IAMGOLD Corporation
IAMGOLD Corporation is a TSX/NYSE-listed (ticker IAG on NYSE) gold producer operating three mines: Côté Gold (Ontario, 70%-owned by IAMGOLD with Sumitomo Metal Mining holding the remaining 30% -- IAMGOLD repurchased a 9.7% interest in Nov 2024 to return to its original 70% stake), Essakane (Burkina Faso), and Westwood (Quebec). Q2 2026 (released 6 Aug 2026) was a standout quarter: 188,100 oz attributable gold produced (Côté 67,300oz, Essakane 88,400oz, Westwood 32,400oz), $507.3M adjusted EBITDA, and mine-site free cash flow of $368.9M (up from $140.5M a year earlier). Cash was $501.4M against $449.3M of long-term debt (senior notes), for net cash of $52.2M, with an undrawn $845.7M credit facility. Consolidated AISC was $2,271/oz, up from $2,041/oz a year earlier. Essakane declared a ~$500M 2026 dividend from 2025 profits, of which IAMGOLD expects ~$400M net. Renaud Adams is President and CEO.
Notable vs. Peers
- All-in sustaining cost of $2,271/oz is 26% higher than the peer producer average of $1,800/oz.
Lifecycle Milestones
Construction Milestones
5 of 5 reached- Reached — date not disclosed · Source
- Reached — date not disclosed · Source
- Jan 2020 · Source
- Jan 2024 · Source
- Reached — date not disclosed · Source
Milestones are recorded only from a company's own dated disclosure. A milestone with no date shown is one we can confirm was reached but for which no date was disclosed — we don't estimate one. "Not yet reached" means exactly that, not that a date is missing. An "Expected" line likewise only ever reflects the company's own guidance (e.g. a study or permit decision targeted for a stated quarter) — most not-yet-reached milestones have none, and that absence means no such guidance has been disclosed, not that one is overdue.
Not in place: grid power.
Combined view across 3 projects. Figures below are only combined where the underlying basis genuinely matches -- see the notes under each.
- 13.5%Côté Gold
- 18 yrsCôté Gold
- 5 yrsEssakane
- 8 yrsWestwood
Jurisdiction (40%)9/10
Ontario: Fraser PPI 2025 is 93.70 of 100 (rank 5 of 68), which maps to 9 on this site's scale. IAMGOLD's flagship is the Côté Gold mine in Ontario, Canada (70%, with Sumitomo Metal Mining), a top-tier mining jurisdiction, scored 9 like most Ontario companies on this site. Westwood in Quebec is also top-tier; Essakane in Burkina Faso operates in a materially higher-risk West African jurisdiction (military-government rule since 2022, elevated security risk in the wider Sahel region), which this single flagship-based score does not capture.
Infrastructure (40%)10/10
A confirmed mill, confirmed road access, confirmed grid power, and a confirmed tailings facility at Côté Gold.
Nearby producing mine (20%)Not yet researched
No producing mine within 50 km in our reference list (nearest listed: Timmins West (Pan American Silver Corp.), 97 km). That list doesn't cover every mining district yet, so a longer distance isn't scored as remote.
Acquisition Susceptibility
A relative ranking of how closely this company matches the profile of juniors that have actually been acquired — not a probability, and not a reason to buy. Acquisitions are rare: only a few dozen significant deals happen a year across a universe of thousands of juniors, so even a high score here describes a long shot. The strongest signal in the research, a producer that already owns part of the company, is scored from its disclosed strategic shareholders. A producer that is a joint-venture or earn-in partner on the project, rather than a shareholder, isn't captured yet.
How this score is built
- Disclosed pending dealSub-score: Not scored
No pending acquisition or merger disclosed (checked)
Not scored: having no deal in flight isn't held against a company.
Weight 26.25% - Producer's strategic stakeSub-score: Not yet researched
Holder register not researched yet
Not scored: most juniors that do get bought had no prior toehold, so a missing stake says little either way.
Weight 25% - Distance to a producing mineSub-score:3.4/10
Nearest producing mine: Timmins West (Pan American Silver Corp.), 97 km
10 next to a producing mine, 8 at 20 km, 5 at 50 km, 0 beyond 200 km.
Weight 22.5% · 46% here - Lifecycle stageSub-score:5.5/10
Stage: Production
Feasibility and permitting score 10, where deals cluster, and production 5.5; earlier stages score less, down to 1 at grassroots.
Weight 15% · 31% here - JurisdictionSub-score:9/10
Canada: jurisdiction score 9/10
Our jurisdiction score, used as is: higher means lower political and permitting risk.
Weight 6.75% · 14% here - CommoditySub-score:10/10
Primary commodity: Gold
Gold 10, copper 8, silver 5, nickel and uranium 4, others 2: most majors' deals are for gold.
Weight 4.5% · 9% here
Weight is each input's share of the full score. “Here” is its share of this company's score: inputs that aren't scored are left out and the rest re-weighted, never counted as zero.
Your Rankings
Management Team
President and Chief Executive Officer of IAMGOLD Corporation since 3 Apr 2023. Over 30 years of global mining experience. Before IAMGOLD, President & CEO of New Gold Inc. (2018-2022, led a strategic repositioning/operational turnaround) and of Richmont Mines Inc. (2014-2017, sold to Alamos Gold -- production more than doubled and reserves more than tripled at Richmont's Island Gold Mine during his tenure); COO of Primero Mining Corporation (2011-2014). BEng (Mining and Mineral Processing), Laval University.
Previously VP Finance at IAMGOLD (2013-2018, an earlier stint at the same company). Before returning to IAMGOLD, CFO of TMAC Resources Inc. (Apr 2018-2021, a difficult period ending in TMAC's 2021 acquisition by Agnico Eagle Mines amid financial distress) and, before that, Uranium One Inc. (2006-2013, roles of increasing responsibility culminating Senior VP Finance). Began his career at KPMG as a manager in their mining group. Chartered Accountant (South Africa and Canada); BCom (Hons.) Accounting, University of Johannesburg.
Insiders, Investors & Smart Money
Notable shareholders and insiders whose involvement is worth knowing about, plus what we're seeing from institutional/large-investor activity.
Not scored. Smart-money tracking covers companies below about US$5B in market cap, where a single specialist fund or strategic investor taking a stake is a meaningful signal. This company was above that size when it was assessed.
No notable insiders tracked for this miner yet.
Reports, Presentations & Documents
IAMGOLD operates Cote Gold in Ontario (70%, with Sumitomo Metal Mining), Westwood in Quebec (100%) and Essakane in Burkina Faso (85%). Its consolidated resource update effective 31 Mar 2026 reports 20.3 Moz measured and indicated and 3.5 Moz inferred. Cote Gold's May 2022 study showed an after-tax NPV5% of US$1,109M and a 13.5% IRR over 18 years at US$1,600-1,700/oz gold, but it covers one mine of three, so no company-wide NPV is shown.