Meeka Metals Limited
Meeka Metals holds 100%-owned projects across Western Australia, with its flagship being the Murchison Gold Project. The company poured first gold at Murchison on 1 July 2025 and is now ramping up combined open-pit and underground mining.
Notable vs. Peers
- Trading within 2% of its 52-week low — weak recent price momentum.
Lifecycle Milestones
Construction Milestones
5 of 5 reached- Reached — date not disclosed · Source
- Reached — date not disclosed · Source
- Reached — date not disclosed · Source
- Jul 2025 · Source
- Reached — date not disclosed · Source
Milestones are recorded only from a company's own dated disclosure. A milestone with no date shown is one we can confirm was reached but for which no date was disclosed — we don't estimate one. "Not yet reached" means exactly that, not that a date is missing. An "Expected" line likewise only ever reflects the company's own guidance (e.g. a study or permit decision targeted for a stated quarter) — most not-yet-reached milestones have none, and that absence means no such guidance has been disclosed, not that one is overdue.
Not in place: grid power.
Combined view across 2 projects. Figures below are only combined where the underlying basis genuinely matches -- see the notes under each.
- 110%Murchison Gold Project, Western Australia
- 10 yrsMurchison Gold Project, Western Australia
Jurisdiction (40%)9/10
Western Australia: Fraser PPI 2025 is 88.53 of 100 (rank 13 of 68), which maps to 9 on this site's scale. Operates entirely in Western Australia, a stable and well-established mining jurisdiction similar in risk profile to Canada.
Infrastructure (40%)7.1/10
A confirmed mill, confirmed road access, no confirmed grid power, and a confirmed tailings facility at Murchison Gold Project, Western Australia.
Nearby producing mine (20%)Not yet researched
No producing mine within 50 km in our reference list (nearest listed: Meekatharra (Bluebird plant) (Westgold Resources Limited), 59 km). That list doesn't cover every mining district yet, so a longer distance isn't scored as remote.
Acquisition Susceptibility
A relative ranking of how closely this company matches the profile of juniors that have actually been acquired — not a probability, and not a reason to buy. Acquisitions are rare: only a few dozen significant deals happen a year across a universe of thousands of juniors, so even a high score here describes a long shot. The strongest signal in the research, a producer that already owns part of the company, is scored from its disclosed strategic shareholders. A producer that is a joint-venture or earn-in partner on the project, rather than a shareholder, isn't captured yet.
How this score is built
- Disclosed pending dealSub-score: Not scored
No pending acquisition or merger disclosed (checked)
Not scored: having no deal in flight isn't held against a company.
Weight 26.25% - Producer's strategic stakeSub-score: Not scored
No producer holds a disclosed stake on file (holder register researched) See holders
Not scored: most juniors that do get bought had no prior toehold, so a missing stake says little either way.
Weight 25% - Distance to a producing mineSub-score:4.7/10
Nearest producing mine: Meekatharra (Bluebird plant) (Westgold Resources Limited), 59 km
10 next to a producing mine, 8 at 20 km, 5 at 50 km, 0 beyond 200 km.
Weight 22.5% · 46% here - Lifecycle stageSub-score:5.5/10
Stage: Production
Feasibility and permitting score 10, where deals cluster, and production 5.5; earlier stages score less, down to 1 at grassroots.
Weight 15% · 31% here - JurisdictionSub-score:9/10
Australia: jurisdiction score 9/10
Our jurisdiction score, used as is: higher means lower political and permitting risk.
Weight 6.75% · 14% here - CommoditySub-score:10/10
Primary commodity: Gold
Gold 10, copper 8, silver 5, nickel and uranium 4, others 2: most majors' deals are for gold.
Weight 4.5% · 9% here
Weight is each input's share of the full score. “Here” is its share of this company's score: inputs that aren't scored are left out and the rest re-weighted, never counted as zero.
Your Rankings
Management Team
Qualified mining engineer with extensive Australian and international resource-industry experience; has led Meeka Metals since May 2022 and was instrumental in acquiring the 1.1Moz Murchison Gold Project.
Non-Executive Chairman of American West Metals Limited (ASX: AW1, a director from 9 Nov 2022 and Chairman from 1 Feb 2023), and Non-Executive Director of Perseus Mining Limited (Chair of its Technical and Nomination Committees) and of Meeka Metals Limited. Mining geologist and engineer with more than 40 years of global resources experience across exploration, development and operations, having built multiple mines and managed all facets of project development from resource definition through feasibility, financing, construction and offtake negotiation. Spent 18 years working in Africa with BHP Billiton, Impala Platinum, Anglo American and Genmin; joined Western Areas Ltd in 2006, progressing from General Manager Operations to Managing Director/CEO (2012-2022) and leading the company through IGO Limited's ~$1.3 billion takeover in 2022. B.Sc. (Honours) Mining Geology, University of Leicester; Graduate Diploma in Engineering (Mining) and M.Sc. in Engineering, University of the Witwatersrand; Fellow of the Australasian Institute of Mining and Metallurgy. Source: americanwestmetals.com/about/board/.
Insiders, Investors & Smart Money
Notable shareholders and insiders whose involvement is worth knowing about, plus what we're seeing from institutional/large-investor activity.
Auramet, the precious-metals merchant and financier, put A$5M of equity into Meeka's A$35M institutional placement and holds about 1.71% (50 million shares) alongside a gold-repayment facility on the Murchison project. Franklin Resources is the largest holder at about 5.32% and added 29.3 million shares in June 2025. Collins St Asset Management holds about 2.08%. No insider trading feed is available for this ASX listing.
No notable insiders tracked for this miner yet.
Reports, Presentations & Documents
Meeka Metals owns 100% of the Murchison gold project in Western Australia, covering the Andy Well, Turnberry and St Anne's deposits, where it poured first gold on 1 July 2025 and is ramping up open-pit and underground mining, and of the Mt Holland gold project in the Forrestania greenstone belt, acquired in August 2026. Its 16 September 2026 group statement has 790,000 oz of gold in measured and indicated resources (55,000 oz measured and 735,000 oz indicated) plus 695,000 oz inferred, including Murchison's 680,000 oz and Mt Holland's 110,000 oz. The December 2024 Murchison feasibility study 2.0 shows an after-tax NPV8% of US$197.6M (AUD 304M) and a 110% IRR at US$2,275/oz (AUD 3,500/oz) gold over a 10-year production plan averaging 65,000 oz a year over the first 7 years.