JUNIORMETRICS
Gold$4,479.95/oz
Silver$66.98/oz
Copper$6.00/lb

Westgold Resources Limited

WGX·WGX·$4.67·$3B cap
GoldMulti-mine operator -- Bluebird/Fortnum + Cue (WA) plus Beta Hunt and Higginsville (added via the 2024 Karora Resources merger) Map

Westgold Resources is a Western Australian gold producer whose 2024 all-scrip merger with Karora Resources added the Beta Hunt underground mine and Higginsville processing hub (Southern Goldfields, near Kambalda) to its existing Murchison-region operations, expanding its footprint to roughly 3,200 sq km across WA's most prolific gold regions. H1 FY26 delivered record results: A$1,238M revenue, A$314M underlying NPAT, and a debt-free A$654M treasury; FY26 (full year) results reported production beating guidance with treasury reaching A$939M.

Notable vs. Peers

  • Financials score of 9.8/10 is stronger than the peer average of 6.4/10.
  • All-in sustaining cost of $3,225/oz is 66% higher than the peer producer average of $1,941/oz.

Lifecycle Milestones

Grassroots
Resource Def.
PEA
PFS
Feasibility
Permitting
Construction
ProductionCurrent

Construction Milestones

5 of 5 reached
  1. Reached — date not disclosed · Reused pre-existing mining lease, same shape as HL/DRD (batch 1) and IPT (this batch): Bluebird opened in 1985 and was mined continuously under a chain of prior operators (St Barbara 1991-2005, Mercator 2005-2008/2011, Reed Resources 2011-2014) before Metals X acquired it in May/June 2014 and restarted it (mining recommenced June 2015, this miner's existing CONSTRUCTION_START row) -- the underlying mining lease long predates Metals X's 2014 acquisition and this restart, and no dated 'new permit granted to Metals X/Westgold' event was found (nor would one be expected for a 30-year-old continuously-held lease passing between successive owners of the same operation). Reused, not newly granted. · Source
  2. Reached — date not disclosed · Mining Weekly (29 Jan 2015): Metals X CEO Peter Cook announced the company would 'move the Central Murchison project through to development, with the aim of starting mining operations by the middle of 2015' -- immediately following completion of a revised feasibility study (undertaken after Metals X's mid-2014 acquisition of the Meekatharra/Bluebird operation), which materially improved the project's economics (13-year mine life, ~200,000 oz/y average over the first ten years, A$42M max cash drawdown, A$636M NPV/36% IRR vs a A$141.9M NPV in the prior 2013 study). Used as the decision-equivalent event per this campaign's established convention (feasibility-study completion / public development-go-ahead standing in for a separately labelled FID release, same as MUX/HOC in batch 1) -- and the announced 'middle of 2015' target matches the actual June 2015 mining recommencement already on file under CONSTRUCTION_START, confirming correct sequencing. Month precision only (Jan 2015). · Source
  3. Reached — date not disclosed · Mining recommenced at the Bluebird Gold Mine (Meekatharra) in June 2015, following Metals X's May 2014 acquisition of the Meekatharra Gold Operation from the administrators of GMK/Reed Resources. This occurred during Westgold Resources Limited's 2012-2016 period as a wholly-controlled Metals X subsidiary, ahead of the Dec 2016 demerger/re-listing (see script header) -- recorded as the real restart of the asset now held by WGX. Exact day within June 2015 not confirmed from available sourcing -- recorded reached-but-undated. · Source
  4. Reached — date not disclosed · Ore processing at Bluebird began in October 2015, the month following the June 2015 mining recommencement (see CONSTRUCTION_START above, including the same Metals X-subsidiary-period disclosure). Exact day not confirmed from available sourcing -- recorded reached-but-undated. · Source
  5. Reached — date not disclosed · Genuinely reached, but no single company-wide commercial-production date exists: Westgold's own long-standing Western Australian operations (Fortnum, Cue/Big Bell, Meekatharra, Bryah/Tuckabianna) merged with Karora Resources on 2024-08-01 (following Ontario Superior Court, Karora shareholder, FIRB and Takeovers Panel approvals), adding Beta Hunt and the Higginsville processing/gold-mining operations -- each asset independently reached production at a different time under different prior ownership. This row was missing entirely prior to 2026-08-21 -- a genuine data gap, not a stage error; Miner.stage was already correctly PRODUCTION. · Source

Milestones are recorded only from a company's own dated disclosure. A milestone with no date shown is one we can confirm was reached but for which no date was disclosed — we don't estimate one. "Not yet reached" means exactly that, not that a date is missing. An "Expected" line likewise only ever reflects the company's own guidance (e.g. a study or permit decision targeted for a stated quarter) — most not-yet-reached milestones have none, and that absence means no such guidance has been disclosed, not that one is overdue.

10/10
Weak track recordStrong track record
9.8/10
Thin runwayWell-capitalized
9/10
High riskLow risk
How this is calculated
5.4/10
Weaker depositStronger deposit
8.6/10
Weaker profileStronger profile
Price Chart
$2.10$4.03$5.39$3.60$4.67AugNovFebJunSep2
Aug 12, 2025Sep 4, 2026
News
$4.67
+126.5%from low-19.1%from high
$2.06$5.77
See who ↓
0.6%
Low alignmentHigh alignment
See who ↓
65.4%
Low alignmentHigh alignment
$3B
Far belowFar above
$557.1M median
Price (USD - Local)
$4.67 - AUD 6.48
Cash Position (USD)
$657.3M
Far belowFar above
$90.6M median
Debt (USD)
Far aboveFar below
$6.2M median
$2.4B
Far belowFar above
$486M median
944.8M
Far aboveFar below
303M median
Jurisdiction
Australia
3,500,000 oz
Far belowFar above
1.3M median
$683.10/oz
Far aboveFar below
$157.18/oz median
This company's data hasn't been researched yet
Underground
10 yrs
Far belowFar above
11 yrs median
$3,225/oz
This company's data hasn't been researched yet
Not enough peer data yet
This company's data hasn't been researched yet
Not enough peer data yet
This company's data hasn't been researched yet
0.6%
0%100%
19.3% median
65.4%
0%100%
3% median
This company's data hasn't been researched yet
This company's data hasn't been researched yet
This company's data hasn't been researched yet
This company's data hasn't been researched yet
This company's data hasn't been researched yet
Acquisition Susceptibility
7.2/10
Unlikely bolt-onFits the takeout profile

A relative ranking of how closely this company matches the profile of juniors that have actually been acquired — not a probability, and not a reason to buy. Acquisitions are rare: only a few dozen significant deals happen a year across a universe of thousands of juniors, so even a high score here describes a long shot. The strongest signal the underlying research identifies — whether a major already holds a JV, earn-in, or 5–19.9% strategic stake — isn't tracked yet and is absent from this score.

Overall Score Trend
+79.2% since 2026-08-08

Your Rankings

Community Sentiment
SELLINGBUYING
CategoryCommunityYour Ranking
Overall (0)Log in to rank
Management (0)Log in to rank
Financials (0)Log in to rank
Jurisdiction (0)Log in to rank
Project Quality (0)Log in to rank

Management Team

Managing Director & CEO of Westgold Resources, leading the company through its 2024 merger with Karora Resources and record H1/FY26 financial results. Joined Westgold as a non-executive Director in 2020, became Executive Director in Jul 2021, and MD & CEO from May 2022. Metallurgist and mineral economist with nearly 3 decades of project, operations and corporate-development experience. Founder (2005) and later MD (2012-2016) of Atlantic Tin Ltd; CEO of Artemis Resources Ltd (Jun 2018-Aug 2019, resigned to pursue other opportunities). Also holds non-executive director seats at Deep Yellow Ltd, Azure Minerals Ltd, Vimy Resources Ltd and Ardea Resources Ltd (concurrent board roles, not scored). Chair, Gold Industry Group. BSc (Extractive Metallurgy); Grad Dip Business; MSc (Mineral Economics); GAICD.

Chief Financial Officer of Westgold Resources, presenting alongside CEO Wayne Bramwell and COO Aaron Rankine at the company's quarterly and half-year results calls. Chartered Accountant with over 25 years of Senior Finance and Commercial Leadership experience in mining, logistics and services. Joined Westgold from Resolute Mining Limited (already tracked in this DB, RSG), where he was General Manager, Finance. Earlier career: progression through senior finance roles at Aurizon Holdings (Project Manager Finance; Manager Commercial Finance - Iron Ore & Bulk; Group Financial Controller, Freight Group).

Chief Operating Officer of Westgold Resources Limited, effective 20 Jan 2025 -- missing from this DB entirely before this batch (only the CEO and CFO were tracked). Mining engineer with more than 20 years' experience in Australia and internationally. Immediately before Westgold, General Manager - Operational Performance at global mining contractor Perenti Limited. Earlier career: senior positions at Barminco, including General Manager, Operations Manager, and Group Manager - HSE. BEng (Hons, Mining), Western Australian School of Mines; WA First Class Mine Manager's Certificate; Executive MBA.

Insiders, Investors & Smart Money

Notable shareholders and insiders whose involvement is worth knowing about, plus what we're seeing from institutional/large-investor activity.

Smart money
2/10

Three genuine precious-metals specialist funds are on the register -- Invesco Oppenheimer Gold & Special Minerals at 4.64%, ASA Gold & Precious Metals at 0.71% and Gabelli Gold at 0.66% -- but each is an independent manager and none of them individually reaches 5%, so this is specialist interest rather than specialist conviction. The rest is index money: VanEck's two gold ETFs, Vanguard and iShares. No producer holds a stake; the 2024 Karora merger was a share-for-share combination, not an outside company buying in. Note that these holdings were last refreshed in 2020-2021, so they may no longer be accurate.

No notable insiders tracked for this miner yet.

Reports, Presentations & Documents

Technical Report Takeaways

We haven't parsed this company's PEA/PFS/FS recommendations yet — cut-off grade, mine life, DCF/NPV, and the report's own next-steps guidance are a planned research pass, not live data for every company yet.