JUNIORMETRICS
Gold$4,479.95/oz
Silver$66.98/oz
Copper$6.00/lb

Steppe Gold Ltd.

STPGF·STGO·$1.34·$228M cap
Goldalso:Altan Tsagaan Ovoo and Boroo/Ulaanbulag Gold Mines, Mongolia Map

Steppe Gold operates two producing gold mines in Mongolia -- Altan Tsagaan Ovoo (ATO) and Boroo/Ulaanbulag -- with a real but minor silver byproduct credit (8,251 oz silver vs 11,719 oz gold in Q1 2026). A separate revised Feasibility Study on an ATO Phase 2 expansion is expected in H2 2026, distinct from the company's current production-stage status on its existing operations.

Notable vs. Peers

  • Financials score of 1/10 is weaker than the peer average of 6.5/10.
  • Jurisdiction risk score of 4/10 is meaningfully riskier than the peer average of 7.8/10.

Lifecycle Milestones

Grassroots
Resource Def.
PEA
PFS
Feasibility
Permitting
Construction
ProductionCurrent

Construction Milestones

5 of 5 reached
  1. Reached — date not disclosed · Special mining license MV-017111 (5,492.63 ha) for ATO was granted in 2017, per Steppe Gold's own country manager in a trade-press interview; exact day not found. (Acquired via a transaction with Centerra Gold Mongolia -- sourcing conflicts on whether the Jan 31, 2017 signing or a Sept 2017 close date corresponds to the license transfer itself.) · Source
  2. Reached — date not disclosed · Task #922: written as a real, undated MinerConstructionMilestone row (achievedDate intentionally null). Steppe Gold's Altan Tsagaan Ovoo (ATO) mine demonstrably reached a construction decision: the company's own news archive shows ATO development already underway by mid-2018 (development updates Jun/Sep/Oct/Dec 2018, each describing progress against already-committed project CAPEX), funded off a May 22, 2018 IPO (US$25M), with FIRST_PRODUCTION on file at 2020-04-23. Consolidating this miner's own constructionMilestone:CONSTRUCTION_DECISION MetricStatus research (Task #430 batch 7): no release explicitly frames the IPO or any other single event as 'the decision to build ATO,' and no separate dated board-approval release was found in the archive despite the search. Recorded as reached-but-undated rather than guessing which financing event was the real decision point.
  3. Reached — date not disclosed · Heap leach pad Stage 1 earthworks were scheduled for late June 2018, with site construction confirmed underway by September-October 2018 per company development updates. Exact day not found. · Source
  4. Apr 2020 · First gold/silver sales commenced at ATO; commercial production was formally confirmed achieved for Q2 2020. This resolves a conflict left open in batch 3: a since-found April 2022 "Maiden Gold Pour" release does NOT describe true first production -- it describes a resumption after a 2021 reagent-supply halt caused by COVID-related China border closures, and should not be used as the first-production source. · Source
  5. Reached — date not disclosed · Genuinely reached with a clean single-asset story, but only month/year precision was found in every source checked (no specific day): Steppe Gold's Altan Tsagaan Ovoo (ATO) gold-silver mine (Dornod, Mongolia) declared commercial production in April 2020 (first gold sales 2020-04-23), and remains Steppe's flagship, continuously-operating asset through a 2025 Phase 2 concentrate-production expansion. Rather than guess a specific day, achievedDate is left null (matching the Bellevue Gold precedent, batch4). This row was missing entirely prior to 2026-08-21 -- a genuine data gap, not a stage error; Miner.stage was already correctly PRODUCTION. · Source

Milestones are recorded only from a company's own dated disclosure. A milestone with no date shown is one we can confirm was reached but for which no date was disclosed — we don't estimate one. "Not yet reached" means exactly that, not that a date is missing. An "Expected" line likewise only ever reflects the company's own guidance (e.g. a study or permit decision targeted for a stated quarter) — most not-yet-reached milestones have none, and that absence means no such guidance has been disclosed, not that one is overdue.

10/10
Weak track recordStrong track record
1/10
Thin runwayWell-capitalized
4/10
High riskLow risk
How this is calculated
7/10
Weaker depositStronger deposit
5.5/10
Weaker profileStronger profile
Price Chart
$0.955$1.25$1.31$0.861$1.34AugNovMarJunSep
Aug 12, 2025Sep 4, 2026
News
$1.34
+66.2%from low-24.1%from high
$0.80$1.76
$228M
Far belowFar above
$563.3M median
Price (USD - Local)
$1.34 - CAD 1.85
Cash Position (USD)
$56.7M
Far belowFar above
$92.4M median
Debt (USD)
$118.7M
Far aboveFar below
$5.7M median
$289.9M
Far belowFar above
$527M median
252.8M
Far aboveFar below
305.4M median
Jurisdiction
Mongolia
2,370,000 oz
Far belowFar above
1.3M median
$122.33/oz
Far aboveFar below
$158.80/oz median
Cut-off: Altan Tsagaan Ovoo: 0.40 g/t AuEq (open pit Mineral Reserve cut-off, oxide); 0.43 g/t AuEq (open pit Mineral Reserve cut-off, transition/fresh) -- from the 2021 FS, five years older than the current investor-deck vintage already cited for ouncesFound. Boroo/Ulaanbulag cut-off (~0.1 g/t Au reported on the company's operations page) not confirmed to a specific technical report/press release this pass
This company's data hasn't been researched yet
Open pit, heap leach and CIP/gravity
14 yrs
Far belowFar above
11 yrs median
$1,668/oz
$448.9M(at $2,300/oz)
Far belowFar above
$603M median
0.51x
Far aboveFar below
0.40x median
This company's data hasn't been researched yet
Not enough peer data yet
$2,300/oz49% below spot ($4,480/oz)
This company's data hasn't been researched yet
63.2%
0%100%
19.1% median
This company's data hasn't been researched yet
$107.7M
Far belowFar above
$36.1M median
$0.426
Far belowFar above
$0.146 median
2.12x
Far aboveFar below
23.23x median
This company's data hasn't been researched yet
This company's data hasn't been researched yet
Acquisition Susceptibility
5.9/10
Unlikely bolt-onFits the takeout profile

A relative ranking of how closely this company matches the profile of juniors that have actually been acquired — not a probability, and not a reason to buy. Acquisitions are rare: only a few dozen significant deals happen a year across a universe of thousands of juniors, so even a high score here describes a long shot. The strongest signal the underlying research identifies — whether a major already holds a JV, earn-in, or 5–19.9% strategic stake — isn't tracked yet and is absent from this score.

Overall Score Trend
-21.4% since 2026-07-31 · -21.4% from peak

Your Rankings

Community Sentiment
SELLINGBUYING
CategoryCommunityYour Ranking
Overall (0)Log in to rank
Management (0)Log in to rank
Financials (0)Log in to rank
Jurisdiction (0)Log in to rank
Project Quality (0)Log in to rank

Management Team

Director and CEO of Steppe Gold Ltd., appointed CEO December 17, 2025 after being a board member since August 2024. Leads in-country operations; prior senior roles in banking and legal departments, and CEO of Boroo Gold LLC since 2021. Holds degrees in law, finance and accounting.

Interim Chief Financial Officer of Steppe Gold Ltd., serving as Financial Controller since 2018 with over 15 years of mining industry finance experience; previously at Deloitte. BSc (Hons) Applied Accounting, Oxford Brookes University; ACCA Advanced Diploma.

Insiders, Investors & Smart Money

Notable shareholders and insiders whose involvement is worth knowing about, plus what we're seeing from institutional/large-investor activity.

Smart money
3/10

Boroo Singapore, the Mongolian mining group that sold Boroo Gold to Steppe in 2024, holds approximately 55.9% of the company -- received as share consideration for that asset sale rather than bought for cash. That makes it a legacy control block, not a fresh cash vote of confidence, and no specialist fund or insider buying was found beyond it.

No notable insiders tracked for this miner yet.

Reports, Presentations & Documents

Technical Report Takeaways

We haven't parsed this company's PEA/PFS/FS recommendations yet — cut-off grade, mine life, DCF/NPV, and the report's own next-steps guidance are a planned research pass, not live data for every company yet.