Compania de Minas Buenaventura S.A.A.
Buenaventura is Peru's largest publicly traded precious and base metals mining company, operating a diversified portfolio of direct mines (including Julcani, Uchucchacua, El Brocal, and the newly ramping San Gabriel gold project) plus a 19.58% minority equity stake in Sociedad Minera Cerro Verde, a major Peruvian copper producer operated as a JV with Freeport-McMoRan and Sumitomo Corporation. Q2 2026 results showed higher gold, silver, and copper production year-over-year, with San Gabriel continuing its ramp-up. 2026 guidance: 120.0k-139.0k oz gold from direct operations (150.3k-172.5k oz including associated companies) and 48.0k-53.0k tonnes copper from direct operations. TTM revenue ~$2.21B (+68.8% YoY), net income ~$1.06B (+112.1% YoY).
Notable vs. Peers
- Jurisdiction risk score of 6/10 is meaningfully riskier than the peer average of 7.8/10.
Lifecycle Milestones
Construction Milestones
5 of 5 reached- Reached — date not disclosed · Reached, undated at month precision (~January 2015), moderate confidence. Resolves a gap Task #621 explicitly flagged and left CHECKED GAP for the adjacent CONSTRUCTION_START field ("as of FY2013 the Tambomayo EIA had not yet been approved," per Buenaventura's own 2013 Annual Report). Peru's Ministry of Energy and Mines (MINEM) published a release titled "MEM APRUEBA EIA DEL PROYECTO MINERO TAMBOMAYO (AREQUIPA)" (minem.gob.pe), corroborated contemporaneously by two independent Peruvian financial-press outlets: Gestion ("MEM aprueba Estudio de Impacto Ambiental del proyecto aurifero Tambomayo," byline dated 30/01/2015) and El Comercio ("EIA del proyecto aurifero Tambomayo fue aprobado por el Minem"). Neither article states the ministry's own internal approval date distinct from the article's publication date, so this is dated to the contemporaneous news coverage rather than a confirmed exact government-action date -- left at month precision, moderate confidence. CAVEAT: some secondary sources describe Tambomayo's construction as having "lasted 36 months" before the Jan 2017 inauguration (implying a ~Jan 2014 construction start, earlier than this Jan 2015 EIA approval) -- that specific claim was not independently corroborated with a specific construction-start date by Task #621 or this pass (Task #621 already left CONSTRUCTION_START CHECKED GAP for exactly this reason) and is flagged as an open discrepancy for a future pass, not resolved here. · Source
- Reached — date not disclosed · Buenaventura's own 2014 Annual Report (Memoria Anual 2014) states that in mid-2014 the company ran a bidding/technical-evaluation process and placed purchase orders totaling ~US$12.3 million for Tambomayo's main process-plant equipment (grinding, crushing, cyanidation, flotation, Merrill-Crowe, thickening and filtration areas) plus ~US$310,000 for acid-water-treatment-plant equipment, and in November 2014 decided to proceed with detailed engineering for a 1,500 tpd plant -- real, dated capital commitment to build Tambomayo specifically, used here as the decision-equivalent event per this campaign's established convention (same shape as MUX/HOC in batch 1: financing-close or equivalent capital-commitment event stands in for a separately labelled board-FID release when none was found). Recorded at year precision (2014) only; note this PRECEDES this miner's existing PERMIT_GRANTED row (~Jan 2015 EIA approval) -- Peruvian large-project practice is to commit long-lead procurement capital ahead of final EIA sign-off, but this ordering was not independently reconciled against the existing PERMIT_GRANTED row's own flagged 'open discrepancy' (a secondary claim of a ~36-month, i.e. ~Jan 2014, construction start) and is left as-is rather than force-resolved. · Source
- Reached — date not disclosed · Per the same 2014 Annual Report underlying this miner's CONSTRUCTION_DECISION row above: main process-plant equipment purchase orders (~US$12.3M) were placed and detailed engineering for the 1,500 tpd plant was underway by late 2014, with the project reported 89% complete by August 2016 (per contemporaneous Peruvian financial press) ahead of the December 2016 first dore bar already on file under FIRST_PRODUCTION. Recorded reached-but-undated at year precision (2014) -- no single dated 'construction commences' release distinct from the ongoing procurement/engineering/build-out reporting was located this pass. · Source
- Reached — date not disclosed · Tambomayo processing plant (Arequipa region) was commissioned in December 2016, producing its first dore bar that month; commercial production was reached 1 September 2017 after the plant completed ramp-up. Exact day of the December 2016 first pour not confirmed in available sourcing; recorded reached-but-undated. Buenaventura is a multi-decade, multi-mine operator (Orcopampa, Julcani, Uchucchacua, etc. all predate this); Tambomayo is used here as the most recent asset Buenaventura itself built from the ground up, with the clearest dated construction/production history. · Source
- Reached — date not disclosed · Genuinely reached, but no single company-wide commercial-production date exists across a multi-mine Peruvian portfolio (Yumpag, plus the Coimolache and Yanacocha associate/JV interests) built over decades, with the newest asset, San Gabriel, still in ramp-up (began commercial sales in Q2 2026, targeting stable operation by mid-2027 -- not yet a mature contributor). Q2 2026 results reported direct gold production of 30,543 oz (60,547 oz H1) plus 37,266 oz attributable including Coimolache, and consolidated silver production of 3,624,514 oz for the quarter, confirming ongoing commercial production from the established assets. This row was missing entirely prior to 2026-08-21 -- a genuine data gap, not a stage error; Miner.stage was already correctly PRODUCTION. · Source
Milestones are recorded only from a company's own dated disclosure. A milestone with no date shown is one we can confirm was reached but for which no date was disclosed — we don't estimate one. "Not yet reached" means exactly that, not that a date is missing. An "Expected" line likewise only ever reflects the company's own guidance (e.g. a study or permit decision targeted for a stated quarter) — most not-yet-reached milestones have none, and that absence means no such guidance has been disclosed, not that one is overdue.
A relative ranking of how closely this company matches the profile of juniors that have actually been acquired — not a probability, and not a reason to buy. Acquisitions are rare: only a few dozen significant deals happen a year across a universe of thousands of juniors, so even a high score here describes a long shot. The strongest signal the underlying research identifies — whether a major already holds a JV, earn-in, or 5–19.9% strategic stake — isn't tracked yet and is absent from this score.
Your Rankings
Management Team
Chief Executive Officer of Compania de Minas Buenaventura S.A.A. since 1 Sep 2020 (Chief Financial Officer Dec 2017-Sep 2020; Controller General Jul 2011-Dec 2017). Earlier career: Buenaventura itself (Treasury Head, 1990-1997, an earlier stint at the same company he now leads, not written as an external role) and Sociedad Minera El Brocal (Finance Manager, to 2000, a distinct majority-owned but separately-listed group company), before a decade-long detour into pharmacy retail as General Manager of Boticas BTL (to 2005) and then Boticas Inkafarma, Peru's largest pharmacy chain (2005-Jun 2011). Bachelor's degree in Business Administration and Accounting, Universidad del Pacifico; MBA, University of Miami.
Vice President and Chief Financial Officer of Compania de Minas Buenaventura S.A.A. since 2020, having joined the company 25 years ago. Held Supply Chain Manager (2017-2020) and Director of Treasury and Financial Planning / Investor Relations Officer / Financial Manager (2003-2017) roles internally. Began his career in 2000 as Head of Treasury at IMINSUR, at the time a Buenaventura subsidiary -- not written as an external prior-company role since it was part of the same corporate group, not a genuinely outside employer; an honest gap rather than a fabricated external track record (his entire substantive finance career has been built inside the Buenaventura group). Bachelor's degree in Economics, Universidad del Pacifico; MBA, Universidad del Pacifico; Harvard Business School General Management Program (2015); London Business School Corporate Finance Program (2010).
Chairman of the Board of Compania de Minas Buenaventura S.A.A. since 2011 (Chief Executive Officer 2001-2011, an earlier tenure at the same company, not written as an external role; Chief Financial Officer from 1985). Has worked at Buenaventura, founded by his father Alberto Benavides de la Quintana, since 1977 -- his entire documented senior career has been built inside the company; an honest gap rather than a fabricated external prior-company role. Former President of the Sociedad Nacional de Mineria Petroleo y Energia (SNMPE) and of CONFIEP (through Feb 2019); director of Sociedad Minera El Brocal, Credit Bank of Peru and Union Andina de Cementos. Civil Engineering degree, Pontificia Universidad Catolica del Peru; MBA, Henley Business School, University of Reading; Harvard Business School Management Development Program; Oxford Advanced Management Program.
Insiders, Investors & Smart Money
Notable shareholders and insiders whose involvement is worth knowing about, plus what we're seeing from institutional/large-investor activity.
Task #172 gate batch: smartMoneyScore rubric (playbook §7.6) applied 2026-08-15 -- GATED: marketCapUsd $8.67B >= $5.0B applicability threshold. At this size, index membership (GDX, S&P/TSX 60, Russell 1000) mechanically dominates the shareholder register, so absence of a visible specialist bet carries no information. RESEARCHED_UNKNOWN per playbook §6.4/§7.6.
No notable insiders tracked for this miner yet.
Reports, Presentations & Documents
We haven't parsed this company's PEA/PFS/FS recommendations yet — cut-off grade, mine life, DCF/NPV, and the report's own next-steps guidance are a planned research pass, not live data for every company yet.