Mako Mining Corp.
Mako Mining operates the 100%-owned, high-grade San Albino open-pit gold mine in Nueva Segovia, Nicaragua -- among the highest-grade producing open-pit gold mines globally -- reporting record Q2 2026 production of 14,610 ounces sold, revenues of roughly US$63 million, and a cash and securities balance of US$112 million, while also advancing the Eagle Mountain gold project in California.
Notable vs. Peers
- Jurisdiction risk score of 5/10 is meaningfully riskier than the peer average of 7.8/10.
- Financials score of 8.5/10 is stronger than the peer average of 6.4/10.
Lifecycle Milestones
Construction Milestones
5 of 5 reached- Sep 2017 · Permit to construct and operate San Albino (up to 500 tpd) received from Nicaraguan authorities (MARENA environmental permit), 2017-09-12. SOURCE CORRECTED (Task #662, 2026-08-25): the previously-cited im-mining.com URL was found on independent re-fetch to be about an unrelated project -- Toro Gold's own "Mako" gold project in Senegal (Petowal Mining Co SARL's 15-year Mining Concession, granted by the Government of Senegal, July 2016) -- not Mako Mining Corp's San Albino in Nicaragua. A name collision ("Mako" the Senegal project vs. "Mako Mining Corp" the Nicaragua company), same shape as this project's known SKY/SYH ticker-collision bug but by company name rather than ticker. The achievedDate (2017-09-12) itself is independently CONFIRMED CORRECT via two sources that explicitly name San Albino/Nueva Segovia/Mako Mining Corp: (1) Mako Mining's own press release, 24 Aug 2020 (Cision/newswire.ca), stating MARENA "amended the environmental permit granted to the Company in 2017 (see press release dated September 12, 2017)" when raising throughput from 500 tpd to 1,000 tpd -- https://www.newswire.ca/news-releases/mako-mining-receives-permit-amendment-to-process-up-to-1-000-tonnes-per-day-838648755.html; (2) the NI 43-101 Technical Report for San Albino (Mine Development Associates, 25 Nov 2020), Sec. 4.4, verbatim: "the Environmental Permit was issued on September 12, 2017 following the public consultation meeting" (sourceUrl below). The original Sept 2017 press release (would have been issued under Golden Reign Resources Ltd., San Albino's pre-2018-merger owner -- "Mako Mining Corp" did not exist under that name until the 2018 Golden Reign/Marlin Gold merger) could not be located or is not indexed anywhere reachable (no Wayback snapshot, no newswire/TheNewswire copy found across 8 search queries). Milestone and achievedDate unchanged; only sourceUrl and this note are corrected. · Source
- Reached — date not disclosed · Mako's decision to develop San Albino, end of July 2019 -- stated by the company itself, verbatim, in its MD&A for the year ended 31 December 2020 (and repeated in its Q1 2021 MD&A): 'At the end of July 2019, the Company made the decision to develop the San Albino project. Beginning in August 2019, development expenditures are capitalized as part of mineral properties, plant and equipment and resulted in a decrease in exploration and evaluation ("E&E") expenses.' This is a real, company-asserted development decision, made under the Mako name after the 2018-11-13 Golden Reign / Marlin Gold merger -- not under a predecessor. Month precision only ('end of July'), so achievedDate stays null per the Task #610 convention. FORM CAVEAT, disclosed: this was disclosed as a CAPITALIZATION TRIGGER in an MD&A, not announced as a board FID in a press release -- which is why three prior passes hunting for a discrete FID release correctly came up empty. It is corroborated by the financing that funded it: the rights offering announced 2019-06-10, whose stated use of proceeds was to advance San Albino 'including commencement of construction', completed ~2019-07-23 at ~US$27m and described as funding 'the majority of construction capital'. SUBSTANCE CAVEAT, also disclosed: NO feasibility study underpins this decision, and Mako said so repeatedly and explicitly -- e.g. its 2019-11-25 release: 'the Company's production decision at its San Albino project is not based on a technical study supporting mineral reserves'. The only economic study on the property is a PEA announced 2015-03-16 under Golden Reign. A reader should weigh the decision accordingly; it is genuine but it is not a bankable-feasibility FID. · Source
- Reached — date not disclosed · Plant construction was underway through 2019 (mill-platform earthworks complete by Nov 2019); no single release with one specific 'construction start' day was found -- recorded reached-but-undated rather than inventing one. No discrete CONSTRUCTION_DECISION/FID release was found either (this is a small-capex, incrementally-funded restart) -- that milestone is left unwritten pending further sourcing rather than forced onto this or the permit date. · Source
- May 2021 · San Albino's 500 tpd gravity/CIL plant began operating and the pre-commercial-production period started (ran to June 30, 2021, recovering 6,300 oz). · Source
- Jul 2021 · Commercial production declared effective July 1, 2021, following the May 12-June 30, 2021 pre-commercial period. · Source
Milestones are recorded only from a company's own dated disclosure. A milestone with no date shown is one we can confirm was reached but for which no date was disclosed — we don't estimate one. "Not yet reached" means exactly that, not that a date is missing. An "Expected" line likewise only ever reflects the company's own guidance (e.g. a study or permit decision targeted for a stated quarter) — most not-yet-reached milestones have none, and that absence means no such guidance has been disclosed, not that one is overdue.
Combined view across 2 projects. Figures below are only combined where the underlying basis genuinely matches -- see the notes under each.
A relative ranking of how closely this company matches the profile of juniors that have actually been acquired — not a probability, and not a reason to buy. Acquisitions are rare: only a few dozen significant deals happen a year across a universe of thousands of juniors, so even a high score here describes a long shot. The strongest signal the underlying research identifies — whether a major already holds a JV, earn-in, or 5–19.9% strategic stake — isn't tracked yet and is absent from this score.
Your Rankings
Management Team
Chief Executive Officer and Director of Mako Mining Corp. Former Executive Chairman and Interim CEO of Marlin Gold Mining Ltd. (the direct corporate predecessor of both Mako Mining, via Golden Reign Resources' 2018 acquisition of Marlin's mining/development assets, and Sailfish Royalty Corp., already tracked in this DB as FISH, where he also currently serves as Executive Chairman -- a real, disclosed concurrent role, not separately scored -- so this tenure is not scored as an external prior company for either reason). Career: Consultant, Wexford Capital LP (2012-2013, precious metals portfolios); Senior Analyst, Red Kite Capital Management (2010-2012, Mine Finance funds); Associate, Standard Bank (to 2010, Structured Commodity Products and Mine Finance). MBA, New York University; BS Chemical Engineering, Carnegie Mellon University.
Founding Managing Director of FireFly Metals Ltd. (ASX: FFM), and concurrently President of Mako Mining Corp. -- both confirmed current, real, distinct seats for the same individual, not a duplicate. Previously founding Managing Director of ASX200-listed Bellevue Gold Limited, leading its 3-million-ounce Bellevue gold mine in Western Australia from discovery through construction (through 2023), and founding Managing Director of Gryphon Minerals Ltd., which discovered a multi-million-ounce gold project in Burkina Faso and grew to ASX200 status before its takeover by a North American gold major. Earlier career includes Senior Vice President, Investor Relations and Corporate Communications at Yamana Gold Inc., CEO of Goldsource Mines Inc., and Senior Equity Analyst (precious metals) at National Bank Financial / Wellington West Capital Markets. Holds an honours degree in Geology and is a member of the Australasian Institute of Mining and Metallurgy. (Task #526 merge; sourced from FireFly Metals' own team page and The Hole Truth mining podcast.)
Chief Financial Officer and Corporate Secretary of Mako Mining Corp. Over 25 years of senior-level mining industry finance experience across Argentina, Colombia and Central America, with IFRS reporting and treasury expertise. CPA, University of Buenos Aires.
Chief Operating Officer of Mako Mining Corp. Over 35 years in domestic and international mining, spanning surface and underground mine construction, processing operations and Latin American property negotiations.
Vice President, Corporate Development, at Mako Mining Corp. More than 12 years of combined banking, financial control/budgeting and business development experience in mining. Career: Corporate Head of Cost & Budget then Financial Planning & Management Control, Minsur SA (2017-2021, real major stable Peruvian miner); earlier roles at Sierra Metals Inc., Volcan Compania Minera SAA, Banco de Credito del Peru and Inteligo. MBA, HEC Paris.
VP of Exploration at Mako Mining Corp. Over 39 years of global exploration experience, having led teams on major projects including Las Cristinas and San Albino. BS Geological Engineering, Colorado School of Mines.
Insiders, Investors & Smart Money
Notable shareholders and insiders whose involvement is worth knowing about, plus what we're seeing from institutional/large-investor activity.
Wexford Capital has been Mako's largest shareholder since 2018 and now holds roughly 48% of the company. In October 2025 it exercised a contractual right to participate in a financing and put a further C$15 million of cash in at C$8.00 a share, spread across four of its funds including its dedicated energy and natural resources vehicle. Wexford is a Greenwich manager with a real track record in mining rather than a passive index holder, so that is a considered position rather than an allocation. Pulling the other way, five different directors and officers sold about 411,000 shares in a tight cluster in late January 2026 after the stock had run from C$8 to C$10.50, and none of them bought.
No notable insiders tracked for this miner yet.
Reports, Presentations & Documents
Mako Mining operates two distinct mines with separate economics: San Albino (Nicaragua) and Moss (Arizona, acquired via Aftermath Silver / prior transaction). San Albino: the only economics found is a stale 2015 PEA (NPV5%=US$173.9M, IRR=54.2%, 16-yr life), since superseded by a resource downgrade (contained gold cut ~71%, 940,700 -> 272,000 oz) -- no current standalone technical report located. Moss: declared its first-ever Proven & Probable Mineral Reserves in 2026 (597,744 oz Au P&P) with reported post-tax NPV5% = US$254M and a 15-year mine life at $3,500/oz Au / $50/oz Ag assumptions (via AccessNewswire/Globe and Mail syndication) -- these figures are consistently reported but a specific primary release URL/date and an IRR figure could not be confirmed this pass, so they were NOT entered into the structured dcfNpvUsd/mineLifeYears/irrPct fields (which are single-project). The existing ouncesFound=250,200 and AISC/FCF figures on file are combined-production figures and may not reconcile cleanly against Moss's new 597,744 oz P&P reserve -- flagged for a dedicated follow-up pass to reconcile San Albino vs. Moss ounces with a confirmed primary citation before writing economics.
Mako Mining's updated San Albino (Nicaragua) mineral resource: Measured+Indicated 250,200 oz Au at 11.61 g/t diluted grade (670,100 t), Inferred 129,900 oz Au at 10.54 g/t diluted grade -- excluded from the cited figure.