Lake Victoria Gold Ltd.
Lake Victoria Gold (renamed from Tembo Gold Corp in December 2023) holds 100% of two gold projects in Tanzania. At the fully permitted Imwelo Gold Project in the Geita Greenstone Belt, west of AngloGold Ashanti's Geita mine, it began Phase 1 earthworks in July 2026 and targets gold production in 2027, but it has not made a construction decision, its gold loan of up to 6,000 oz (about US$25M) with Monetary Metals has not closed, and it says the 2021 Imwelo pre-feasibility study and historical resource are not current. Its current resource is at the Tembo project next to Barrick's Bulyanhulu mine: a maiden NI 43-101 estimate, announced in August 2026, of 99,700 oz of gold Indicated plus 480,100 oz Inferred. Tanzania's statutory 16% free carried interest has not yet been put in place at either project.
Notable vs. Peers
- Financials score of 2.2/10 is weaker than the peer average of 5.3/10.
- Jurisdiction risk score of 6/10 is meaningfully riskier than the peer average of 7.8/10.
- Trading within 6% of its 52-week high — strong recent price momentum.
Lifecycle Milestones
Construction Milestones
2 of 5 reached- Reached — date not disclosed
- Not yet reached
- Reached — date not disclosed
- Not yet reached
- Not yet reached
Milestones are recorded only from a company's own dated disclosure. A milestone with no date shown is one we can confirm was reached but for which no date was disclosed — we don't estimate one. "Not yet reached" means exactly that, not that a date is missing. An "Expected" line likewise only ever reflects the company's own guidance (e.g. a study or permit decision targeted for a stated quarter) — most not-yet-reached milestones have none, and that absence means no such guidance has been disclosed, not that one is overdue.
Not in place: mill, tailings facility. Not yet determined: grid power.
Combined view across 2 projects. Figures below are only combined where the underlying basis genuinely matches -- see the notes under each.
Jurisdiction (40%)6/10
Tanzania's investment climate and government relations have improved markedly in recent years (compare to the Acacia/Barrick nationalization disputes of 2017-2020), but resource-nationalism history and evolving local-ownership requirements keep it mid-tier rather than top-tier.
Infrastructure (40%)4.3/10
No confirmed mill, confirmed road access, and no confirmed tailings facility at Imwelo Gold Project, Geita Greenstone Belt; grid power not yet researched, counted at a neutral 5/10 until established.
Nearby producing mine (20%)10/10
Geita (AngloGold Ashanti plc) is 8 km away -- within shared-mill trucking range.
Acquisition Susceptibility
A relative ranking of how closely this company matches the profile of juniors that have actually been acquired — not a probability, and not a reason to buy. Acquisitions are rare: only a few dozen significant deals happen a year across a universe of thousands of juniors, so even a high score here describes a long shot. The strongest signal in the research, a producer that already owns part of the company, is scored from its disclosed strategic shareholders. A producer that is a joint-venture or earn-in partner on the project, rather than a shareholder, isn't captured yet.
How this score is built
- Disclosed pending dealSub-score: Not scored
No pending acquisition or merger disclosed (checked)
Not scored: having no deal in flight isn't held against a company.
Weight 26.25% - Producer's strategic stakeSub-score: Not scored
No producer holds a disclosed stake on file (holder register researched) See holders
Not scored: most juniors that do get bought had no prior toehold, so a missing stake says little either way.
Weight 25% - Distance to a producing mineSub-score:9.2/10
Nearest producing mine: Geita (AngloGold Ashanti plc), 8 km
10 next to a producing mine, 8 at 20 km, 5 at 50 km, 0 beyond 200 km.
Weight 22.5% · 46% here - Lifecycle stageSub-score:3.5/10
Stage: Resource Definition
Feasibility and permitting score 10, where deals cluster, and production 5.5; earlier stages score less, down to 1 at grassroots.
Weight 15% · 31% here - JurisdictionSub-score:6/10
Tanzania: jurisdiction score 6/10
Our jurisdiction score, used as is: higher means lower political and permitting risk.
Weight 6.75% · 14% here - CommoditySub-score:10/10
Primary commodity: Gold
Gold 10, copper 8, silver 5, nickel and uranium 4, others 2: most majors' deals are for gold.
Weight 4.5% · 9% here
Weight is each input's share of the full score. “Here” is its share of this company's score: inputs that aren't scored are left out and the rest re-weighted, never counted as zero.
Your Rankings
Management Team
Chief Executive Officer and Director of Lake Victoria Gold Ltd. Economist from McGill University specializing in corporate development and financing of commodity and energy technology companies.
Executive Chairman and Chief Financial Officer of Lake Victoria Gold Ltd. Former Vice President at Merrill Lynch and Managing Director at BMO Capital Markets, focusing on commodities.
Chief Operating Officer and Director of Lake Victoria Gold Ltd. Mining engineer with 30 years' experience in mine construction and operation, responsible for feasibility studies, project management, and construction execution.
Director and Managing Director, Tanzania for Lake Victoria Gold Ltd. 40+ years' experience including with Barrick Gold (Bulyanhulu Mine) and Shanta Gold, with outstanding knowledge of Tanzanian geology and mining regulations.
Acting Chief Financial Officer, Tanzania for Lake Victoria Gold Ltd. Mining-sector finance experience spanning mine-level financial control, statutory reporting, budgeting, tax compliance, and board-level reporting; prior senior roles at Williamson Diamonds and Stamigold.
Compliance Officer at Lake Victoria Gold Ltd., supporting the company's Tanzania regulatory and compliance functions.
Exploration Manager at Lake Victoria Gold Ltd. 32 years of international exploration experience, including with Ivanhoe Mines, Endeavour Mining, and Barrick Exploration.
Insiders, Investors & Smart Money
Notable shareholders and insiders whose involvement is worth knowing about, plus what we're seeing from institutional/large-investor activity.
Two strategic corporates are on this register for real reasons. Barrick Gold put in about C$1.5 million of cash equity for roughly 6% alongside a Tembo partnership worth up to US$60 million — US$6 million paid up front, US$9 million committed to exploration and up to US$45 million in resource milestones — though that equity figure dates from April 2022 and has certainly been diluted since. More current is Taifa Group, the Tanzanian mining and civils contractor owned by Rostam Aziz, which is subscribing C$11,520,000 for 48 million shares in three stages and takes a board seat. Two discretionary managers, AIMS Asset Management at 9.5% and Concept Capital at 5.71%, sit behind them, and chairman Simon Benstead bought 703,300 shares on the open market in October 2025.
No notable insiders tracked for this miner yet.
Reports, Presentations & Documents
Lake Victoria Gold, renamed from Tembo Gold in December 2023, is preparing to build the fully permitted Imwelo gold project in Tanzania's Geita Greenstone Belt, west of AngloGold's Geita mine, where Phase 1 earthworks began in July 2026 with gold production targeted for 2027. The company has not completed a feasibility study establishing mineral reserves at Imwelo, so a production decision would not rest on one, and no formal construction decision had been announced by September 2026. Steps toward construction include a Monetary Metals gold loan of up to 6,000 oz (about US$25M, repayable in gold), the final tranche of a convertible-debenture financing, closed on 2 July 2026, and an EPCM team of City Engineering Company and Sutton Consulting International, approved by the Mining Commission on 29 June 2026. The company also holds the earlier-stage Tembo project next to Barrick's Bulyanhulu mine, where it announced a maiden mineral resource in August 2026.