Zimplats Holdings Limited
Zimplats Holdings Limited mines and processes platinum group metals (platinum, palladium, rhodium, iridium, ruthenium, plus by-product nickel, gold, copper and silver) from the Great Dyke geological formation in Zimbabwe, at its Ngezi mining operations and Selous Metallurgical Complex. It is an 87%-owned subsidiary of Impala Platinum Holdings Limited (Implats), which is listed in South Africa; Zimplats' own primary listing is on the ASX. FY26 group production guidance was delivered at 630,000-660,000oz 6E in matte, and the company proposed a maiden dividend alongside record H1 FY26 cash generation.
Notable vs. Peers
- Jurisdiction risk score of 4/10 is meaningfully riskier than the peer average of 7.7/10.
Lifecycle Milestones
Construction Milestones
5 of 5 reached- Reached — date not disclosed · Source
- Reached — date not disclosed · Source
- Reached — date not disclosed · Source
- Reached — date not disclosed · Source
- Reached — date not disclosed · Source
Milestones are recorded only from a company's own dated disclosure. A milestone with no date shown is one we can confirm was reached but for which no date was disclosed — we don't estimate one. "Not yet reached" means exactly that, not that a date is missing. An "Expected" line likewise only ever reflects the company's own guidance (e.g. a study or permit decision targeted for a stated quarter) — most not-yet-reached milestones have none, and that absence means no such guidance has been disclosed, not that one is overdue.
Jurisdiction (40%)4/10
Zimplats operates in Zimbabwe, which carries real macro and currency risk (repeated currency changes, most recently the ZiG in 2024) and a legacy of land-reform and indigenization policy that damaged investor confidence. As a PGM producer it is also exposed to Zimbabwe's royalty and export-levy policy.
Infrastructure (40%)10/10
A confirmed mill, confirmed road access, confirmed grid power, and a confirmed tailings facility at Ngezi / Selous Metallurgical Complex.
Nearby producing mine (20%)Not yet researched
No producing mine within 50 km in our reference list (nearest listed: Unki Mine (Valterra Platinum), 110 km). That list doesn't cover every mining district yet, so a longer distance isn't scored as remote.
Acquisition Susceptibility
A relative ranking of how closely this company matches the profile of juniors that have actually been acquired — not a probability, and not a reason to buy. Acquisitions are rare: only a few dozen significant deals happen a year across a universe of thousands of juniors, so even a high score here describes a long shot. The strongest signal in the research, a producer that already owns part of the company, is scored from its disclosed strategic shareholders. A producer that is a joint-venture or earn-in partner on the project, rather than a shareholder, isn't captured yet.
How this score is built
- Disclosed pending dealSub-score: Not scored
No pending acquisition or merger disclosed (checked)
Not scored: having no deal in flight isn't held against a company.
Weight 26.25% - Producer's strategic stakeSub-score: Not scored
Impala Platinum Holdings Limited holds 87% (reported 26 Feb 2026) See holders
Already majority-controlled, so a sale is its controlling holder's decision; the toehold-then-takeout pattern this input measures doesn't apply.
Weight 25% - Distance to a producing mineSub-score:3/10
Nearest producing mine: Unki Mine (Valterra Platinum), 110 km
10 next to a producing mine, 8 at 20 km, 5 at 50 km, 0 beyond 200 km.
Weight 22.5% · 46% here - Lifecycle stageSub-score:5.5/10
Stage: Production
Feasibility and permitting score 10, where deals cluster, and production 5.5; earlier stages score less, down to 1 at grassroots.
Weight 15% · 31% here - JurisdictionSub-score:4/10
Zimbabwe: jurisdiction score 4/10
Our jurisdiction score, used as is: higher means lower political and permitting risk.
Weight 6.75% · 14% here - CommoditySub-score:2/10
Primary commodity: Other
Gold 10, copper 8, silver 5, nickel and uranium 4, others 2: most majors' deals are for gold.
Weight 4.5% · 9% here
Weight is each input's share of the full score. “Here” is its share of this company's score: inputs that aren't scored are left out and the rest re-weighted, never counted as zero.
Your Rankings
Management Team
Chief Executive Officer of Zimplats Holdings, joined 1 Oct 2007. Chairman of the operating subsidiary, Zimbabwe Platinum Mines (Private) Limited. Career: Managing Director, Mimosa Mining Company (Private) Limited (joined Feb 1998, MD from Jan 2005 to Sep 2007), a continuously-operating Zimbabwean PGM producer.
Chief Finance Officer of Zimplats Holdings, joined the Group 1 Nov 2019. Chairperson of the operating subsidiary's finance, procurement and IT steering committees; member of its capital steering and projects steering committees. Career: Group Chief Financial Officer, Fidelity Life Assurance (2017-2019); Finance Director, Zimnat Insurance (2011-2017); Finance Manager, Marsh Captive Solutions (2007-2010); Senior Auditor, KPMG Chartered Accountants (to 2007); Internal Audit Manager, Eagle Insurance (2001-2005); Audit Manager, PwC (from 1995). Same underlying Person id retained; all other facts on the record (CFO of Zimplats, joined Nov 2019) already matched Zvandasara exactly, confirming this is a name-field correction, not a stale-officer succession.]
Insiders, Investors & Smart Money
Notable shareholders and insiders whose involvement is worth knowing about, plus what we're seeing from institutional/large-investor activity.
Impala Platinum Holdings (Implats), one of the world's largest platinum-group-metals producers, owns 87% of this company -- confirmed directly in Zimplats' own annual report. This is long-standing, decades-old subsidiary-style control rather than a fresh cash investment, so it scores in the legacy-control band rather than the top band. No specialist fund or qualifying insider activity was found.
No notable insiders tracked for this miner yet.
Reports, Presentations & Documents
Zimplats, 87% owned by Impala Platinum (Implats), mines platinum group metals on Zimbabwe's Great Dyke at its Ngezi operations and processes them at the Selous Metallurgical Complex, recovering nickel, gold, copper and silver as by-products. Its measured and indicated resources contain 85,380,000 oz of 6E PGMs (31,820,000 oz measured, 53,560,000 oz indicated) on a 100% basis, plus 23,730,000 oz inferred, and the life of mine on current reserves is 42 years. Zimplats delivered its FY2026 production guidance of 630,000-660,000 oz 6E in matte, and fourth-quarter production rose 179% quarter on quarter to 213,190 oz as concentrate built up during furnace maintenance was released. The Mupani mine is being developed to replace the depleting Rukodzi and Ngwarati mines, targeting 3.6 Mtpa by FY2029; Zimplats does not publish NPV or IRR figures for its projects.