Luca Mining Corp.
Luca Mining is a genuinely diversified gold-zinc-copper-silver-lead polymetallic producer at Campo Morado (Guerrero) and Tahuehueto (Durango), Mexico -- gold is called primary here but is only ~41% of revenue per a stale-dated source, so the primacy call is not unambiguous. Price (CAD $0.81) sits near a 52-week low of $0.80 despite record financials, a divergence flagged rather than reconciled. Cash of ~US$24.7 million (Jun 30 2026, down from $36.4 million in Q1); debt of ~US$1.4 million is being paid down and may be $0 by the time this is read, but is not confirmed as such.
Notable vs. Peers
- Jurisdiction risk score of 4/10 is meaningfully riskier than the peer average of 7.8/10.
- Financials score of 8.4/10 is stronger than the peer average of 6.4/10.
- All-in sustaining cost of $3,321/oz is 71% higher than the peer producer average of $1,940/oz.
Lifecycle Milestones
Construction Milestones
5 of 5 reached- Reached — date not disclosed · Telson Resources (predecessor to Luca Mining/Altaley) received permits from SEMARNAT in August 2017 for reactivation of the existing tailings disposal facility and construction of a new, larger tailings facility for the Tahuehueto Project -- real, dated evidence of construction-enabling permits for the mine this company's own PRODUCTION-stage claim rests on. Exact day within August 2017 not confirmed from available sourcing -- recorded reached-but-undated. (The project's broader Environmental Impact Authorization (MIA) from SEMARNAT is separately referenced in company materials but its original grant date could not be confirmed from available sourcing.) · Source
- Reached — date not disclosed · The company's own May 16, 2022 release states it 'elected to initiate construction to go into production at Tahuehueto prior to completing full feasibility studies' -- no single discrete board-FID date was disclosed. · Source
- Reached — date not disclosed · By May 16, 2022, construction at Tahuehueto had advanced to allow startup/commissioning of one ball mill capable of processing up to 500 tpd; exact date physical construction began (prior to this release) not disclosed. · Source
- Reached — date not disclosed · Tahuehueto began pre-production milling in May 2022 (first ball mill commissioned, first concentrate targeted within weeks) but per the company's current project page did not reach commercial production until 2025 -- a long ramp-up; exact first-production date not confirmed. Campo Morado (separate polymetallic mine) has a longer production history, resuming operations June 4, 2020 after a COVID-19 pause. · Source
- Reached — date not disclosed · Genuinely reached, but no single company-wide commercial-production date exists across a genuine two-asset portfolio with different histories: Campo Morado (Guerrero) was originally commissioned in 2009 by the unrelated Farallon Resources, sold to Nyrstar in 2010, placed on care-and-maintenance amid security concerns, then acquired and itself relaunched by Luca in October 2017; Tahuehueto (Durango) is Luca's own clean, single, well-documented new development, reaching commercial production 2025-03-31. Matches the Centerra Gold/CAML precedent (batch4/5): two separately-developed/historied assets under the same current owner, no single company-wide date. Tahuehueto's 2025-03-31 date is noted here for completeness but not used as this row's achievedDate. This row was missing entirely prior to 2026-08-21 -- a genuine data gap, not a stage error; Miner.stage was already correctly PRODUCTION. · Source
Milestones are recorded only from a company's own dated disclosure. A milestone with no date shown is one we can confirm was reached but for which no date was disclosed — we don't estimate one. "Not yet reached" means exactly that, not that a date is missing. An "Expected" line likewise only ever reflects the company's own guidance (e.g. a study or permit decision targeted for a stated quarter) — most not-yet-reached milestones have none, and that absence means no such guidance has been disclosed, not that one is overdue.
A relative ranking of how closely this company matches the profile of juniors that have actually been acquired — not a probability, and not a reason to buy. Acquisitions are rare: only a few dozen significant deals happen a year across a universe of thousands of juniors, so even a high score here describes a long shot. The strongest signal the underlying research identifies — whether a major already holds a JV, earn-in, or 5–19.9% strategic stake — isn't tracked yet and is absent from this score.
Your Rankings
Management Team
Chief Executive Officer of Luca Mining Corp., effective 15 July 2024. 20+ years in senior mining investment banking (Toronto/Vancouver); raised billions in debt/equity for junior-to-senior mining companies; advised on numerous M&A and governance mandates.
President of Luca Mining Corp. Previously served as interim CEO for four months before returning to President, working alongside Barnholden on operations at Campo Morado and commercial production at Tahuehueto.
Chief Financial Officer of Luca Mining Corp., effective 2 January 2024. CPA, CA; 30+ years in finance, securities and accounting.
Chief Operating Officer of Luca Mining Corp., effective 1 April 2026. 30+ years operational/project leadership in underground mining, Mexico/Latin America focus; most recently CEO of COMINVI S.A. (Mexico's largest underground mining contractor, since 2023); earlier VP Operations & Country Manager Mexico, Endeavour Silver.
VP Exploration at Luca Mining Corp. [Name/title confirmed on the company's own IR page; full biography renders via JS elements not captured by static fetch this session -- flagged for follow-up direct verification.]
VP Finance at Luca Mining Corp. [Name/title confirmed on the company's own IR page; full biography renders via JS elements not captured by static fetch this session -- flagged for follow-up direct verification.]
VP Corporate Development at Luca Mining Corp. [Name/title confirmed on the company's own IR page; full biography renders via JS elements not captured by static fetch this session -- flagged for follow-up direct verification.]
Director of Investor Relations at Luca Mining Corp. [Name/title confirmed on the company's own IR page; full biography renders via JS elements not captured by static fetch this session -- flagged for follow-up direct verification.]
Insiders, Investors & Smart Money
Notable shareholders and insiders whose involvement is worth knowing about, plus what we're seeing from institutional/large-investor activity.
Calu Opportunity Fund LP (formerly Sail Natural Resources LP), a self-described resource-focused private investment vehicle, has been a large Luca shareholder since building to over 17% by late 2024, though it has since been trimming that position. Separately, a company insider bought shares on the open market in June 2026.
No notable insiders tracked for this miner yet.
Reports, Presentations & Documents
Combined gold-only Measured+Indicated across Luca's two producing polymetallic mines: Campo Morado (Guerrero) 425,000 oz Au M&I (16.6 Mt at 1.70 g/t Au, also 4.01% Zn / 0.80% Cu / 0.93% Pb / 123 g/t Ag -- VMS-style, Titley Consulting estimate, Nov 2017, underpinning the Mar 2018 PEA) + Tahuehueto (Durango) 425,000 oz Au M&I (6.26 Mt at 2.11 g/t Au, also 9,454,000 oz Ag plus Cu/Pb/Zn credits -- epithermal vein, Apr 2022 PFS technical report). Both figures are real disclosed gold ounces (not AuEq conversions), consistent with this GOLD-tagged company's own description of gold as the 'primary' commodity across a genuinely polymetallic production base. A newer NI 43-101 Technical Report covering a Campo Morado Expansion (CME) life-of-mine plan and Reserve statement is expected H2 2026 (not yet filed as of this pass) and will likely supersede the 2017 Campo Morado figure.