Pan African Resources PLC
Pan African Resources is a UK-listed, JSE-primary (ticker PAN) mid-tier gold producer, also listed on the LSE's AIM segment (PAF), via ASX CHESS Depositary Interests (PAF, listed 2 Jul 2026) and OTCQX (PAFRY). It operates a diversified portfolio of underground and surface tailings-retreatment mines in South Africa -- Barberton Mines and the Evander/Egoli underground operations, plus the Elikhulu and Mogale Tailings Retreatment (MTR) surface plants -- and a newly commissioned mine in the Northern Territory, Australia (Tennant Mines). The group has cut net debt by nearly 70% in H1 FY26 and is guiding to record FY26 gold output.
Notable vs. Peers
- Jurisdiction risk score of 5/10 is meaningfully riskier than the peer average of 7.8/10.
Lifecycle Milestones
Construction Milestones
5 of 5 reached- Jul 2017 · Source
- Reached — date not disclosed
- Reached — date not disclosed
- Oct 2018
- Reached — date not disclosed · Source
Milestones are recorded only from a company's own dated disclosure. A milestone with no date shown is one we can confirm was reached but for which no date was disclosed — we don't estimate one. "Not yet reached" means exactly that, not that a date is missing. An "Expected" line likewise only ever reflects the company's own guidance (e.g. a study or permit decision targeted for a stated quarter) — most not-yet-reached milestones have none, and that absence means no such guidance has been disclosed, not that one is overdue.
Jurisdiction (40%)5/10
South Africa has an established mining code and decades of operating history, but power-supply instability, labour relations, and policy uncertainty are recurring risk factors for South African gold miners.
Infrastructure (40%)10/10
A confirmed mill, confirmed road access, confirmed grid power, and a confirmed tailings facility at Barberton Mines.
Nearby producing mine (20%)Not yet researched
No producing mine within 50 km in our reference list (nearest listed: Mototolo (Valterra Platinum Limited), 129 km). That list doesn't cover every mining district yet, so a longer distance isn't scored as remote.
Acquisition Susceptibility
A relative ranking of how closely this company matches the profile of juniors that have actually been acquired — not a probability, and not a reason to buy. Acquisitions are rare: only a few dozen significant deals happen a year across a universe of thousands of juniors, so even a high score here describes a long shot. The strongest signal in the research, a producer that already owns part of the company, is scored from its disclosed strategic shareholders. A producer that is a joint-venture or earn-in partner on the project, rather than a shareholder, isn't captured yet.
How this score is built
- Disclosed pending dealSub-score: Not scored
No pending acquisition or merger disclosed (checked)
Not scored: having no deal in flight isn't held against a company.
Weight 26.25% - Producer's strategic stakeSub-score: Not scored
No producer stake on file; largest strategic holder is PAR Gold (Pty) Ltd (13.13%) See holders
Not an operating producer, so it isn't the toehold-then-takeout pattern the research documents; a missing producer stake isn't held against a company.
Weight 25% - Distance to a producing mineSub-score:2.4/10
Nearest producing mine: Mototolo (Valterra Platinum Limited), 129 km
10 next to a producing mine, 8 at 20 km, 5 at 50 km, 0 beyond 200 km.
Weight 22.5% · 46% here - Lifecycle stageSub-score:5.5/10
Stage: Production
Feasibility and permitting score 10, where deals cluster, and production 5.5; earlier stages score less, down to 1 at grassroots.
Weight 15% · 31% here - JurisdictionSub-score:5/10
South Africa: jurisdiction score 5/10
Our jurisdiction score, used as is: higher means lower political and permitting risk.
Weight 6.75% · 14% here - CommoditySub-score:10/10
Primary commodity: Gold
Gold 10, copper 8, silver 5, nickel and uranium 4, others 2: most majors' deals are for gold.
Weight 4.5% · 9% here
Weight is each input's share of the full score. “Here” is its share of this company's score: inputs that aren't scored are left out and the rest re-weighted, never counted as zero.
Your Rankings
Management Team
Chief Executive Officer of Pan African Resources since 1 Mar 2015. Chartered accountant (Deloitte & Touche South Africa); joined the Group as Financial Director in 2009.
Financial Director of Pan African Resources PLC, effective 1 Oct 2024, having joined the Group as Group Financial Manager in Jan 2020. Chartered Accountant; BCom (Accounting), University of Johannesburg. Immediately before Pan African, Auditor at PwC South Africa (Jan 2006-Dec 2019). Extensive mining-industry experience in financial reporting, corporate finance, governance and regulatory compliance.
Insiders, Investors & Smart Money
Notable shareholders and insiders whose involvement is worth knowing about, plus what we're seeing from institutional/large-investor activity.
The largest name on Pan African's register, PAR Gold at 13.13%, is not an outside investor: it is the company's own B-BBEE empowerment vehicle, and Pan African is itself an indirect 49.9% shareholder in PAR Gold, with the Mabindu Development Trust holding most of the rest. That is a regulatory ownership structure, not a bet on the shares, and it is not counted here. The rest of the register is South African institutional money -- the Public Investment Corporation at 10.83%, Allan Gray at 7.11%, Peregrine at 4.37%, Coronation at 2.44% -- all capable generalist managers, none of them a dedicated resource specialist. No gold-sector specialist fund appears at all, and there is no insider transaction feed for this listing.
No notable insiders tracked for this miner yet.
Reports, Presentations & Documents
Pan African Resources is a mid-tier gold producer with its primary listing on the JSE, plus listings on London's AIM, the ASX (through CDIs from 2 July 2026) and OTCQX. In South Africa it operates the Barberton underground mines (about 23 years of remaining mine life, with mining rights to 2051), the Evander/Egoli underground operations and the Elikhulu and Mogale tailings-retreatment plants, and in Australia it operates the newly commissioned Tennant Mines in the Northern Territory. Group measured and indicated gold resources at 30 June 2026 total 28,660,000 oz (3,730,000 oz measured, 24,930,000 oz indicated), with 16,560,000 oz inferred. All-in sustaining cost for the first half of FY2026 was US$1,874/oz, and full-year guidance was revised to US$1,820-1,870/oz. On 1 July 2026 Pan African completed the US$218M all-share acquisition of Emmerson Resources, adding Northern Territory gold-copper exploration ground.