JUNIORMETRICS
Gold$4,479.95/oz
Silver$66.98/oz
Copper$6.00/lb

Trekor Metals Limited

TGB·$8.40·$2.6B cap
CopperGibraltar Copper-Molybdenum Mine, BC (and Florence Copper In-Situ Recovery, Arizona) Map

Formerly Taseko Mines Limited, the company was renamed Trekor Metals Limited effective June 25, 2026 following shareholder approval at its June 24 AGM (ticker symbols TGB on NYSE American and TKO on TSX/LSE were unchanged). It operates the Gibraltar copper-molybdenum mine in British Columbia and the newly commissioned Florence Copper in-situ recovery (SX/EW) project in Arizona, which harvested its first cathodes in late February 2026; Q1 2026 revenue rose 70% year-over-year to $237 million on sales of 27 million pounds of copper, with adjusted EBITDA of $93 million.

Notable vs. Peers

  • Financials score of 2.3/10 is weaker than the peer average of 5.5/10.

Lifecycle Milestones

Grassroots
Resource Def.
PEA
PFS
Feasibility
Permitting
Construction
ProductionCurrent

Construction Milestones

5 of 5 reached
  1. Reached — date not disclosed · Gibraltar was originally opened by Placer Development Ltd. in 1972 (Wikipedia, corroborated by this miner's own existing COMMERCIAL_PRODUCTION note: 'producing since 1972 under a succession of owners'), sold to Westmin Resources in 1996, acquired by Boliden in Dec 1997, and closed in 1998 on low copper prices -- put on care-and-maintenance, not decommissioned or permit-surrendered. Taseko (now Trekor) purchased the idled mine for $1 in July 1999 per the company's own history page (trekormetals.com/about/history-of-taseko/: 'Trekor acquired the idled Gibraltar copper-molybdenum mine in BC's Cariboo region for just $1'), then reopened it in October 2004 once copper prices recovered (already on file, this miner's undated FIRST_PRODUCTION row). No dated new-permit-grant event specific to the 2004 restart was found despite multiple searches (a Taseko 6-K SEC filing from Oct 13, 2004 titled 'Mining Operations Underway at Gibraltar Mine' could not be fetched -- sec.gov returned 403 on direct access) -- consistent with a mine that was only idled, not permit-surrendered, reusing its original 1972-vintage mining rights rather than obtaining a fresh grant. Same reused-pre-existing-permit shape as HL/San Sebastian and DRD/FWGR (Task #646 batch 1). · Source
  2. Sep 2017 · Taseko Mines Limited (renamed Trekor Metals Limited 2026-06-25, ticker TGB unchanged) announced on 2017-09-25, in a release titled 'Taseko Announces Permitting Success And Board Approval For Construction Of Florence Copper Test Facility', that its Board of Directors approved construction of the Florence Copper Production Test Facility (Florence, Arizona) at an estimated US$25 million remaining cost. The approval was announced together with the EPA Environmental Appeals Board's 2017-09-22 order denying further review of the project's 2016 federal Underground Injection Control permit. SCOPE CAVEAT, STATED PLAINLY: what the board approved here is the Production Test Facility, which Taseko itself describes as phase one of a two-phase development of Florence Copper, NOT the commercial in-situ copper recovery facility. Construction of the commercial facility commenced January 2024 following issuance of the final UIC permit by the EPA in October 2023, and this pass verified directly that no discrete board-decision release accompanied it -- Taseko's 16 Jan 2024 'Financing and Construction Update for the Florence Copper Project' was fetched and contains no board-approval or construction-authorisation language, describing site preparations and a forthcoming fixed-price contract with TIC Kiewit instead. The 2017-09-25 board approval is therefore the only dated, disclosed board decision to construct anything at Florence, and Florence is now producing (first copper cathodes late February 2026, 85 Mlb/yr nameplate). ANCHOR DIVERGENCE, DISCLOSED: TGB's four sibling milestone rows all anchor to the Gibraltar Mine, British Columbia -- opened by Placer Development in 1972, acquired by Taseko from Boliden/Westmin in 1999, reopened 2004 -- an asset Taseko never built and for which no FID could exist. Florence Copper (acquired 2014 for US$70M, >US$520M invested to end-2024) is the only asset this company carried from decision to build itself, so it is the only asset on which this gate's question is answerable at all. SUPERSEDES a prior RESEARCHED_UNKNOWN checked-gap row for this milestone, which searched Gibraltar's 1972/2004 history and correctly found nothing there. Sourcing: the Florence Copper news release above (date confirmed in the URL path and title). Independently corroborated by Global Mining Review, 'Taseko announces permitting success', 26 Sep 2017 (globalminingreview.com/mining/26092017/taseko-announces-permitting-success/), and by Taseko's own Florence Copper project-summary page describing the two-phase PTF-then-commercial development approach. · Source
  3. Reached — date not disclosed · Construction of the Florence Copper COMMERCIAL production facility (Florence, Arizona; in-situ copper recovery) commenced in JANUARY 2024, following the EPA's issuance of the final Underground Injection Control permit in October 2023. The company's own Florence Copper project-summary page states verbatim: 'In January 2024, construction of the Florence Copper commercial production facility commenced.' achievedDate left null: January 2024 is month precision only, no day was disclosed in any source found -- the house convention (74 of 167 existing FIRST_PRODUCTION rows are likewise null-dated) rather than inventing a day. ANCHOR DIVERGENCE, DISCLOSED: TGB's PERMIT_GRANTED / FIRST_PRODUCTION / COMMERCIAL_PRODUCTION rows all anchor to the Gibraltar Mine, British Columbia -- opened by Placer Development in 1972, acquired by Taseko in 1999, reopened 2004 -- an already-built plant this company never constructed, which is precisely why Task #430 batch 8 correctly found no construction-start event there and recorded a checked gap. Florence is the only asset Taseko/Trekor carried from decision to build itself, so it is the only asset on which this gate's question is answerable. PHASE CAVEAT, STATED SO THE TWO FLORENCE ROWS DO NOT SILENTLY MISMATCH: this miner's CONSTRUCTION_DECISION row (Task #672, 2017-09-25) anchors to the Florence Production Test Facility -- phase one of Florence's two-phase development -- whereas this row anchors to the phase-two COMMERCIAL facility. Both are Florence; they are different phases, deliberately. The PTF's own construction is separately datable if a future pass prefers phase alignment: the same project-summary page states 'In 2017, Trekor initiated construction of a Production Test Facility (PTF) at Florence Copper', with the facility completed Q3 2018 and wellfield operations commencing in 2018. The commercial facility is used here because it is the build that produced current output (first copper cathodes late February 2026, 85 Mlb/yr nameplate). SUPERSEDES a prior Task #430 batch 8 RESEARCHED_UNKNOWN checked-gap row, which searched Gibraltar's 1972/2004 history and correctly found nothing there. Sourcing: the company project-summary page above, fetched directly this pass. Independently corroborated by Taseko's 16 Jan 2024 'Financing and Construction Update for the Florence Copper Project' (site preparations and civil work 'well advanced', commercial wellfield drilling 'to commence in February', major plant components onsite with plant build beginning Q2 2024 -- consistent with a January 2024 overall construction start and a later plant-erection phase), and by 2024 construction updates reporting the project 40% complete in September 2024 and ~56% complete at 2024 year-end. · Source
  4. Reached — date not disclosed · Taseko (having acquired Gibraltar from Boliden/Westmin in 1999 after its 1998 care-and-maintenance shutdown) reopened the mine in 2004 as copper prices recovered. Sourcing disagrees on the exact month within 2004 (Wikipedia: 'reopened ... in 2004'; other secondary coverage cites both May and October 2004) with no primary-source press release locating a single day -- recorded reached-but-undated at year precision per the Task CLAUDE.md 'two sources disagree' rule (both cited, neither invented) rather than picking one arbitrarily. · Source
  5. Reached — date not disclosed · Genuinely reached, but no single company-wide commercial-production date exists: Trekor Metals (renamed from Taseko Mines Limited in 2026, ticker TGB unchanged) operates Gibraltar (British Columbia, Canada's second-largest open-pit copper mine, producing since 1972 under a succession of owners, Taseko became sole owner in 2024) and Florence Copper (Arizona, a newer in-situ-recovery copper operation, targeting ~85M lbs Cu/year average over a 22-year mine life), each with entirely separate development and ownership histories. This row was missing entirely prior to 2026-08-21 -- a genuine data gap, not a stage error; Miner.stage was already correctly PRODUCTION. · Source

Milestones are recorded only from a company's own dated disclosure. A milestone with no date shown is one we can confirm was reached but for which no date was disclosed — we don't estimate one. "Not yet reached" means exactly that, not that a date is missing. An "Expected" line likewise only ever reflects the company's own guidance (e.g. a study or permit decision targeted for a stated quarter) — most not-yet-reached milestones have none, and that absence means no such guidance has been disclosed, not that one is overdue.

10/10
Weak track recordStrong track record
2.3/10
Thin runwayWell-capitalized
9/10
High riskLow risk
How this is calculated
7.5/10
Weaker depositStronger deposit
7.2/10
Weaker profileStronger profile
Price Chart
$3.17$4.34$8.88$6.74$8.40AugNovFebJunSep
Aug 12, 2025Sep 4, 2026
News
$8.40
+167.5%from low-14.5%from high
$3.14$9.82
See who ↓
1.5%
Low alignmentHigh alignment
See who ↓
56.6%
Low alignmentHigh alignment
$2.6B
Far belowFar above
$1.5B median
Price (USD - Local)
$8.40
Cash Position (USD)
$121.1M
Far belowFar above
$94M median
Debt (USD)
$534.3M
Far aboveFar below
$121.9M median
$3B
Far belowFar above
$1.4B median
365.6M
Far aboveFar below
670.9M median
Jurisdiction
Canada (Gibraltar Mine, BC) / United States (Florence Copper, Arizona)
This company's data hasn't been researched yet
This company's data hasn't been researched yet
Cut-off: Gibraltar Mine: 0.15% Cu (reserve cutoff -- resource-only cutoff not independently confirmed); Florence Copper: no cutoff grade applied (in-situ recovery/ISCR method, confirmed real disclosure)
This company's data hasn't been researched yet
Open pit
22 yrs
Far belowFar above
14 yrs median
$2.63/lb
@8%$930M(at $3.75/$/lb)
Far belowFar above
$713M median
2.75x
Far aboveFar below
0.36x median
This company's data hasn't been researched yet
Not enough peer data yet
$3.75/$/lb
47%
Far belowFar above
25% median
1.5%
0%100%
14.8% median
56.6%
0%100%
2.4% median
This company's data hasn't been researched yet
This company's data hasn't been researched yet
This company's data hasn't been researched yet
This company's data hasn't been researched yet
This company's data hasn't been researched yet
Acquisition Susceptibility
6.8/10
Unlikely bolt-onFits the takeout profile

A relative ranking of how closely this company matches the profile of juniors that have actually been acquired — not a probability, and not a reason to buy. Acquisitions are rare: only a few dozen significant deals happen a year across a universe of thousands of juniors, so even a high score here describes a long shot. The strongest signal the underlying research identifies — whether a major already holds a JV, earn-in, or 5–19.9% strategic stake — isn't tracked yet and is absent from this score.

Overall Score Trend
+26.3% since 2026-07-30 · -1.4% from peak

Your Rankings

Community Sentiment
SELLINGBUYING
CategoryCommunityYour Ranking
Overall (0)Log in to rank
Management (0)Log in to rank
Financials (0)Log in to rank
Jurisdiction (0)Log in to rank
Project Quality (0)Log in to rank

Management Team

President and Chief Executive Officer of Trekor Metals Limited, the copper producer formerly named Taseko Mines Limited, whose principal assets are the Gibraltar mine in central British Columbia and the Florence Copper project in Arizona.

Chief Financial Officer of Trekor Metals Limited (formerly Taseko Mines Limited), a position he has held since 2019.

Chief Operating Officer of Trekor Metals Limited (formerly Taseko Mines Limited), appointed in November 2023. Joined the company in 2014 as General Manager of the Gibraltar mine before moving to the corporate leadership team as Senior Vice President, Operations, and was closely involved in the permitting and technical de-risking of the Florence Copper project.

Vice President, Engineering at Trekor Metals Limited (formerly Taseko Mines Limited), appointed to the role Jul 2021 after joining as Chief Engineer in Jul 2018. Focus on advancing engineering and environmental aspects of the company's development pipeline; added 6 years of mine life at Gibraltar and enhanced the Yellowhead Project design. Immediately before Taseko, progressively senior roles at Teck Resources' Highland Valley Copper operations (mine engineering, mine operations, business improvement, tailings-dam construction). BASc (Mining Engineering), University of British Columbia; MBA, Queen's University. Qualified Person (NI 43-101).

Insiders, Investors & Smart Money

Notable shareholders and insiders whose involvement is worth knowing about, plus what we're seeing from institutional/large-investor activity.

Smart money
2/10

Our own shareholder register for Trekor is empty, which is a gap in our data rather than a fact about the company -- roughly 207 institutions have filed on the stock. Checking that register directly, it resolves to index and quantitative money plus mainstream generalists: the Global X Copper Miners ETF, Mirae Asset's ETFs, Connor Clark & Lunn, Mackenzie Financial, L1 Capital, Renaissance Technologies and Walleye. No dedicated resource specialist holds a meaningful position and no producer holds shares. The Japanese partners in the Gibraltar mine hold their interest in the mine itself rather than in Trekor, and the largest of them, Sojitz, sold out in 2023. There is no insider transaction feed for this listing.

No notable insiders tracked for this miner yet.

Reports, Presentations & Documents

Technical Report Takeaways

Florence Copper Project (Arizona, 100%-owned in-situ leach): Mar 2023 NI 43-101 technical report -- after-tax NPV of US$930M at an 8% discount rate, after-tax IRR of 47%, 2.6-year payback, 22-year mine life, 85 Mlb/yr LME Grade-A cathode copper capacity, C1 operating cost of US$1.11/lb, long-term copper price assumption US$3.75/lb. Florence reached commercial production in 2026 (36 Mlb combined Gibraltar+Florence copper production reported for Q2 2026) -- these are the pre-construction feasibility figures the production decision was built on, not re-derived. Gibraltar Mine (BC, second-largest copper mine in Canada): Mar 2022 'Technical Report on the Mineral Reserve Update' -- 706 Mt P&P reserve (effective 31 Dec 2021), 23-year mine life (to ~2044, i.e. approx. 18-19 years remaining from this Aug 2026 pass), after-tax NPV8 of US$1.1B on a 75% ownership basis at a long-term price of US$3.50/lb Cu (company materials describe current Gibraltar ownership inconsistently -- some as 100%, the 2022 technical report itself as 75% -- current % not independently confirmed this pass); life-of-mine average annual copper production ~130 Mlb. No IRR figure for Gibraltar was found in available coverage this pass. Gibraltar's NPV/IRR/mine-life are NOT written to the structured fields above (which carry Florence's complete, single-study set instead) -- see script header for the judgment call this represents. dcfNpvUsd10Pct not populated: no NPV-at-10% figure disclosed for either project.