West Wits Mining Ltd
West Wits Mining Ltd operates the Qala Shallows underground gold mine, part of its Witwatersrand Basin Project in Gauteng Province, South Africa -- the first new underground gold mine built in South Africa in 15 years. First ore was delivered in October 2025 and the maiden gold pour was achieved 17 Mar 2026; the mine is ramping toward a targeted 70,000 oz/year steady-state production over a planned 17-year life-of-mine. Project debt comprises a R875 million senior loan facility, a R150 million working capital facility and a R90 million cost-overrun facility provided by Absa Bank and Nedbank. As at 30 Jun 2026 the company held about A$32 million in cash and had fully repaid a US$12.5 million Nebari bridge loan; it subsequently completed a A$33.74 million institutional equity placement to fully fund the project through to steady-state production. Base-case project economics (US$2,850/oz gold) show projected revenue of US$2.7 billion, free cash flow of US$983 million, an after-tax NPV (7.5% discount) of US$500 million and an after-tax IRR of 81%, with an eight-month payback from funding completion. Rudi Deysel is CEO & Group Managing Director (appointed effective 1 Dec 2024), having previously served as COO and South Africa Country Manager, where he led the Qala Shallows project itself.
Notable vs. Peers
- Jurisdiction risk score of 5/10 is meaningfully riskier than the peer average of 7.8/10.
- Trading within 3% of its 52-week low — weak recent price momentum.
Lifecycle Milestones
Construction Milestones
4 of 5 reached- Reached — date not disclosed · Source
- Feb 2025 · Source
- Reached — date not disclosed · Source
- Mar 2026 · Source
- Not yet reached
Milestones are recorded only from a company's own dated disclosure. A milestone with no date shown is one we can confirm was reached but for which no date was disclosed — we don't estimate one. "Not yet reached" means exactly that, not that a date is missing. An "Expected" line likewise only ever reflects the company's own guidance (e.g. a study or permit decision targeted for a stated quarter) — most not-yet-reached milestones have none, and that absence means no such guidance has been disclosed, not that one is overdue.
Jurisdiction (40%)5/10
Gauteng Province, South Africa -- an experienced but higher-friction mining jurisdiction (established regulatory/mining code framework and deep Witwatersrand mining expertise, offset by grid/power reliability, permitting timelines and security overhead relative to top-tier peers).
Infrastructure (40%)10/10
A confirmed mill, confirmed road access, confirmed grid power, and a confirmed tailings facility at Witwatersrand Basin Project (Qala Shallows Underground Gold Mine).
Nearby producing mine (20%)9.1/10
South Deep (Gold Fields Limited) is 33 km away -- within regional-platform range.
Acquisition Susceptibility
A relative ranking of how closely this company matches the profile of juniors that have actually been acquired — not a probability, and not a reason to buy. Acquisitions are rare: only a few dozen significant deals happen a year across a universe of thousands of juniors, so even a high score here describes a long shot. The strongest signal in the research, a producer that already owns part of the company, is scored from its disclosed strategic shareholders. A producer that is a joint-venture or earn-in partner on the project, rather than a shareholder, isn't captured yet.
How this score is built
- Disclosed pending dealSub-score: Not scored
No pending acquisition or merger disclosed (checked)
Not scored: having no deal in flight isn't held against a company.
Weight 26.25% - Producer's strategic stakeSub-score: Not scored
No producer holds a disclosed stake on file (holder register researched) See holders
Not scored: most juniors that do get bought had no prior toehold, so a missing stake says little either way.
Weight 25% - Distance to a producing mineSub-score:6.7/10
Nearest producing mine: South Deep (Gold Fields Limited), 33 km
10 next to a producing mine, 8 at 20 km, 5 at 50 km, 0 beyond 200 km.
Weight 22.5% · 46% here - Lifecycle stageSub-score:7/10
Stage: Construction
Feasibility and permitting score 10, where deals cluster, and production 5.5; earlier stages score less, down to 1 at grassroots.
Weight 15% · 31% here - JurisdictionSub-score:5/10
South Africa: jurisdiction score 5/10
Our jurisdiction score, used as is: higher means lower political and permitting risk.
Weight 6.75% · 14% here - CommoditySub-score:10/10
Primary commodity: Gold
Gold 10, copper 8, silver 5, nickel and uranium 4, others 2: most majors' deals are for gold.
Weight 4.5% · 9% here
Weight is each input's share of the full score. “Here” is its share of this company's score: inputs that aren't scored are left out and the rest re-weighted, never counted as zero.
Your Rankings
Management Team
CEO & Group Managing Director of West Wits Mining Ltd, effective 1 Dec 2024; previously COO and South Africa Country Manager, where he led the Qala Shallows underground gold mine development he now oversees as CEO.
Insiders, Investors & Smart Money
Notable shareholders and insiders whose involvement is worth knowing about, plus what we're seeing from institutional/large-investor activity.
Wingfield Partners, a private investment group focused on gold and uranium opportunities, is West Wits Mining's largest shareholder. Three directors -- including Executive Chairman Michael Quinert and mining analyst/fund manager Warwick Grigor -- bought shares on the open market around the same time.
No notable insiders tracked for this miner yet.
Reports, Presentations & Documents
West Wits Mining holds 74% of the Witwatersrand Basin Project in Gauteng, South Africa, with Lilitha Resources holding 26%, and is ramping up its Qala Shallows underground gold mine, the first new underground gold mine built in South Africa in 15 years. First ore was delivered in October 2025 and the maiden gold pour, from ore toll-treated at Sibanye-Stillwater's Ezulwini plant, took place on 17 March 2026, with steady-state production of about 70,000 oz a year guided from the fourth quarter of 2028. The project's measured and indicated resources contain 4,012,000 oz of gold (1,991,000 oz measured and 2,020,000 oz indicated) on a 100% basis, plus 3,232,000 oz inferred, as at 1 February 2026. The July 2025 update of the Qala Shallows definitive feasibility study shows a post-tax NPV7.5% of US$500M and an 81% IRR at US$2,850/oz gold, with project capital of US$63M and a 16.8-year life of mine, and development is funded by senior, working-capital and cost-overrun facilities from Absa Bank and Nedbank.