Rand Mining Limited
Rand Mining Limited (incorporated 1966, South Perth) is a passive, non-operating minority JV interest holder, not a standard operating miner -- an important structural distinction from most companies in this database. Rand holds a 12.25% interest in the East Kundana Joint Venture (EKJV) near Kalgoorlie/Coolgardie, WA, alongside Tribune Resources (36.75%) and Evolution Mining Limited (51%, operator since August 2021). Evolution Mining operates three underground mines within EKJV (Raleigh, Rubicon, Hornet), with ore treated at Evolution Mining's Mungari plant -- Rand has no operational control. Rand also holds a 50% interest in the Seven Mile Hill project -- confirmed pure-exploration stage: no JORC Mineral Resource or Ore Reserve has ever been declared for it (checked against the complete RND ASX announcement title history, 2010-2026; every resource/reserve announcement in that span is EKJV-only). Its revenue/earnings and dividend behavior (FY2025 revenue A$43.28M, +24.5% YoY; earnings A$13.13M, +97.1% YoY) look more like a royalty/passive-interest vehicle than an operating junior -- it distributes most JV cash flow as dividends rather than retaining it. GAP (recorded, not guessed): no debt figure found; no AISC (Rand does not operate the mine -- AISC would be Evolution Mining's disclosure, not Rand's); no confirmed JORC resource/reserve figures for the EKJV interest retrieved this pass.
Notable vs. Peers
- Jurisdiction risk score of 10/10 is meaningfully safer than the peer average of 7.8/10.
Lifecycle Milestones
Construction Milestones
5 of 5 reached- Reached — date not disclosed · The East Kundana Joint Venture's three underground mines (Raleigh, Rubicon, Hornet) operate under granted Western Australian mining leases -- Rand's own FY2022 annual report tenement schedule names M15/993 (Raleigh) among the EKJV tenements, and the mines have produced continuously for two decades, so the permit was unquestionably granted. The grant DATE is a genuine, recorded gap: it requires an interactive WA DMIRS Mineral Titles Online lookup by tenement number, which web sourcing could not substitute for this pass. Recorded reached-but-undated; see the matching RESEARCHED_UNKNOWN checked-gap. Corrects a Task #373 seeding-era note that asserted, without a source, that EKJV permitting predates Rand's interest -- Rand and Tribune held Kundana leases from the early 1980s and the current 12.25% interest dates to a 1997 farm-in, so the opposite is true. · Source
- Reached — date not disclosed · Earliest documented EKJV development decision: an underground feasibility study on the Raleigh Project was completed in 2003, following open-pit mining that began ~2001 (Northern Star, Kalgoorlie Operations Fact Sheet, July 2019, Kundana timeline). The second development wave was the Rubicon-Hornet Project, commenced 2010. No single-day 'board approves development' release exists for either; recorded reached-but-undated to the earlier 2003 study. Rand held its EKJV interest throughout -- the 51/36.75/12.25 split originates in a 1997 Gilt Edged Mining farm-in with Rand and Tribune -- so this is a decision Rand participated in and funded its share of, not one that predates its ownership. · Source
- Reached — date not disclosed · Earliest documented EKJV underground construction: the Raleigh underground decline commenced in December 2004 (Northern Star, Kalgoorlie Operations Fact Sheet, July 2019); open-pit mining at Raleigh had already been under way since ~2001. Exact day not confirmed -- recorded reached-but-undated. The later Rubicon-Hornet wave IS precisely dated, in Rand's own words: its FY2011 Annual Report states the first portal cut of the Rubicon/Hornet decline was completed on 27 February 2011 (Northern Star's fact sheet separately dates Barminco's development-contract mobilisation to 21 March 2011 -- different stages of the same start, noted rather than silently reconciled). Not promoted into achievedDate because it is not when this milestone was first reached. Replaces a Task #373 seeding-era note claiming EKJV construction predates Rand's 12.25% interest, which the 1997 farm-in date contradicts. · Source
- Reached — date not disclosed · EKJV first production is a two-wave history, all of it after Rand's interest was established (1997 farm-in). Raleigh open-pit ore production began ~2001-2002 (approximate -- flagged, not sharpened beyond what the source states), and Raleigh underground stoping commenced in 2006 (Northern Star, Kalgoorlie Operations Fact Sheet, July 2019). The Rubicon/Hornet wave is dated in Rand's own FY2011 Annual Report: ore development commenced at Hornet and Rubicon on 1 August 2011, with Hornet stoping following in January 2013. Recorded reached-but-undated to the earliest (~2001-2002 open pit), since no single-day source fixes it. Replaces a Task #373 seeding-era note stating that no first-production date was meaningful for a JV Rand 'did not found or initially develop' -- Rand held Kundana ground from the early 1980s and its current interest from 1997, i.e. before all three mines were developed. · Source
- Reached — date not disclosed · Genuinely reached, but no single unambiguous company-era date exists -- same underlying asset and reasoning as TBR above: Rand holds a confirmed 12.25% NON-OPERATING interest in the East Kundana Joint Venture (EKJV, Kalgoorlie, WA) -- Northern Star's Gilt Edge Mining subsidiary holds 51% and operates the mine; Tribune Resources holds the other 36.75% -- in a mining area worked since circa 1895 under a long multi-owner history (Goldfields Ltd, Aurion Gold, Placer Dome, Barrick Gold, Northern Star since 2014). No single unambiguous company-era date, and Rand has never operated the mine. EKJV is Rand's sole current asset. businessModel is already correctly NON_OPERATING_INTEREST in the DB; per this campaign's established nuance (lifecycle-gates.ts's actual NON_OPERATOR_MODELS exemption set is {ROYALTY_STREAMING, INVESTMENT_COMPANY} only), NON_OPERATING_INTEREST is NOT exempt, so this ticker is correctly still in scope for a milestone attempt -- not silently skipped as exempt. This row was missing entirely prior to 2026-08-21 -- a genuine data gap, not a stage error; Miner.stage was already correctly PRODUCTION. · Source
Milestones are recorded only from a company's own dated disclosure. A milestone with no date shown is one we can confirm was reached but for which no date was disclosed — we don't estimate one. "Not yet reached" means exactly that, not that a date is missing. An "Expected" line likewise only ever reflects the company's own guidance (e.g. a study or permit decision targeted for a stated quarter) — most not-yet-reached milestones have none, and that absence means no such guidance has been disclosed, not that one is overdue.
A relative ranking of how closely this company matches the profile of juniors that have actually been acquired — not a probability, and not a reason to buy. Acquisitions are rare: only a few dozen significant deals happen a year across a universe of thousands of juniors, so even a high score here describes a long shot. The strongest signal the underlying research identifies — whether a major already holds a JV, earn-in, or 5–19.9% strategic stake — isn't tracked yet and is absent from this score.
Your Rankings
Management Team
Managing Director, CEO, and Executive Director of Rand Mining Limited.
Insiders, Investors & Smart Money
Notable shareholders and insiders whose involvement is worth knowing about, plus what we're seeing from institutional/large-investor activity.
Rand Mining's share register is dominated by two related gold-mining companies -- Tribune Resources (46.73%, its long-standing parent) and major Australian gold producer Northern Star Resources (13.89%, unchanged since October 2022) -- rather than by investment funds. A director, Lyndall Vaughan, made a small on-market purchase (1,400 shares, $2,800) on 25 March 2026. No resource-specialist funds or other insider trading were found in the register.
No notable insiders tracked for this miner yet.
Reports, Presentations & Documents
East Kundana Joint Venture (EKJV), 25 km WNW of Kalgoorlie / 47 km NE of Coolgardie, Western Australia. Current governing statement: the EKJV Mineral Resource and Ore Reserve Statement as at 31 DECEMBER 2025, prepared and supplied by project operator Evolution Mining Limited and released to the ASX by Tribune Resources (~5 Aug 2026) and Rand Mining (~10 Aug 2026). Rand states it does not comment on the accuracy or completeness of the operator-supplied data and acts as a disclosure conduit. MINERAL RESOURCE, 100% JOINT-VENTURE BASIS: Measured 1.60 Mt @ 5.44 g/t Au = 0.28 Moz; Indicated 7.57 Mt @ 3.39 g/t Au = 0.83 Moz; Inferred 5.43 Mt @ 2.87 g/t Au = 0.50 Moz; TOTAL 14.6 Mt @ 3.42 g/t Au = 1.61 Moz. Down 0.05 Moz (-3%) from the 31 Dec 2024 statement (13.77 Mt @ 3.74 g/t = 1.66 Moz). Measured+Indicated = 9.17 Mt for 1.11 Moz, which is the figure carried in ouncesFound; INFERRED (0.50 Moz) is recorded here and deliberately excluded from that field per the playbook M+I convention. Deposits: Hornet, Pegasus-Drake, Pode/Hera, Raleigh, Rubicon-Nugget, Star Trek, Golden Hind, Falcon, Raleigh-Sadler, plus stockpiles. JV: Evolution Mining 51% (operator, held through Gilt-Edged Mining Pty Ltd), Tribune Resources 36.75%, Rand Mining 12.25% -- on the Raleigh tenements M15/993 and M16/309 the split is 50 / 37.5 / 12.5 under an Ore Division Agreement. CROSS-REFERENCE, IMPORTANT FOR ANYONE COMPARING TO RAND'S OWN ACCOUNTS: Rand's FY2025 Annual Report (lodged 12 Sep 2025, pp. 55-57) reports the SAME asset on an ATTRIBUTABLE basis -- its notes state 'Resources and Reserves as reported are 100% Rand Mining Ltd' -- giving Measured 173 kt @ 5.6 g/t = 31 koz, Indicated 813 kt @ 4.0 g/t = 106 koz, Inferred 705 kt @ 2.9 g/t = 67 koz, total 1.69 Mt @ 3.7 g/t = 203,200 oz, and Ore Reserves of Proved 75 kt @ 4.3 = 10 koz + Probable 503 kt @ 3.2 = 51 koz, total 578 kt @ 3.3 g/t = 61,500 oz (gold price assumptions A$3,300/oz resource, A$3,000/oz reserve; Rand Competent Person Mr Andrew Hawker; underlying EKJV estimate by Evolution for the period ending 31 Dec 2024). Those attributable figures are NOT what this row stores -- see the ouncesFound citation and playbook §7.5 Rule 1 for why. TWO CORRECTIONS TO THIS ROW'S OWN description FIELD, which is stale and was NOT rewritten this pass (out of scope -- flagged, not silently left): (1) NORTHERN STAR IS NOT THE OPERATOR AND HOLDS NO EKJV INTEREST. It sold the Kundana assets including the 51% EKJV stake to Evolution Mining in AUGUST 2021 for ~A$400m. Northern Star's own Mineral Resource and Ore Reserve statements of 15 May 2025 and 3 Jun 2026 contain no Kundana / EKJV / Raleigh / Rubicon / Hornet / Pegasus entries at all, and its 'Kalgoorlie Operations' aggregate is Kanowna Belle + South Kalgoorlie only. (2) ORE IS NOT TREATED AT KANOWNA BELLE. Rand's FY2025 report states 'All ore was processed at Evolution Mining Limited Mungari processing plant.' Note also that Evolution's own annual MROR (1 May 2026, as at 31 Dec 2025) folds EKJV into its 'Mungari' aggregate (180 Mt @ 1.27 g/t = 7.2 Moz, footnoted as Evolution's interest) with no EKJV breakout -- so the operator's own disclosure cannot be used to isolate this asset, which is why the Tribune/Rand pass-through statement is the source used here. FY2025 EKJV production context: mine-claimed 499,954 t @ 3.8 g/t (60,514 oz); Rand's entitlement 61,447 t for 7,431 oz, of which 52,928 t @ 4.09 g/t was processed at 93.6% recovery for 6,518 oz. No NPV/IRR/mine-life is disclosed by Rand for the EKJV -- it is a non-operating interest in a mature producing JV, not a study-stage asset. ORE RESERVE ADDENDUM (Task #443 follow-up, 2026-08-15, primary source): Table 3 of the same 31 Dec 2025 EKJV statement, 100% basis, stated verbatim as 'not factored by applicable ownership structures'. PROVED IS NIL across every deposit -- the entire reserve is Probable. Hornet OP 1.56 Mt @ 1.42 g/t = 0.07 Moz; Golden Hind OP 0.19 Mt @ 2.26 g/t = 0.01 Moz; RHP (Rubicon Hornet Pegasus) UG 2.20 Mt @ 3.96 g/t = 0.28 Moz; Raleigh UG 1.14 Mt @ 4.69 g/t = 0.17 Moz. TOTAL 5.09 Mt @ 3.28 g/t Au = 0.54 Moz (reserve gold price assumption A$3,000/oz), up 0.05 Moz (+9%) from the 31 Dec 2024 Ore Reserve of 4.28 Mt @ 3.57 g/t = 0.49 Moz. This reserve figure is NOT written to ouncesFound -- that field carries the 1.11 Moz Measured+Indicated Mineral Resource per playbook convention (Sec7.5 / Sec6.1: M+I resource, or a P+P reserve only where no M+I resource is disclosed -- RND has both, so the resource figure governs). Recorded here for completeness: no reserve figure existed anywhere on this row before this pass.