Paladin Energy LtdP
Paladin Energy Ltd (ASX/TSX: PDN) is a Perth-headquartered uranium producer whose flagship asset is the Langer Heinrich Mine (Namibia; Paladin 75% / CNNC Overseas Uranium Holdings 25%), a conventional open-pit mine Paladin itself originally developed: site works began Sep 2005, staged commissioning completed 28 Dec 2006, and the mine was officially opened in Mar 2007 with first commercial shipment the same month. Langer Heinrich was placed under care and maintenance in May 2018 amid weak uranium prices; Paladin's board approved a return to production on 19 Jul 2022 (restart capital cost later revised from US$87M to US$118M), and the mine achieved restart commercial production on 30 Mar 2024. FY2026 (year to 30 Jun 2026) production reached 4.82 million lbs U3O8 and sales of 4.35 million lbs, both at or above guidance, with full-year production costs of US$43.30/lb (below the US$44-48/lb guidance range) -- the ramp-up is now complete and the mine is in stable operations, with FY2027 guidance of 5.1-5.6 million lbs (back-half weighted due to planned maintenance and lower early-year grades).
Notable vs. Peers
- Trading within 7% of its 52-week low — weak recent price momentum.
Lifecycle Milestones
Construction Milestones
5 of 5 reached- Reached — date not disclosed · Source
- Jul 2022 · Source
- Reached — date not disclosed · Source
- Mar 2024 · Source
- Mar 2024 · Source
Milestones are recorded only from a company's own dated disclosure. A milestone with no date shown is one we can confirm was reached but for which no date was disclosed — we don't estimate one. "Not yet reached" means exactly that, not that a date is missing. An "Expected" line likewise only ever reflects the company's own guidance (e.g. a study or permit decision targeted for a stated quarter) — most not-yet-reached milestones have none, and that absence means no such guidance has been disclosed, not that one is overdue.
Combined view across 6 projects. Figures below are only combined where the underlying basis genuinely matches -- see the notes under each.
- 28.2%Patterson Lake South (PLS) Project -- Triple R deposit, Athabasca Basin, Saskatchewan, Canada
- 17 yrsLanger Heinrich Mine
- 10 yrsPatterson Lake South (PLS) Project -- Triple R deposit, Athabasca Basin, Saskatchewan, Canada
Jurisdiction (40%, counts 50% here)7/10
HQ Perth, Australia. Flagship producing asset (Langer Heinrich) sits in Namibia -- a generally stable, established, mining-friendly African uranium jurisdiction (also home to Rossing and Husab), scored a notch below Tier-1 Canada/Australia but well above higher-risk African jurisdictions. Growth/development assets (Patterson Lake South / Alpha, Saskatchewan) sit in Tier-1 Canada, acquired via the Dec 2024 Fission Uranium Corp. acquisition -- not yet a production-risk exposure (still development-stage). Paladin's Mount Isa uranium deposits in Queensland cannot currently be developed, because Queensland government policy does not allow uranium mining, although exploration is permitted.
Infrastructure (40%, counts 50% here)10/10
A confirmed mill, confirmed road access, confirmed grid power, and a confirmed tailings facility at Langer Heinrich Mine.
Nearby producing mine (20%)Not counted: would not raise the score
Rossing Uranium (Rossing Uranium Limited) is 47 km away and would score 8.2/10 on its own, but that is below what this company's other researched inputs already give it. A nearby producing mine can only raise this score, never lower it, so it isn't counted here.
Acquisition Susceptibility
A relative ranking of how closely this company matches the profile of juniors that have actually been acquired — not a probability, and not a reason to buy. Acquisitions are rare: only a few dozen significant deals happen a year across a universe of thousands of juniors, so even a high score here describes a long shot. The strongest signal in the research, a producer that already owns part of the company, is scored from its disclosed strategic shareholders. A producer that is a joint-venture or earn-in partner on the project, rather than a shareholder, isn't captured yet.
How this score is built
- Disclosed pending dealSub-score: Not scored
No pending acquisition or merger disclosed (checked)
Not scored: having no deal in flight isn't held against a company.
Weight 26.25% - Producer's strategic stakeSub-score: Not yet researched
Holder register not researched yet
Not scored: most juniors that do get bought had no prior toehold, so a missing stake says little either way.
Weight 25% - Distance to a producing mineSub-score:5.3/10
Nearest producing mine: Rossing Uranium (Rossing Uranium Limited), 47 km
10 next to a producing mine, 8 at 20 km, 5 at 50 km, 0 beyond 200 km.
Weight 22.5% · 46% here - Lifecycle stageSub-score:5.5/10
Stage: Production
Feasibility and permitting score 10, where deals cluster, and production 5.5; earlier stages score less, down to 1 at grassroots.
Weight 15% · 31% here - JurisdictionSub-score:7/10
Namibia: jurisdiction score 7/10
Our jurisdiction score, used as is: higher means lower political and permitting risk.
Weight 6.75% · 14% here - CommoditySub-score:4/10
Primary commodity: Uranium
Gold 10, copper 8, silver 5, nickel and uranium 4, others 2: most majors' deals are for gold.
Weight 4.5% · 9% here
Weight is each input's share of the full score. “Here” is its share of this company's score: inputs that aren't scored are left out and the rest re-weighted, never counted as zero.
Your Rankings
Management Team
Managing Director and Chief Executive Officer of Paladin Energy Ltd, effective September 1, 2025; previously Chief Operating Officer at Paladin (Feb 2023-Aug 2025) and formerly General Manager of Aurizon's Central Queensland Coal Network and General Manager at BHP.
Chief Financial Officer of Paladin Energy Ltd, with the company since July 2019; previously CFO of Transborders Energy and held senior treasury/corporate-strategy roles at Woodside Energy.
Non-Executive Chairman of Paladin Energy Ltd, director since October 2019; previously Managing Director of Atlas Iron Ltd and a senior executive of CMS Energy Corporation; also Non-Executive Chair of Australian Vanadium Limited.
Insiders, Investors & Smart Money
Notable shareholders and insiders whose involvement is worth knowing about, plus what we're seeing from institutional/large-investor activity.
No smart-money tracking (institutional/large-investor activity) for this miner yet — this is a planned feature, not live data.
No notable insiders tracked for this miner yet.
Reports, Presentations & Documents
Paladin Energy is a uranium producer whose flagship is the Langer Heinrich open-pit mine in Namibia (75%, with CNNC Overseas Uranium Holdings holding 25%), which returned to commercial production on 30 March 2024 after being placed on care and maintenance in 2018. FY2026 production (the year to 30 June 2026) was 4.82 million lb U3O8, above guidance, with sales of 4.35 million lb at an average realised price of US$70.0/lb, and FY2027 guidance is 5.1-5.6 million lb. Attributable measured and indicated resources total 429,950,000 lb U3O8 (131,325,000 lb measured, 298,625,000 lb indicated) plus 102,300,000 lb inferred, across Langer Heinrich, the Patterson Lake South (PLS) project in Saskatchewan acquired with Fission Uranium in December 2024, and projects in Labrador, Queensland and Western Australia. Langer Heinrich's technical report (effective 31 March 2024) shows a post-tax NPV8% of US$1,522M on a 100% basis and a 17-year mine life. For PLS, an August 2025 update shows a post-tax NPV8% of US$1,325M and a 28.2% IRR at US$90/lb, with pre-production capital of US$1,226M; Canada's nuclear regulator has accepted the construction licence application as sufficient, and the licence hearing is targeted for completion by the end of 2027.