Acquisition announced: to be acquired by Terry L. Tucker
This company is the subject of an announced acquisition. The deal was announced on 22 Sep 2026. Check the company's own releases for the deal's current status.
This company has been removed from the default Compare and Miners directory listings.
Southstone Minerals Limited
Southstone Minerals Limited (Victoria, BC-headquartered, founded 2007) holds a 43% equity interest in African Star Minerals (Pty) Ltd ('ASM'), which owns 100% of the mining right for the producing Oena Diamond Mine, an 8,800-hectare New Order Mining Lease along a 15km stretch of the lower Orange River, Northern Cape Province, South Africa (renewed to 15 March 2027). ASM contracts the physical mining out (currently to Rietput Delwery (Pty) Ltd) under a contract mining and diamond recovery agreement entitling ASM to only 20% of gross diamond sales revenue (net of tender-house commissions and sale-related expenses; tiered 80:20/85:15 by tender size effective 1 Jul 2025) -- so Southstone's own disclosed effective economic interest in Oena's diamond-sales revenue is 8.6% (0.43 x 0.20), not a majority stake. Southstone/ASM manages diamond sales, mining consultation with the contractor, licence-compliance reporting and site security, and staffs ASM's CEO and the Oena site manager, but does not itself perform the extraction. Diamond production began 7 Nov 2023; the operation runs 24 hours/day, 6 days/week, targeting 3,000-3,500 tonnes/day of run-of-mine gravel processed through two 16-foot pan plants, with average recovered diamond values reported in excess of US$1,600/carat and ongoing quarterly sales (e.g. Q2 FY2026 gross diamond sales of US$3,713,181). In February 2025 the company signed a binding term sheet to acquire Afrium Energy Pte. Ltd. (holder of three uranium Prospecting Licenses in Botswana's Lekobolo Project) for 20,000,000 Southstone shares plus a 2.5% NSR to Afrium's shareholders; this diversification deal was mutually terminated effective 6 Jul 2026 (mutual release of claims, no shares issued, no royalty granted), so the company acquired no uranium asset. No NI 43-101/JORC resource or reserve has been reported for Oena's alluvial diamond gravels; production is reported in carats and $/carat. On 22 Sep 2026 Southstone announced an arrangement under which its Executive Chairman and Interim CEO, Terry L. Tucker, who holds about 14.3% of the shares, would acquire the rest for C$0.0375 per share in cash, about C$1.07 million in total; it needs shareholder, court and TSX Venture Exchange approval, and the shares would then be delisted.
Notable vs. Peers
- Financials score of 9.1/10 is stronger than the peer average of 5.4/10.
- Jurisdiction risk score of 6/10 is meaningfully riskier than the peer average of 7.7/10.
Lifecycle Milestones
Construction Milestones
5 of 5 reached- Reached — date not disclosed · Source
- Oct 2014 · Source
- Reached — date not disclosed · Source
- Nov 2023 · Source
- Reached — date not disclosed · Source
Milestones are recorded only from a company's own dated disclosure. A milestone with no date shown is one we can confirm was reached but for which no date was disclosed — we don't estimate one. "Not yet reached" means exactly that, not that a date is missing. An "Expected" line likewise only ever reflects the company's own guidance (e.g. a study or permit decision targeted for a stated quarter) — most not-yet-reached milestones have none, and that absence means no such guidance has been disclosed, not that one is overdue.
Not yet determined: tailings facility, road access, grid power.
Jurisdiction (40%)6/10
Northern Cape Province, South Africa -- established mining jurisdiction with moderate permitting/regulatory risk (BEE requirements) relative to Tier-1 peers.
Infrastructure (40%)6.4/10
A confirmed mill at Oena Diamond Mine; road access, grid power, and tailings facility not yet researched, counted at a neutral 5/10 until established.
Nearby producing mine (20%)9.5/10
Rosh Pinah (Rosh Pinah Zinc Corporation) is 28 km away -- within regional-platform range.
Acquisition Susceptibility
Terry L. Tucker's acquisition of this company is already announced, so a forward-looking susceptibility score no longer applies.
Your Rankings
Management Team
Canadian geologist (P.Geo.) with over 30 years' international mineral exploration and development experience, including the discovery of the Wolverine gold-massive sulfide deposit in northern Canada and the Mungana gold deposit in North Queensland. President and Chief Executive Officer of Kalo Gold Corp. Concurrently Director, Executive Chairman and Interim CEO of Southstone Minerals Limited. Previously President, CEO and Director of TSX-listed StrataGold Corporation (acquired by Victoria Gold Corp. in Jun 2009) and CEO/Director of Nyota Minerals Limited (AIM/ASX) to 2011.
Chief Financial Officer of Southstone Minerals Limited, effective 25 May 2026. Vice President at Catapult Consulting Corporation (since 2019) and Group Financial Controller for Rock Tech Lithium, providing CFO services to public and private companies across mining, technology, construction and other sectors -- building financial reporting processes, internal controls and budgeting/forecasting models. Chartered Professional Accountant (CPA, CA) with a Bachelor of Commerce from the University of Alberta.
Insiders, Investors & Smart Money
Notable shareholders and insiders whose involvement is worth knowing about, plus what we're seeing from institutional/large-investor activity.
No producer, strategic investor, or resource-specialist fund holds a disclosed stake, and no insider trading activity has been filed in the last six months.
No notable insiders tracked for this miner yet.
Reports, Presentations & Documents
A plain-language summary of this company's technical-report findings isn't written yet. See the cited figures on this page and the documents below.