JUNIORMETRICS
Gold$4,479.95/oz
Silver$66.98/oz
Copper$6.00/lb

TRX Gold Corporation

TRX·TRX·$1.21·$258.1M cap
GoldBuckreef Gold Project, Tanzania Map

TRX Gold Corporation (formerly Tanzanian Gold Corporation, renamed May 2022) operates the Buckreef Gold Project in Tanzania, its sole asset. The company achieved record quarterly gold production and processing-plant throughput in its most recent quarter, with quarterly revenue over US$34M and adjusted EBITDA exceeding US$20M, meeting annual production guidance ahead of schedule.

Notable vs. Peers

  • Jurisdiction risk score of 5/10 is meaningfully riskier than the peer average of 7.8/10.

Lifecycle Milestones

Grassroots
Resource Def.
PEA
PFS
Feasibility
Permitting
Construction
ProductionCurrent

Construction Milestones

5 of 5 reached
  1. Reached — date not disclosed · Buckreef operates under Special Mining License SML04/92, a historic license predating TRX's current development (most recently renewed/enlarged per the March 2022 release below, extending validity to 2032). The original grant date was not found in available primary sourcing -- recorded reached-but-undated rather than inventing one. · Source
  2. Oct 2011 · Definitive Joint Venture Agreement executed with Tanzania's State Mining Company (Stamico) for development of the Buckreef Gold Project -- Tanzanian Royalty Exploration (now TRX Gold) holding 55%, Stamico 45% -- the company's real decision-equivalent event enabling the Buckreef Re-Development Project that led to the Feb 2016 first gold pour already on file. · Source
  3. Reached — date not disclosed · Heap leach pad construction at Buckreef began April 2014 (civil contractor Yale-Constech Company Limited), completed September 2014 -- preceded by 2013 prep work (design, site layout, bush clearing). Exact day within April 2014 not confirmed from available sourcing -- recorded reached-but-undated. · Source
  4. Feb 2016 · First gold pour at the Buckreef Re-Development Gold Project. · Source
  5. Nov 2022 · Commercial production of the 1,000+ tpd processing plant declared. · Source

Milestones are recorded only from a company's own dated disclosure. A milestone with no date shown is one we can confirm was reached but for which no date was disclosed — we don't estimate one. "Not yet reached" means exactly that, not that a date is missing. An "Expected" line likewise only ever reflects the company's own guidance (e.g. a study or permit decision targeted for a stated quarter) — most not-yet-reached milestones have none, and that absence means no such guidance has been disclosed, not that one is overdue.

10/10
Weak track recordStrong track record
7.2/10
Thin runwayWell-capitalized
5/10
High riskLow risk
How this is calculated
6.2/10
Weaker depositStronger deposit
7.1/10
Weaker profileStronger profile
Price Chart
$0.373$0.668$1.95$0.933$1.21AugNovMarJunSep
Aug 12, 2025Sep 4, 2026
News
$1.21
+220.3%from low-55.6%from high
$0.38$2.72
$258.1M
Far belowFar above
$563.3M median
Price (USD - Local)
$1.21 - CAD 1.67
Cash Position (USD)
$26.8M
Far belowFar above
$92.4M median
Debt (USD)
$5.4M
Far aboveFar below
$6.2M median
$236.6M
Far belowFar above
$527M median
327.5M
Far aboveFar below
303M median
Jurisdiction
Tanzania
893,000 oz
Far belowFar above
1.3M median
$264.99/oz
Far aboveFar below
$157.18/oz median
0.075 oz/tCut-off: 0.42 g/t Au (open pit Mineral Resource cut-off); 1.31 g/t Au (underground, out-of-pit Mineral Resource cut-off); 1.20 g/t Au (Stamford Bridge zone specific cut-off)
Far belowFar above
0.04 oz/t median
Open pit
17.6 yrs
Far belowFar above
11 yrs median
@5%$442M(at $2,245/oz)
Far belowFar above
$603M median
1.06x
Far aboveFar below
0.40x median
This company's data hasn't been researched yet
Not enough peer data yet
$2,245/oz50% below spot ($4,480/oz)
This company's data hasn't been researched yet
This company's data hasn't been researched yet
This company's data hasn't been researched yet
43 kmfrom AngloGold Ashanti plc's Geita
Within regional-platform range (~50km)
$3.3M
Far belowFar above
$44.1M median
$0.01
Far belowFar above
$0.152 median
77.27x
Far aboveFar below
22.53x median
This company's data hasn't been researched yet
This company's data hasn't been researched yet
Acquisition Susceptibility
5.9/10
Unlikely bolt-onFits the takeout profile

A relative ranking of how closely this company matches the profile of juniors that have actually been acquired — not a probability, and not a reason to buy. Acquisitions are rare: only a few dozen significant deals happen a year across a universe of thousands of juniors, so even a high score here describes a long shot. The strongest signal the underlying research identifies — whether a major already holds a JV, earn-in, or 5–19.9% strategic stake — isn't tracked yet and is absent from this score.

Overall Score Trend
+16.4% since 2026-07-31 · -2.7% from peak

Your Rankings

Community Sentiment
SELLINGBUYING
CategoryCommunityYour Ranking
Overall (0)Log in to rank
Management (0)Log in to rank
Financials (0)Log in to rank
Jurisdiction (0)Log in to rank
Project Quality (0)Log in to rank

Management Team

Chief Executive Officer and Director of TRX Gold Corporation. Appointed CEO December 2020; former Partner/Managing Director at PwC, led PwC Canada's Deals Mining Group for over 10 years; CA, CPA, CFA.

Chief Operating Officer of TRX Gold Corporation. Prior senior roles at Tara Resources' Brskovo project (Montenegro), Blackham Resources' Matilda Gold Mine, Cupric Canyon's Khoemacau mine, Eldorado Gold's Efemcukuru mine, and 4.5 years as Regional Mining Manager for Barrick's Africa Regional Business Unit.

Chief Financial Officer of TRX Gold Corporation. 17-year career in financial leadership at Barrick Gold prior to joining TRX Gold; CPA, CA.

Senior Vice President, Tanzania for TRX Gold Corporation. Tanzanian resident and citizen; helped align TRX Gold's operations with revised Tanzanian mining regulations.

Insiders, Investors & Smart Money

Notable shareholders and insiders whose involvement is worth knowing about, plus what we're seeing from institutional/large-investor activity.

Smart money
1/10

No named institutional holder resolves to a specialist -- the register is dominated by market-makers and brokerage lines. Three directors bought stock on the open market in July 2026, but one of them had sold far more stock earlier in the year.

No notable insiders tracked for this miner yet.

Reports, Presentations & Documents

Technical Report Takeaways

We haven't parsed this company's PEA/PFS/FS recommendations yet — cut-off grade, mine life, DCF/NPV, and the report's own next-steps guidance are a planned research pass, not live data for every company yet.