JUNIORMETRICS
Gold$4,479.95/oz
Silver$66.98/oz
Copper$6.00/lb

OceanaGold Corporation

OGC·OGC·$30.57·$6.3B cap
Goldalso:Haile Gold Mine, South Carolina, USA (plus Macraes and Waihi, New Zealand, and Didipio, Philippines) Map

OceanaGold Corporation is a TSX/NYSE-listed (ticker OGC on both) gold and copper producer operating four mines: Haile (South Carolina, USA), Macraes and Waihi (New Zealand), and Didipio (Nueva Vizcaya, Philippines, gold-copper). The company voluntarily delisted from the ASX effective 2022-08-31 (CDIs suspended 2022-08-29) after determining the TSX listing served its shareholder base more efficiently; it began trading on the NYSE under OGC on 2026-04-07. Q2 2026 was a strong quarter: 138,800 oz of gold produced (Haile 59.5koz, Macraes 41.4koz, Waihi 16.5koz, Didipio 21.4koz), $655M cash with zero debt, $130.1M of free cash flow ($385.3M year-to-date), and $78M returned to shareholders via buybacks and dividends in the quarter alone. Consolidated AISC was $2,151/oz for the quarter. Didipio operates under a Financial or Technical Assistance Agreement (FTAA, renewed 2019-2044) entitling the Philippine government to 60% of net revenue. Gerard Bond is President and CEO. Total 2025 year-end gold Mineral Reserves were 5.83 million ounces across the four operations.

Lifecycle Milestones

Grassroots
Resource Def.
PEA
PFS
Feasibility
Permitting
Construction
ProductionCurrent

Construction Milestones

5 of 5 reached
  1. Nov 2014 · Anchored to Haile's permits, secured Nov 2014 under prior owner Romarco Minerals (acquired by OceanaGold in 2015) -- the best-documented recent permitting event across the four-mine portfolio, not a single company-wide date. · Source
  2. Reached — date not disclosed · No single dated 'Board approves construction' release found distinct from the confirming disclosure that financing had been secured and construction was underway. Romarco Minerals' (later acquired by OceanaGold, October 2015) South Carolina Mine Operating Permit for Haile became final and effective January 8, 2015; by an August 24, 2015 filing the company reported it 'has completed a positive Feasibility Study, received all major permits, secured financing and has commenced construction,' with first production then scheduled for Q4 2016. Recorded reached-but-undated, dated to no-later-than that August 2015 disclosure (same convention as the EQX row in the Task #430 batch3 script). · Source
  3. Apr 2015 · Haile construction began April 2015 under OceanaGold. · Source
  4. Jan 2017 · Haile's first gold pour, 19 Jan 2017. · Source
  5. Oct 2017 · Haile commenced commercial production Oct 2017. Macraes, Waihi, and Didipio have each been in continuous production well before this date -- current company-wide production status is directly evidenced by Q2 2026 output of 138,800 oz across all four mines. · Source

Milestones are recorded only from a company's own dated disclosure. A milestone with no date shown is one we can confirm was reached but for which no date was disclosed — we don't estimate one. "Not yet reached" means exactly that, not that a date is missing. An "Expected" line likewise only ever reflects the company's own guidance (e.g. a study or permit decision targeted for a stated quarter) — most not-yet-reached milestones have none, and that absence means no such guidance has been disclosed, not that one is overdue.

Combined view across 4 projects. Figures below are only combined where the underlying basis genuinely matches -- see the notes under each.

Combined resource
No project has a disclosed resource figure yet
IRR
Not combined
IRR is not additive across independent projects -- see each project's own tab for its figure
Combined NPV, by discount-rate basis
$779.3M
At rate not disclosed discount rate -- Haile Gold Mine + Macraes + Didipio
$621M
At 5% discount rate -- Waihi

Shown as separate totals, not summed together: these projects' studies used different discount rates, so a single combined NPV would not be a real number.

10/10
Weak track recordStrong track record
7.6/10
Thin runwayWell-capitalized
7/10
High riskLow risk
How this is calculated
6.2/10
Weaker depositStronger deposit
7.7/10
Weaker profileStronger profile
Price Chart
$16.41$24.16$41.31$28.19$30.57AugNovFebJunSep
Aug 12, 2025Sep 4, 2026
News
$30.57
+96.8%from low-27.6%from high
$15.53$42.25
See who ↓
0.4%
Low alignmentHigh alignment
See who ↓
56.1%
Low alignmentHigh alignment
$6.3B
Far belowFar above
$557.1M median
Price (USD - Local)
$30.57 - CAD 42.31
Cash Position (USD)
$655M
Far belowFar above
$90.6M median
Debt (USD)
Far aboveFar below
$6.2M median
$5.6B
Far belowFar above
$486M median
222.4M
Far aboveFar below
305.4M median
Jurisdiction
Canada
5,830,000 oz
Far belowFar above
1.3M median
$960.21/oz
Far aboveFar below
$157.18/oz median
This company's data hasn't been researched yet
Open pit and underground
See projects ↓
This company's data hasn't been researched yet
$2,151/oz
See projects ↓
This company's data hasn't been researched yet
See projects ↓
Not enough peer data yet
This company's data hasn't been researched yet
Not enough peer data yet
See projects ↓
This company's data hasn't been researched yet
0.4%
0%100%
19.3% median
56.1%
0%100%
3% median
$130.1M
Far belowFar above
$36.1M median
$0.585
Far belowFar above
$0.146 median
48.06x
Far aboveFar below
22.53x median
$577.3M
Far belowFar above
$455.1M median
$2.60
Far belowFar above
$2.02 median
Acquisition Susceptibility
6.7/10
Unlikely bolt-onFits the takeout profile

A relative ranking of how closely this company matches the profile of juniors that have actually been acquired — not a probability, and not a reason to buy. Acquisitions are rare: only a few dozen significant deals happen a year across a universe of thousands of juniors, so even a high score here describes a long shot. The strongest signal the underlying research identifies — whether a major already holds a JV, earn-in, or 5–19.9% strategic stake — isn't tracked yet and is absent from this score.

Overall Score Trend
+10% since 2026-08-08

Your Rankings

Community Sentiment
SELLINGBUYING
CategoryCommunityYour Ranking
Overall (0)Log in to rank
Management (0)Log in to rank
Financials (0)Log in to rank
Jurisdiction (0)Log in to rank
Project Quality (0)Log in to rank

Management Team

President and Chief Executive Officer of OceanaGold Corporation since Apr 2022. Professional background spans resources and finance across North America, Europe and Australia, with commodities experience in gold, copper, nickel and aluminium. Immediately before OceanaGold, Finance Director and CFO of Newcrest Mining Limited for 10 years (2012-2022, later merged into Newmont Corporation, already tracked in this DB, NEM, well after his departure). Before Newcrest, 14 years at BHP in senior executive roles including Mergers and Acquisitions, Treasury, Deputy CFO of the Aluminium business, CFO then Acting President of the Nickel business, and Head of Group Human Resources. Began his career in corporate finance at Coopers & Lybrand. Bachelor of Commerce, University of Melbourne; Graduate Diploma in Applied Finance and Investment, Securities Institute of Australia.

Chief Financial Officer of OceanaGold Corporation since May 2023 -- missing from this DB entirely before this batch (only the CEO was tracked). Approximately 25 years of mining and technology industry experience across South Africa, the UK, Mozambique, Singapore and Canada. Immediately before OceanaGold, VP Finance -- Americas for Newcrest Mining (2019-2023), overseeing the Red Chris and Brucejack/Pretivm mines in British Columbia. Before Newcrest, 13 years at BHP holding VP Strategy and Design (Global Group Business Information Services), Head of Finance for Energy Coal South Africa, Project Director for Energy Southern Africa, Head of Finance for the Mozal Aluminium smelter, and Global Financial Controller for Aluminium -- a genuinely distinct BHP career from CEO Gerard Bond's own BHP tenure (an initial aggregated search summary incorrectly described van Niekerk's BHP career using Bond's bio text; independently re-verified against OceanaGold's own individual bio page for van Niekerk before writing). Bachelor's degree in Economic and Management Sciences, University of Pretoria; Honours in Accounting Sciences, University of South Africa; CPA Ontario and Chartered Accountant (South Africa); ICD.D designation.

Insiders, Investors & Smart Money

Notable shareholders and insiders whose involvement is worth knowing about, plus what we're seeing from institutional/large-investor activity.

Smart money

Task #172 gate batch: smartMoneyScore rubric (playbook §7.6) applied 2026-08-15 -- GATED: marketCapUsd $6.25B >= $5.0B applicability threshold. At this size, index membership (GDX, S&P/TSX 60, Russell 1000) mechanically dominates the shareholder register, so absence of a visible specialist bet carries no information. RESEARCHED_UNKNOWN per playbook §6.4/§7.6.

No notable insiders tracked for this miner yet.

Reports, Presentations & Documents

Technical Report Takeaways

We haven't parsed this company's PEA/PFS/FS recommendations yet — cut-off grade, mine life, DCF/NPV, and the report's own next-steps guidance are a planned research pass, not live data for every company yet.