Sylvania Platinum Limited
Sylvania Platinum Limited operates the Sylvania Dump Operations (SDO) -- six PGM (4E: platinum, palladium, rhodium, gold) reprocessing plants that retreat chrome tailings from third-party chrome mines/plants in South Africa's Bushveld Complex, rather than conventional underground/open-pit mining. FY2026 delivered record results: net revenue up 110% to $99.8m (H1) on a 25% rise in 4E PGM ounce production and a 55% rise in the average USD basket price; adjusted EBITDA up 414% to $51m; net profit $23.2m (H1, up from $7.2m). Group cash closed FY2026 (30 Jun 2026) at US$67.2m, up from $63.3m at Q3-end, funded from operating cash flow ($25.8m H1) -- the company is debt-free and funds its capital-expansion/process-optimisation projects entirely from cash reserves. Returns capital via an interim dividend (2p/share) and an active buyback ($2.5m allocated).
Notable vs. Peers
- Financials score of 9.7/10 is stronger than the peer average of 5.4/10.
- Jurisdiction risk score of 6/10 is meaningfully riskier than the peer average of 7.7/10.
Lifecycle Milestones
Construction Milestones
4 of 5 reached- Not yet reached · Recorded, but disputed: not counted as reached · Source
- Reached — date not disclosed · Source
- Reached — date not disclosed · Source
- Reached — date not disclosed · Source
- Reached — date not disclosed · Source
Milestones are recorded only from a company's own dated disclosure. A milestone with no date shown is one we can confirm was reached but for which no date was disclosed — we don't estimate one. "Not yet reached" means exactly that, not that a date is missing. An "Expected" line likewise only ever reflects the company's own guidance (e.g. a study or permit decision targeted for a stated quarter) — most not-yet-reached milestones have none, and that absence means no such guidance has been disclosed, not that one is overdue.
Not in place: mill, tailings facility. Not yet determined: grid power.
Combined view across 3 projects. Figures below are only combined where the underlying basis genuinely matches -- see the notes under each.
- 1.3M ozVolspruit
- 1.4M ozAurora Project (La Pucella), Far Northern Limb
- 17%Volspruit
- 14 yrsVolspruit
Jurisdiction (40%)6/10
Sylvania's operations are in South Africa's Bushveld Complex (Limpopo and Mpumalanga provinces), where policy and regulatory uncertainty, power supply and currency volatility are the main operating risks.
Infrastructure (40%)10/10
A confirmed mill, confirmed road access, confirmed grid power, and a confirmed tailings facility at Sylvania Dump Operations.
Nearby producing mine (20%)Not yet researched
No project coordinates on file yet, so distance to a producing mine can't be measured.
Acquisition Susceptibility
A relative ranking of how closely this company matches the profile of juniors that have actually been acquired — not a probability, and not a reason to buy. Acquisitions are rare: only a few dozen significant deals happen a year across a universe of thousands of juniors, so even a high score here describes a long shot. The strongest signal in the research, a producer that already owns part of the company, is scored from its disclosed strategic shareholders. A producer that is a joint-venture or earn-in partner on the project, rather than a shareholder, isn't captured yet.
How this score is built
- Disclosed pending dealSub-score: Not scored
No pending acquisition or merger disclosed (checked)
Not scored: having no deal in flight isn't held against a company.
Weight 26.25% - Producer's strategic stakeSub-score: Not scored
No producer holds a disclosed stake on file (holder register researched) See holders
Not scored: most juniors that do get bought had no prior toehold, so a missing stake says little either way.
Weight 25% - Distance to a producing mineSub-score: Not yet researched
Distance not yet researched: no project coordinates on file
Distance can't be measured without coordinates, so excluded rather than counted as far.
Weight 22.5% - Lifecycle stageSub-score:5.5/10
Stage: Production
Feasibility and permitting score 10, where deals cluster, and production 5.5; earlier stages score less, down to 1 at grassroots.
Weight 15% · 57% here - JurisdictionSub-score:6/10
South Africa: jurisdiction score 6/10
Our jurisdiction score, used as is: higher means lower political and permitting risk.
Weight 6.75% · 26% here - CommoditySub-score:2/10
Primary commodity: Other
Gold 10, copper 8, silver 5, nickel and uranium 4, others 2: most majors' deals are for gold.
Weight 4.5% · 17% here
Weight is each input's share of the full score. “Here” is its share of this company's score: inputs that aren't scored are left out and the rest re-weighted, never counted as zero.
Your Rankings
Management Team
Chief Executive Officer of Sylvania Platinum Limited (~5.7 years' tenure as of FY2026).
Chief Financial Officer of Sylvania Platinum Limited, effective 1 Dec 2025, succeeding Lewanne Carminati (who stepped down 30 Nov 2025 after a 5-year tenure). With Sylvania since 2021, previously as Executive Officer Finance overseeing the financial, treasury and tax functions for the South African subsidiaries. Earlier career includes Commercial Manager at Tsebo Facilities Solutions and Financial Manager at ADM.
Insiders, Investors & Smart Money
Notable shareholders and insiders whose involvement is worth knowing about, plus what we're seeing from institutional/large-investor activity.
A rules-based sector ETF is the only specialist-adjacent exposure on record; Miton Asset Management Ltd. separately discloses a real 5% stake, but no accessible source establishes it as a resource-sector specialist rather than a generalist UK multi-asset manager (part of the Premier Miton group), so it is named here for completeness without being credited as informed conviction capital. Several PDMR entries show same-day matched buy-and-sell activity consistent with a vest-and-sell-to-cover mechanism rather than clean conviction buying, alongside genuine pure sales by two directors.
No notable insiders tracked for this miner yet.
Reports, Presentations & Documents
Sylvania Platinum produces platinum group metals in South Africa's Bushveld Complex through the Sylvania Dump Operations, six plants that retreat chrome tailings from third-party chrome operations rather than mining ore. Production in FY2026, the year to 30 June 2026, was a record 95,885 oz of 4E PGMs (platinum, palladium, rhodium and gold), up from 81,002 oz in FY2025. The company also holds 74% of two Northern Limb projects: Volspruit, whose August 2024 scoping study shows a pre-tax NPV12% of US$69.0M (ZAR 1.2bn) and a 17% pre-tax IRR over a 14-year life on a 100% basis, and Aurora. Measured and indicated resources at Volspruit and Aurora total 2,706,790 oz of PGMs (427,448 oz measured and 2,279,342 oz indicated), plus 825,994 oz inferred; the tailings operations have no resource of their own.