New Murchison Gold Limited
New Murchison Gold (renamed from Ora Gold Limited, November 2024) holds a 677 km2 tenure package in WA's Abbotts Greenstone Belt. An April 2026 resource update reported 4.42Mt at 2.5 g/t Au for 359,000 oz contained gold, a 47% increase. The company is currently producing gold from the Crown Prince open pit (initial 30-month mine life, ~140,000 oz forecast) while advancing the Cloudkicker and Lydia pits and a Crown Prince underground study, generating trailing-twelve-month revenue of AUD $219.29M.
Notable vs. Peers
- Financials score of 10/10 is stronger than the peer average of 6.5/10.
Lifecycle Milestones
Construction Milestones
5 of 5 reached- Reached — date not disclosed · Source
- Jun 2025 · Source
- Jun 2025 · Source
- Reached — date not disclosed · Source
- Reached — date not disclosed · Source
Milestones are recorded only from a company's own dated disclosure. A milestone with no date shown is one we can confirm was reached but for which no date was disclosed — we don't estimate one. "Not yet reached" means exactly that, not that a date is missing. An "Expected" line likewise only ever reflects the company's own guidance (e.g. a study or permit decision targeted for a stated quarter) — most not-yet-reached milestones have none, and that absence means no such guidance has been disclosed, not that one is overdue.
Not in place: mill, tailings facility. Not yet determined: grid power.
Jurisdiction (40%)9/10
Western Australia: Fraser PPI 2025 is 88.53 of 100 (rank 13 of 68), which maps to 9 on this site's scale. Western Australia — top-tier, low political-risk mining jurisdiction.
Infrastructure (40%)4.3/10
No confirmed mill, confirmed road access, and no confirmed tailings facility at Garden Gully Gold Project (incl. Crown Prince Gold Mine), Murchison, Western Australia; grid power not yet researched, counted at a neutral 5/10 until established.
Nearby producing mine (20%)9.4/10
Meekatharra (Bluebird plant) (Westgold Resources Limited) is 30 km away -- within regional-platform range.
Acquisition Susceptibility
A relative ranking of how closely this company matches the profile of juniors that have actually been acquired — not a probability, and not a reason to buy. Acquisitions are rare: only a few dozen significant deals happen a year across a universe of thousands of juniors, so even a high score here describes a long shot. The strongest signal in the research, a producer that already owns part of the company, is scored from its disclosed strategic shareholders. A producer that is a joint-venture or earn-in partner on the project, rather than a shareholder, isn't captured yet.
How this score is built
- Disclosed pending dealSub-score: Not scored
No pending acquisition or merger disclosed (checked)
Not scored: having no deal in flight isn't held against a company.
Weight 26.25% - Producer's strategic stakeSub-score: Not scored
No producer holds a disclosed stake on file (holder register researched) See holders
Not scored: most juniors that do get bought had no prior toehold, so a missing stake says little either way.
Weight 25% - Distance to a producing mineSub-score:7/10
Nearest producing mine: Meekatharra (Bluebird plant) (Westgold Resources Limited), 30 km
10 next to a producing mine, 8 at 20 km, 5 at 50 km, 0 beyond 200 km.
Weight 22.5% · 46% here - Lifecycle stageSub-score:5.5/10
Stage: Production
Feasibility and permitting score 10, where deals cluster, and production 5.5; earlier stages score less, down to 1 at grassroots.
Weight 15% · 31% here - JurisdictionSub-score:9/10
Australia: jurisdiction score 9/10
Our jurisdiction score, used as is: higher means lower political and permitting risk.
Weight 6.75% · 14% here - CommoditySub-score:10/10
Primary commodity: Gold
Gold 10, copper 8, silver 5, nickel and uranium 4, others 2: most majors' deals are for gold.
Weight 4.5% · 9% here
Weight is each input's share of the full score. “Here” is its share of this company's score: inputs that aren't scored are left out and the rest re-weighted, never counted as zero.
Your Rankings
Management Team
Chief Executive Officer of New Murchison Gold Limited. Geologist by training (BSc Hons Geology, UWA), with prior finance-industry roles including Head of Research at Patersons Securities and Executive Director at Commonwealth Bank of Australia. Former Managing Director of Rox Resources and Draig Resources (now Bellevue Gold).
Chief Financial Officer and Company Secretary of New Murchison Gold Limited. 25 years' resources-sector experience; former CFO/Company Secretary of Dacian Gold and Nusantara Resources, and CFO of Karora Resources through its merger with Westgold Resources.
General Manager of Operations at New Murchison Gold Limited. Mining engineer with senior site roles at Red 5, Westgold Resources and Newcrest, most recently Mining Manager at Darlot Gold Mine.
Insiders, Investors & Smart Money
Notable shareholders and insiders whose involvement is worth knowing about, plus what we're seeing from institutional/large-investor activity.
Franklin Gold and Precious Metals Fund, a real specialist, holds a small stake. The Chairman and a director both bought stock on the open market in late January 2026, but both then sold considerably more stock days later -- an unclean pattern that limits the score.
No notable insiders tracked for this miner yet.
Reports, Presentations & Documents
New Murchison Gold, renamed from Ora Gold in November 2024, holds 677 km² in Western Australia's Abbotts Greenstone Belt and produces gold from the Crown Prince open pit at its Garden Gully project near Meekatharra, selling the ore to the Big Bell Gold Operations. After a final investment decision in June 2025, it had delivered 58,183 oz cumulatively by the June 2026 quarter, when it produced 156,367 t of ore at 3.2 g/t containing 15,455 oz and began mining at the Cloudkicker pit. Its resource as at 1 April 2026 is 258,200 oz of gold in measured and indicated resources (41,300 oz measured, 216,900 oz indicated) plus 101,100 oz inferred, part of a total of 359,000 oz that rose 47% in that update. The company is also advancing the Lydia pit and a Crown Prince underground study.
Garden Gully Gold Project Mineral Resource Statement (May 2026, effective ~1 Apr 2026, announced on ASX 25 Jun 2026): 4.42 Mt @ 2.5 g/t for 359,300 oz gold, a 47% increase over the Nov 2024 estimate including reconciled production. Crown Prince (228.4koz) is the company's currently producing open pit/underground operation; Cloudkicker (31.3koz) and Lydia (55.1koz, maiden) are newer additions. 71% Measured+Indicated.