JUNIORMETRICS
Gold$4,479.95/oz
Silver$66.98/oz
Copper$6.00/lb

Newmont Corporation

NEM·$130.43·$118.1B cap
Goldalso:Boddington Gold-Copper Mine, Western Australia Map

Newmont Corporation is the world's largest gold mining company by production and reserves, formed by the 2019 merger with Goldcorp and the 2023 acquisition of Newcrest Mining. Headquartered in Denver, Colorado, Newmont operates 12 managed mines and 2 joint ventures across the Americas, Australia and Africa after completing a $4.5B divestiture of smaller, higher-cost assets (including Akyem and Musselwhite) in early 2026 to concentrate on its highest-margin operations. This record covers 4 of Newmont's largest operations -- Boddington (Australia, gold-copper), Tanami (Australia), Cadia (Australia, gold-copper) and Peñasquito (Mexico) -- via Task #347's Project model; the full portfolio also includes Ahafo North/South (Ghana), Ahafo (Ghana), Merian (Suriname), Cerro Negro (Argentina), Yanacocha (Peru), and Canadian operations (Musselwhite/Porcupine were divested, but Newmont retains other Canadian interests), not itemized here. President and CEO Natascha Viljoen leads the company; CFO is Brian Tabolt. 2025 year-end gold Mineral Reserves were 118.2 million attributable ounces (down from 134.1 Moz in 2024, 8.6 Moz of the decline from the 2026 divestiture program), alongside 12.5 million tonnes of copper reserves.

Notable vs. Peers

  • All-in sustaining cost of $1,621/oz is 17% lower than the peer producer average of $1,960/oz.
  • Trading within 7% of its 52-week high — strong recent price momentum.

Lifecycle Milestones

Grassroots
Resource Def.
PEA
PFS
Feasibility
Permitting
Construction
ProductionCurrent

Construction Milestones

5 of 5 reached
  1. Reached — date not disclosed · Newmont operates 12 managed mines across multiple jurisdictions, each permitted separately over decades; no single company-wide permit date exists. Row presence documents that Newmont's currently-producing mines are, by definition, permitted -- see technicalReportNote/description for the multi-mine structure this single milestone table cannot fully capture. · Source
  2. Reached — date not disclosed · Same multi-mine caveat as PERMIT_GRANTED above -- no single construction-decision date represents a 12-mine portfolio built up over a century plus the 2019 Goldcorp and 2023 Newcrest combinations. · Source
  3. Jan 2022 · Anchored to Ahafo North (Ghana), Newmont's most recent major build, which entered construction in 2022 ahead of its 2025 ramp-up -- the best-documented recent construction event in the current portfolio, not a company-wide date. · Source
  4. Jan 2025 · Ahafo North achieved first production in 2025 and was in continued ramp-up per Newmont's 2026 guidance -- confirms current production status for at least one mine; the company overall has been in continuous production since long before this date. · Source
  5. Reached — date not disclosed · Genuinely reached, but no single company-wide commercial-production date exists across a multi-decade, multi-mine global portfolio (Boddington, Cadia, Lihir, Yanacocha, Tanami, Penasquito, Ahafo, Akyem, Cerro Negro, Merian, etc.) assembled organically and via mergers (Goldcorp 2019, Newcrest 2023) -- each asset reached commercial production independently. Newmont reported Q2 2026 attributable gold production of approximately 1.3 million ounces, confirming ongoing commercial gold production; it is the world's largest gold producer by output and the only gold miner in the S&P 500. This row was missing entirely prior to 2026-08-21 -- a genuine data gap (row presence is the signal per this model's doc comment), not a stage error; Miner.stage was already correctly PRODUCTION. Same pattern as AEM and the other five gap tickers fixed in this same batch (ABX, AGI, EQX, BTG, AAUC). · Source

Milestones are recorded only from a company's own dated disclosure. A milestone with no date shown is one we can confirm was reached but for which no date was disclosed — we don't estimate one. "Not yet reached" means exactly that, not that a date is missing. An "Expected" line likewise only ever reflects the company's own guidance (e.g. a study or permit decision targeted for a stated quarter) — most not-yet-reached milestones have none, and that absence means no such guidance has been disclosed, not that one is overdue.

Combined view across 4 projects. Figures below are only combined where the underlying basis genuinely matches -- see the notes under each.

Combined resource
No project has a disclosed resource figure yet
IRR
Not combined
IRR is not additive across independent projects -- see each project's own tab for its figure
Combined NPV, by discount-rate basis
$2.9B
At rate not disclosed discount rate -- Boddington + Cadia
$1.1B
At 8% discount rate -- Peñasquito

Shown as separate totals, not summed together: these projects' studies used different discount rates, so a single combined NPV would not be a real number.

10/10
Weak track recordStrong track record
6.1/10
Thin runwayWell-capitalized
9/10
High riskLow risk
How this is calculated
6.5/10
Weaker depositStronger deposit
7.9/10
Weaker profileStronger profile
Price Chart
$68.93$87.09$127.47$108.33$130.43AugNovFebJunSep2834328532
Aug 12, 2025Sep 4, 2026
News
$130.43
+96.4%from low-3.5%from high
$66.40$135.14
See who ↓
0.3%
Low alignmentHigh alignment
See who ↓
82.1%
Low alignmentHigh alignment
$118.1B
Far belowFar above
$557.1M median
Price (USD - Local)
$130.43
Cash Position (USD)
$9B
Far belowFar above
$90.6M median
Debt (USD)
$5.6B
Far aboveFar below
$5.7M median
$114.7B
Far belowFar above
$486M median
1.1B
Far aboveFar below
303M median
Jurisdiction
United States
118,200,000 oz
Far belowFar above
1.3M median
$970.05/oz
Far aboveFar below
$157.18/oz median
0.0274 oz/t
Far belowFar above
0.04 oz/t median
Open pit and underground
See projects ↓
This company's data hasn't been researched yet
$1,621/oz
See projects ↓
This company's data hasn't been researched yet
See projects ↓
Not enough peer data yet
This company's data hasn't been researched yet
Not enough peer data yet
See projects ↓
This company's data hasn't been researched yet
0.3%
0%100%
19.3% median
82.1%
0%100%
3% median
532 kmfrom Gold Fields Limited's St Ives
Outside typical bolt-on range
$2.2B
Far belowFar above
$36.1M median
$2.10
Far belowFar above
$0.146 median
53.67x
Far aboveFar below
22.53x median
$9.2B
Far belowFar above
$455.1M median
$8.77
Far belowFar above
$2.02 median
Acquisition Susceptibility
3.9/10
Unlikely bolt-onFits the takeout profile

A relative ranking of how closely this company matches the profile of juniors that have actually been acquired — not a probability, and not a reason to buy. Acquisitions are rare: only a few dozen significant deals happen a year across a universe of thousands of juniors, so even a high score here describes a long shot. The strongest signal the underlying research identifies — whether a major already holds a JV, earn-in, or 5–19.9% strategic stake — isn't tracked yet and is absent from this score.

Overall Score Trend
+1.3% since 2026-08-08 · -6% from peak

Your Rankings

Community Sentiment
SELLINGBUYING
CategoryCommunityYour Ranking
Overall (0)Log in to rank
Management (0)Log in to rank
Financials (0)Log in to rank
Jurisdiction (0)Log in to rank
Project Quality (0)Log in to rank

Management Team

President and Chief Executive Officer of Newmont Corporation since Jan 2026 (previously EVP & COO from Oct 2023). Before Newmont, CEO of Anglo American Platinum (Amplats, now Valterra Platinum) from Apr 2020 to Oct 2023; before that, EVP Processing at Lonmin (2008-2014) and earlier leadership roles at BHP (General Manager, Klipspruit Colliery) and Anglo American.

Chief Financial Officer of Newmont Corporation, effective 1 Jul 2026 (previously interim CFO from Nov 2022, and VP/Controller & Chief Accounting Officer since joining Newmont in 2021). Before Newmont, Vice President, Global Controller and Chief Accounting Officer of Molson Coors Beverage Company (2014-2021); began his career in public accounting at Deloitte.

Managing Director of Regener8 Resources NL, focused on the company's Srebrenica North silver-copper-antimony-zinc-lead polymetallic project in Bosnia and Herzegovina.

Insiders, Investors & Smart Money

Notable shareholders and insiders whose involvement is worth knowing about, plus what we're seeing from institutional/large-investor activity.

Smart money

Task #172 gate batch: smartMoneyScore rubric (playbook §7.6) applied 2026-08-15 -- GATED: marketCapUsd $118.07B >= $5.0B applicability threshold. At this size, index membership (GDX, S&P/TSX 60, Russell 1000) mechanically dominates the shareholder register, so absence of a visible specialist bet carries no information. RESEARCHED_UNKNOWN per playbook §6.4/§7.6.

No notable insiders tracked for this miner yet.

Reports, Presentations & Documents

Technical Report Takeaways

We haven't parsed this company's PEA/PFS/FS recommendations yet — cut-off grade, mine life, DCF/NPV, and the report's own next-steps guidance are a planned research pass, not live data for every company yet.

Recent News