Xtract Resources Plc
Xtract Resources Plc (AIM: XTR), chaired by Colin Bird, is a copper-focused explorer-developer that entered production in 2026. Its most advanced asset is the Silverking copper-silver project at Mumbwa, Zambia, where Xtract acquired a 35% joint-venture interest in February 2026 for US$1.5 million in cash, payable in two equal instalments with the balance due by 31 March 2026 and no conditions precedent; Oval Mining Limited holds Small-Scale Mining Licence 34544-HQ-SML and operates, Cooperlemon Consultancy Limited is the third party, and Xtract nominates two of the four operating-committee representatives and receives 35% of quarterly distributions. The plant and tailings facility were already built by the partner before Xtract bought in. Initial production of mixed oxide-sulphide ore through a flotation plant commenced on 9 July 2026, targeting an optimised throughput of 28 tonnes per hour, though the company cautions that steady-state throughput and concentrate tonnage and grade remain unproven pending optimisation; Silverking has no JORC-compliant resource, only an in-house estimate. In Morocco, Xtract raised its interest in Wildstone SARL from 50% to 80% and has been granted a mining licence for the Amghas antimony project, relocating processing plant infrastructure from Casablanca ahead of installing a gravity plant. Its largest and best-known asset, the 100%-owned Bushranger copper-gold project in New South Wales, Australia, carries a JORC (2012) Mineral Resource Estimate with an effective date of 31 October 2022 totalling 599Mt at 0.22% CuEq -- Racecourse 512Mt at 0.22% CuEq (announced 23 November 2022) plus a maiden Ascot resource of 87Mt at 0.22% CuEq (announced 19 December 2022) -- but only 50.15Mt of that is Indicated, the remaining 548.9Mt being Inferred, and it is reported at a 0.1% CuEq cut-off with a higher-grade 191Mt at 0.33% CuEq subset at a 0.2% CuEq cut-off. Bushranger has never had a scoping study, PEA, pre-feasibility or feasibility study -- the pit-optimisation modelling done in 2023 excluded capital costs -- and is currently dormant, generating no announcements in 2025 or 2026. Xtract disposed of its 23% interest in the Manica Gold project in Mozambique on 24 January 2024 for an initial US$3.325 million plus US$15 million in staged payments to December 2028, and earns no gold revenue from it; its Western Foreland and Chilibwe Zambian earn-ins were relinquished and impaired.
Notable vs. Peers
- Jurisdiction risk score of 4/10 is meaningfully riskier than the peer average of 7.7/10.
Lifecycle Milestones
Construction Milestones
3 of 5 reached- Reached — date not disclosed · Source
- Not yet reached · Recorded, but disputed: not counted as reached · Source
- Not yet reached · Recorded, but disputed: not counted as reached · Source
- Jul 2026 · Source
- Reached — date not disclosed · Source
Milestones are recorded only from a company's own dated disclosure. A milestone with no date shown is one we can confirm was reached but for which no date was disclosed — we don't estimate one. "Not yet reached" means exactly that, not that a date is missing. An "Expected" line likewise only ever reflects the company's own guidance (e.g. a study or permit decision targeted for a stated quarter) — most not-yet-reached milestones have none, and that absence means no such guidance has been disclosed, not that one is overdue.
Not yet determined: grid power.
Jurisdiction (40%)4/10
Xtract's flagship is the Silverking copper-silver mine at Mumbwa, Zambia, held through a 35% joint-venture interest and producing since July 2026. Zambia is an established copper-mining jurisdiction with real fiscal and regulatory risk; scored 4 like the other Zambian copper companies on this site. Xtract also holds the Bushranger copper-gold project in New South Wales, Australia, and the Amghas antimony project in Morocco, which this single flagship-based score does not capture.
Infrastructure (40%)8.6/10
A confirmed mill, confirmed road access, and a confirmed tailings facility at Silverking Project; grid power not yet researched, counted at a neutral 5/10 until established.
Nearby producing mine (20%)Not yet researched
No project coordinates on file yet, so distance to a producing mine can't be measured.
Acquisition Susceptibility
A relative ranking of how closely this company matches the profile of juniors that have actually been acquired — not a probability, and not a reason to buy. Acquisitions are rare: only a few dozen significant deals happen a year across a universe of thousands of juniors, so even a high score here describes a long shot. The strongest signal in the research, a producer that already owns part of the company, is scored from its disclosed strategic shareholders. A producer that is a joint-venture or earn-in partner on the project, rather than a shareholder, isn't captured yet.
How this score is built
- Disclosed pending dealSub-score: Not scored
No pending acquisition or merger disclosed (checked)
Not scored: having no deal in flight isn't held against a company.
Weight 26.25% - Producer's strategic stakeSub-score: Not scored
No producer holds a disclosed stake on file (holder register researched) See holders
Not scored: most juniors that do get bought had no prior toehold, so a missing stake says little either way.
Weight 25% - Distance to a producing mineSub-score: Not yet researched
Distance not yet researched: no project coordinates on file
Distance can't be measured without coordinates, so excluded rather than counted as far.
Weight 22.5% - Lifecycle stageSub-score:5.5/10
Stage: Production
Feasibility and permitting score 10, where deals cluster, and production 5.5; earlier stages score less, down to 1 at grassroots.
Weight 15% · 57% here - JurisdictionSub-score:4/10
Zambia: jurisdiction score 4/10
Our jurisdiction score, used as is: higher means lower political and permitting risk.
Weight 6.75% · 26% here - CommoditySub-score:8/10
Primary commodity: Copper
Gold 10, copper 8, silver 5, nickel and uranium 4, others 2: most majors' deals are for gold.
Weight 4.5% · 17% here
Weight is each input's share of the full score. “Here” is its share of this company's score: inputs that aren't scored are left out and the rest re-weighted, never counted as zero.
Your Rankings
Management Team
Director of New Age Metals Inc. (TSXV: NAM), and Chief Executive Officer of Xtract Resources Plc. Chartered mining engineer and Fellow of the Institute of Materials, Minerals and Mining with over 20 years in operational mine management and extensive international experience developing, financing and managing mines involving nickel, copper, gold and other minerals. Founder of Kiwara Plc and of Pan African Resources Plc, and currently Chairman of Jubilee Platinum Plc. Source: newagemetals.com/corporate/.
Insiders, Investors & Smart Money
Notable shareholders and insiders whose involvement is worth knowing about, plus what we're seeing from institutional/large-investor activity.
A headline institutional-ownership figure of roughly 71% turns out, on inspection, to be entirely retail brokerage and share-dealing platform nominee accounts -- Hargreaves Lansdown, Interactive Investor, Halifax Share Dealing and similar -- rather than any fund manager's decision. That is index/custody plumbing, not smart money. No genuine specialist fund or confirmed recent director purchase was found.
No notable insiders tracked for this miner yet.
Reports, Presentations & Documents
Xtract Resources, listed on London's AIM market, holds a 35% joint-venture interest in the Silverking copper-silver project at Mumbwa, Zambia, bought for US$1.5 million in February 2026, where operator Oval Mining began initial production of mixed oxide-sulphide ore through a flotation plant on 9 July 2026; the company cautions that steady-state throughput and concentrate output are not yet proven, and Silverking has no JORC resource. In Morocco it holds 80% of Wildstone, which has been granted a mining licence for the Amghas antimony project, where a gravity plant is being installed. Its 100%-owned Bushranger copper-gold project in New South Wales carries a JORC resource effective 31 October 2022 of 599Mt at 0.22% copper equivalent, of which 50.15Mt is indicated and the rest inferred, but it has never had an economic study and is currently dormant.