief Executive Officer of Kinross Gold Corporation since 1 Aug 2012 (joined Kinross as EVP New Investments in Sep 2008, then EVP Corporate Development from Sep 2009). Before Kinross, a long investment-banking career: Deputy Head of Investment Banking at Scotia Capital; Managing Director/Head of Americas for the mining group at Deutsche Bank AG; and a senior member of the mining team at BMO Nesbitt Burns. Began his career as an exploration geologist.
Executive Vice-President and Chief Financial Officer of Kinross Gold Corporation (CFO since 1 May 2019, EVP since Oct 2021). Joined Kinross in 2009 as VP, Corporate Controller, adding VP Finance responsibilities in 2013 and VP Investor Relations & Corporate Development in 2017. Before Kinross, spent 1998-2009 at KPMG in Toronto, London (UK) and New Jersey/New York, rising to Associate Partner.
Insiders, Investors & Smart Money
Notable shareholders and insiders whose involvement is worth knowing about, plus what we're seeing from institutional/large-investor activity.
Not scored. Smart-money tracking covers companies below about US$5B in market cap, where a single specialist fund or strategic investor taking a stake is a meaningful signal. This company was above that size when it was assessed.
No notable insiders tracked for this miner yet.
Reports, Presentations & Documents
Kinross reports resources exclusive of reserves. At 31 Dec 2025 its share was 20.94 Moz of proven and probable gold reserves plus 27.50 Moz of additional measured and indicated resources (48.4 Moz combined), and 16.63 Moz inferred, per its FY2025 Annual Information Form. Most assets are 100% owned; Manh Choh is 70%. Silver resources, mainly at La Coipa, are not included in the gold total.