Wesdome Gold Mines Ltd.
Wesdome Gold Mines is a debt-free Canadian gold producer operating the Eagle River underground and Mishi open-pit mines near Wawa, Ontario and the Kiena underground mine in Val-d'Or, Quebec, reporting record quarterly free cash flow and a $430.6 million cash position as of Q1 2026.
Lifecycle Milestones
Construction Milestones
5 of 5 reached- Reached — date not disclosed · Kiena is a previously-operating mine (care-and-maintenance since 2013) already fully permitted heading into the 2021 restart decision -- no new permit-grant event accompanied the restart itself. · Source
- May 2021 · Based on a positive Pre-Feasibility Study (98% IRR), Wesdome's Board made the formal decision to restart the Kiena Complex, effective immediately. · Source
- May 2021 · Same restart-decision release states rehabilitation/development work began immediately upon Board approval; no separately dated construction-start release was found. · Source
- Nov 2022 · Underground test pour at Kiena (paste fill plant commissioning milestone); broader ramp-up gold production had begun earlier in 2021/2022. Commercial production was subsequently declared effective December 1, 2022. · Source
- Reached — date not disclosed · Genuinely reached, but no single company-wide commercial-production date exists: Wesdome operates Eagle River (Ontario, producing continuously since 1995 under a succession of prior owners predating Wesdome's current operatorship) and Kiena (Quebec, restarted under Wesdome ownership in 2022 after a period of care and maintenance), two independently-developed mines with different histories. Q2 2026 results (released 2026-07-13) reported consolidated production of 43,824 oz gold (Eagle River 21,797 oz, Kiena 22,026 oz, up 28% y/y), consolidated revenue of $267M, with full-year guidance of 180,000-205,000 oz reaffirmed. This row was missing entirely prior to 2026-08-21 -- a genuine data gap, not a stage error; Miner.stage was already correctly PRODUCTION. · Source
Milestones are recorded only from a company's own dated disclosure. A milestone with no date shown is one we can confirm was reached but for which no date was disclosed — we don't estimate one. "Not yet reached" means exactly that, not that a date is missing. An "Expected" line likewise only ever reflects the company's own guidance (e.g. a study or permit decision targeted for a stated quarter) — most not-yet-reached milestones have none, and that absence means no such guidance has been disclosed, not that one is overdue.
A relative ranking of how closely this company matches the profile of juniors that have actually been acquired — not a probability, and not a reason to buy. Acquisitions are rare: only a few dozen significant deals happen a year across a universe of thousands of juniors, so even a high score here describes a long shot. The strongest signal the underlying research identifies — whether a major already holds a JV, earn-in, or 5–19.9% strategic stake — isn't tracked yet and is absent from this score.
Your Rankings
Management Team
President and Chief Executive Officer of Wesdome Gold Mines Ltd. since 1 Jul 2023, which operates the Eagle River and Kiena high-grade gold mines in Canada. Over 20 years of global mining experience across operational and business-development functions. Immediately before Wesdome, Chief Operating Officer (and VP Technical Services) of Ero Copper Corp. (already tracked in this DB, ERO) from Jul 2018, during its growth from a junior miner to a C$2B international mining company. Earlier career: VP Strategic Market Development and Supply Chain at Sibanye-Stillwater (2016-2018); CEO of Mitochondria Energy and Pentaquark Energy (2012-2016); began her mining career at Anglo American Platinum as Head of Market Development and Intelligence. Also a non-executive director of Epiroc AB.
Chief Financial Officer of Wesdome Gold Mines Ltd. effective 29 Sep 2025. Chartered Professional Accountant (CPA, CA); BComm (Accounting and Finance), University of Saskatchewan. Career: Director & VP Finance of Kumtor Operating Co./Kumtor Gold Co. (Cameco, then Centerra Gold -- already tracked in this DB, CG, covered in batch6), 2001-2011; CFO & VP of Patagonia Gold Ltd. (2011-2013); CFO & SVP of Lake Shore Gold Corp. (2013-2016, through its real merger with Tahoe Resources); CFO & EVP of Kirkland Lake Gold Ltd. (2016-2018); EVP & CFO of Eldorado Gold Corporation (2018-2024), immediately before Wesdome.
Chief Operating Officer of Wesdome Gold Mines Ltd., appointed interim COO 20 Jan 2026 and made permanent 24 Mar 2026. Chartered Accountant (Institute of Chartered Accountants of Manitoba); BComm (Hons), University of Manitoba. Career: Inco Limited/Vale Inco Limited (1995-2010, progressive management roles through CVRD/Vale's 2006 acquisition of Inco); President, CEO & Director of Royal Nickel Corporation (Oct 2010-Feb 2014); Anglo American plc (Feb 2014-2022, ultimately CEO of the Metallurgical Coal business from Apr 2018); Senior Vice President, Copper Growth at Teck Resources Limited (2022-2025), immediately before Wesdome.
Insiders, Investors & Smart Money
Notable shareholders and insiders whose involvement is worth knowing about, plus what we're seeing from institutional/large-investor activity.
Wesdome's register is a broad but shallow tail of gold-specialist funds rather than one conviction holder. Sprott appears across four separate vehicles which together come to only about 2.8%, and Fidelity Select Gold, Gabelli Gold, Invesco Gold & Special Minerals, OCM and Victory Precious Metals each hold well under 1%. Add every specialist manager together and it is still under 5%. No producer or strategic investor holds a stake. Insider activity in 2026 is genuinely two-way but modest on both sides -- Philip Chow Yee and Rajbir Gill bought about 13,500 shares between them at the end of June, while seven insiders sold roughly 27,000, much of it in a single same-price cluster on 25 March that looks like routine vesting.
No notable insiders tracked for this miner yet.
Reports, Presentations & Documents
We haven't parsed this company's PEA/PFS/FS recommendations yet — cut-off grade, mine life, DCF/NPV, and the report's own next-steps guidance are a planned research pass, not live data for every company yet.