Patagonia Gold Corp.
Patagonia Gold operates two Argentine precious-metals mines: the past-producing Cap Oeste heap-leach operation in Santa Cruz Province, generating residual gold-equivalent production and revenue while the higher-grade underground 'COSE-Style' zone (~300,000 oz AuEq) is evaluated; and the newly-built Calcatreu gold-silver mine in Río Negro Province -- the first precious-metals operation developed in that province -- which achieved first leaching in April 2026 and dispatched its first gold-silver doré in June 2026, targeting roughly 31,700 oz gold and 128,000 oz silver for 2026.
Notable vs. Peers
- Financials score of 1/10 is weaker than the peer average of 6.5/10.
- Jurisdiction risk score of 6/10 is meaningfully riskier than the peer average of 7.8/10.
Lifecycle Milestones
Construction Milestones
5 of 5 reached- Nov 2024 · Patagonia Gold formally notified by Rio Negro provincial authorities that the final resolution to proceed with construction, development and production of the Calcatreu project had been issued (release dated Nov 7, 2024, notification itself Nov 6, 2024). · Source
- Apr 2025 · Patagonia Gold announced a US$40 million investment into Calcatreu by Black River Mine Inc. (40 million preferred shares of subsidiary PG Canada at US$1.00/share), the company's real capital-commitment/decision-equivalent event funding the project's construction, following shareholder approval May 20, 2025 and closing June 2, 2025. No single separately dated 'Board approves construction' release found distinct from this financing announcement; dated to the announcement per the ARTG financing-commitment convention (see Task #305 batch1 script). · Source
- Reached — date not disclosed · Per the company's own reporting, upon receipt of all permits in Q4 2024, construction of the Calcatreu project commenced in Q1 2025 (mining activities/topsoil removal followed in August 2025, first blast September 2025). No single dated 'construction begins' release found distinct from the Q1 2025 window; recorded reached-but-undated. · Source
- Reached — date not disclosed · Cap-Oeste (El Tranquilo Block) commenced commercial gold production in 2016; per the company's own operations page it continues to recover ~500 gold-equivalent oz/month from pregnant leach solution even after open-pit mining ceased July 2018 -- a steeply declining legacy operation, real but not a normal operating mine. The Calcatreu project is a separate, still pre-permit asset (not the basis of this milestone). · Source
- Reached — date not disclosed · Genuinely reached, but no single company-wide commercial-production date exists across a genuine two-asset, two-era portfolio: Cap-Oeste (Capo) commenced commercial gold production in 2016 (first dore announced around October 2016, only imprecise dating found anywhere) and Calcatreu commenced leaching operations only 2026-03-31, with an Argentine provincial labour authority (Rio Negro Secretariat of Labour) ordering a 'preventive, partial and temporary suspension of certain operational activities' at Calcatreu as recently as 2026-08-19 -- two days before this write. Neither a single clean company-wide date nor a stable, confirmed threshold at the newer asset exists. This row was missing entirely prior to 2026-08-21 -- a genuine data gap, not a stage error; Miner.stage was already correctly PRODUCTION. · Source
Milestones are recorded only from a company's own dated disclosure. A milestone with no date shown is one we can confirm was reached but for which no date was disclosed — we don't estimate one. "Not yet reached" means exactly that, not that a date is missing. An "Expected" line likewise only ever reflects the company's own guidance (e.g. a study or permit decision targeted for a stated quarter) — most not-yet-reached milestones have none, and that absence means no such guidance has been disclosed, not that one is overdue.
A relative ranking of how closely this company matches the profile of juniors that have actually been acquired — not a probability, and not a reason to buy. Acquisitions are rare: only a few dozen significant deals happen a year across a universe of thousands of juniors, so even a high score here describes a long shot. The strongest signal the underlying research identifies — whether a major already holds a JV, earn-in, or 5–19.9% strategic stake — isn't tracked yet and is absent from this score.
Your Rankings
Management Team
Chief Executive Officer of Patagonia Gold Corp., on the board since June 10, 2015. 25 years in mining including as Country Manager/President of AngloGold Ashanti's Cerro Vanguardia mine, and earlier as Country Manager/VP for Andean Resources in Argentina until 2010. Economics degree from Wharton.
Chief Financial Officer of Patagonia Gold Corp. 18 years of finance/strategy experience; with Patagonia since 2008 as VP of Patagonia Gold S.A. and subsidiaries; sits on the boards of Central Puerto SA and San Miguel S.A. Prior HSBC Consumer Lending VP Strategy/Analytics and McKinsey & Co. management consultant. MBA, UCLA Anderson; Industrial Engineering, ITBA.
Insiders, Investors & Smart Money
Notable shareholders and insiders whose involvement is worth knowing about, plus what we're seeing from institutional/large-investor activity.
Patagonia Gold is a closely held company: roughly 65% sits with its controlling founder-family shareholder group, and the remaining register carries no named institutional or specialist holder at all. Reported institutional ownership is 0%, there are no disclosed named holders, and no insider purchases are on record. A family control block is not third-party validation -- it tells you the founders have not sold, not that outside capital that had to do technical work has bought in. This is a checked-and-found-nothing-citable result rather than evidence that no such investor exists.
No notable insiders tracked for this miner yet.
Reports, Presentations & Documents
We haven't parsed this company's PEA/PFS/FS recommendations yet — cut-off grade, mine life, DCF/NPV, and the report's own next-steps guidance are a planned research pass, not live data for every company yet.
Patagonia Gold's 100%-owned Calcatreu Gold Project, Río Negro Province, Argentina -- the company's flagship and now first producing mine: permits granted Nov 2024, construction began Mar 2025 (backed by a US$40M Black River Mine Inc. strategic investment into subsidiary Patagonia Gold Canada Inc.), leaching operations began 15 Apr 2026, and the first doré dispatch (518 gold-equivalent oz) to Asahi Refining was announced 8 Jun 2026. Mineral Resource: Measured+Indicated 669,000 oz gold (plus 6,275,000 oz silver) and Inferred 348,000 oz gold (plus 3,399,000 oz silver). A pre-feasibility study was underway circa 2021 (targeted Q3 2021 completion) but no NPV/IRR/mine-life figures from a published, publicly-available bankable study could be located in this research pass -- construction proceeded on the strength of permits and the Black River strategic financing rather than a headline PFS/DFS economic release with disclosed NPV/IRR. dcfNpvUsd/irrPct/mineLifeYears are left null rather than guessed; a future pass should check SEDAR+ directly for whether a technical report with these figures was ever filed. This miner also holds the separate, smaller Cap-Oeste (COSE) underground project (~298,000 AuEq oz M&I high-grade zone) and other Santa Cruz-province assets, not reflected in the Calcatreu figures above.