Lotus Resources Limited
Lotus Resources' 85%-owned Kayelekera restart project in Malawi achieved first production in Q3 2025 on time and budget, targeting steady-state output of 2.4Mlb U3O8 pa from Q1 2026 (10-year mine life, AISC ~US$45/lb); the company also holds the Letlhakane project in Botswana. Mid a ~A$95 million capital raise (a A$60M accelerated entitlement offer, one new share per existing share, closing 13 Aug 2026) as of this writing -- the share count here is the pre-raise count and does not yet reflect that pending dilution. Cash of A$56.16 million and debt of A$4.38 million.
Notable vs. Peers
- Financials score of 10/10 is stronger than the peer average of 5.2/10.
- Jurisdiction risk score of 4/10 is meaningfully riskier than the peer average of 7.9/10.
- Trading within 0% of its 52-week low — weak recent price momentum.
Lifecycle Milestones
Construction Milestones
4 of 5 reached- Sep 2021 · Source
- Reached — date not disclosed · Source
- Reached — date not disclosed · Source
- Aug 2025 · Source
- Not yet reached
Milestones are recorded only from a company's own dated disclosure. A milestone with no date shown is one we can confirm was reached but for which no date was disclosed — we don't estimate one. "Not yet reached" means exactly that, not that a date is missing. An "Expected" line likewise only ever reflects the company's own guidance (e.g. a study or permit decision targeted for a stated quarter) — most not-yet-reached milestones have none, and that absence means no such guidance has been disclosed, not that one is overdue.
Not in place: grid power.
Combined view across 2 projects. Figures below are only combined where the underlying basis genuinely matches -- see the notes under each.
- 66%Kayelekera Uranium Project, Malawi
- 10 yrsKayelekera Uranium Project, Malawi
Jurisdiction (40%)4/10
Malawi is a less-established mining jurisdiction with real infrastructure and power-supply constraints, though Kayelekera's successful 2025 restart (on time, on budget) demonstrates real execution capability in-country.
Infrastructure (40%)7.1/10
A confirmed mill, confirmed road access, no confirmed grid power, and a confirmed tailings facility at Kayelekera Uranium Project, Malawi.
Nearby producing mine (20%)Not yet researched
No producing mine within 50 km in our reference list (nearest listed: New Luika (Shanta Gold Limited), 148 km). That list doesn't cover every mining district yet, so a longer distance isn't scored as remote.
Acquisition Susceptibility
A relative ranking of how closely this company matches the profile of juniors that have actually been acquired — not a probability, and not a reason to buy. Acquisitions are rare: only a few dozen significant deals happen a year across a universe of thousands of juniors, so even a high score here describes a long shot. The strongest signal in the research, a producer that already owns part of the company, is scored from its disclosed strategic shareholders. A producer that is a joint-venture or earn-in partner on the project, rather than a shareholder, isn't captured yet.
How this score is built
- Disclosed pending dealSub-score: Not scored
No pending acquisition or merger disclosed (checked)
Not scored: having no deal in flight isn't held against a company.
Weight 26.25% - Producer's strategic stakeSub-score: Not scored
No producer holds a disclosed stake on file (holder register researched) See holders
Not scored: most juniors that do get bought had no prior toehold, so a missing stake says little either way.
Weight 25% - Distance to a producing mineSub-score:1.7/10
Nearest producing mine: New Luika (Shanta Gold Limited), 148 km
10 next to a producing mine, 8 at 20 km, 5 at 50 km, 0 beyond 200 km.
Weight 22.5% · 46% here - Lifecycle stageSub-score:7/10
Stage: Construction
Feasibility and permitting score 10, where deals cluster, and production 5.5; earlier stages score less, down to 1 at grassroots.
Weight 15% · 31% here - JurisdictionSub-score:4/10
Malawi: jurisdiction score 4/10
Our jurisdiction score, used as is: higher means lower political and permitting risk.
Weight 6.75% · 14% here - CommoditySub-score:4/10
Primary commodity: Uranium
Gold 10, copper 8, silver 5, nickel and uranium 4, others 2: most majors' deals are for gold.
Weight 4.5% · 9% here
Weight is each input's share of the full score. “Here” is its share of this company's score: inputs that aren't scored are left out and the rest re-weighted, never counted as zero.
Your Rankings
Management Team
Managing Director of Lotus Resources Limited, appointed Chief Executive Officer on 9 August 2024 and Managing Director on 12 December 2024. Accomplished capital markets, finance and resource industry executive with 25 years of experience, bringing extensive experience from positions across investment banking, metals and mining and energy companies in relation to funding, exploration, M&A, project evaluation and project development studies. Has extensive experience in public and private markets mergers and acquisitions, capital markets and strategic advisory assignments across general industrials, metals and mining, mining services and energy, having worked for Bankers Trust, Baring Brothers Burrows and Morgan Stanley. Also a Non-Executive Director of Horizon Oil Limited. Economics (BEc) and Law (LLB) degrees, University of Sydney; Masters in Finance, London Business School.
Chief Commercial Officer and Company Secretary of Lotus Resources Limited, appointed on 2 October 2024. Has extensive managerial, commercial, corporate and business development and legal experience across the mining industry, working across Chief Financial Officer, General Counsel, Business and Corporate Development, Commercial and Company Secretary roles. Bachelor of Law and Commerce; Master of Business Administration.
Interim Chief Operating Officer of Lotus Resources Limited (ASX: LOT), the uranium producer that owns an 85% interest in the Kayelekera Uranium Project in Malawi and a 100% interest in the Letlhakane Uranium Project in Botswana.
Chief Financial Officer of Lotus Resources Limited (ASX: LOT), appointed effective 28 July 2025.
Senior Manager, Corporate Development and Analysis of Lotus Resources Limited (ASX: LOT), the uranium producer developing the Kayelekera Uranium Project in Malawi and the Letlhakane Uranium Project in Botswana.
General Manager, Kayelekera for Lotus Resources Limited (ASX: LOT), with responsibility for the company's 85%-owned Kayelekera Uranium Project in Malawi.
Commissioning and Metallurgy lead at Lotus Resources Limited (ASX: LOT) for the restart of the Kayelekera Uranium Project in Malawi.
Processing Manager and alternate General Manager, Kayelekera for Lotus Resources Limited (ASX: LOT), covering processing operations at the company's Kayelekera Uranium Project in Malawi.
Mining Manager of Lotus Resources Limited (ASX: LOT), the uranium producer operating the Kayelekera Uranium Project in Malawi.
Sales and Marketing Executive of Lotus Resources Limited (ASX: LOT).
Insiders, Investors & Smart Money
Notable shareholders and insiders whose involvement is worth knowing about, plus what we're seeing from institutional/large-investor activity.
Sprott Asset Management, one of the best-known names in resource-sector investing, owns about 9.3% of Lotus Resources. First Sentier Group Limited (the Mitsubishi UFJ-owned diversified global asset manager, formerly Colonial First State Global Asset Management) separately discloses a real 7.08% stake -- a sizeable position, but from a broad, generalist multi-asset manager rather than a resource specialist. Institutional investors overall hold roughly a quarter of the company, which is enough to add real corroboration on top of Sprott's position. A separate State Street stake is index-related rather than a specialist bet and is not counted as such.
No notable insiders tracked for this miner yet.
Reports, Presentations & Documents
Lotus Resources holds 85% of the Kayelekera uranium mine in Malawi, which it restarted in August 2025, 100% of the Letlhakane uranium project in Botswana and 85% of the Livingstonia project in Malawi. Attributable measured and indicated resources contain 87,400,000 lb of U3O8 (3,145,000 lb measured and 84,255,000 lb indicated), plus 68,545,000 lb inferred, with Kayelekera at 36,000,000 lb on a 100% basis as at 30 June 2026 and Letlhakane at 56,800,000 lb indicated. Kayelekera's October 2024 accelerated restart plan shows an after-tax NPV8% of US$301M and a 66% IRR at US$90/lb over a 10-year mine life, with US$49.7M of restart capital. The mine had produced 332,100 lb of U3O8 by the June 2026 quarter, paused processing in mid-June 2026 because of acid-plant and reagent-supply problems and resumed in August 2026 after refractory repairs, with a first export shipment guided for around September 2026.