Lion One Metals Limited
Lion One Metals owns and operates the fully permitted, high-grade underground Tuvatu gold mine on Fiji's main island of Viti Levu, reporting quarterly gold production and revenue growth through 2026 while continuing near-mine and regional exploration across its broader Viti Levu land package.
Notable vs. Peers
- Financials score of 1/10 is weaker than the peer average of 6.5/10.
- Jurisdiction risk score of 6/10 is meaningfully riskier than the peer average of 7.8/10.
Lifecycle Milestones
Construction Milestones
5 of 5 reached- Reached — date not disclosed · Fiji's Minister of Lands and Mineral Resources granted Special Mining Lease SML 62 for Tuvatu in March 2015 (exact day not confirmed); the lease was later extended in August 2022 to Feb 28, 2035. · Source
- Reached — date not disclosed · No discrete FID/board-approval release was found. Initial earthworks began Nov 14, 2017 (recorded as CONSTRUCTION_START below) but stalled for years amid financing difficulties (a subsequent $15M financing was cancelled). Fiji's Ministry of Environment approved an updated EIA in June 2022, shortly before mill construction resumed in earnest in August 2022 and proceeded through to production -- recorded here as the closest equivalent to a construction decision for the phase that actually succeeded. · Source
- Nov 2017 · Lion One announced the start of construction at Tuvatu (bulk earthworks -- mill pad, roads, retaining walls). Construction subsequently stalled for years amid financing difficulties; mill construction resumed in earnest in August 2022 (see CONSTRUCTION_DECISION note). · Source
- Oct 2023 · Lion One poured first gold at Tuvatu, timed to coincide with Fiji Day, following mill construction that began August 2022 and commissioning that began September 2023. · Source
- Reached — date not disclosed · Genuinely reached, but no source found frames this with a specific 'commercial production declared' threshold date: first gold was poured 2023-10-10 at the Tuvatu Alkaline Gold Project (Fiji), with genuine, sustained, growing commercial-scale gold production and sales reported every quarter since (record output reported as recently as March 2026). The operation was still described as being in a 'pilot plant stage' as late as March 2024, several months after first gold, underscoring that no clean single threshold date exists. Left null with the October 2023 first-gold context noted. This row was missing entirely prior to 2026-08-21 -- a genuine data gap, not a stage error; Miner.stage was already correctly PRODUCTION. · Source
Milestones are recorded only from a company's own dated disclosure. A milestone with no date shown is one we can confirm was reached but for which no date was disclosed — we don't estimate one. "Not yet reached" means exactly that, not that a date is missing. An "Expected" line likewise only ever reflects the company's own guidance (e.g. a study or permit decision targeted for a stated quarter) — most not-yet-reached milestones have none, and that absence means no such guidance has been disclosed, not that one is overdue.
A relative ranking of how closely this company matches the profile of juniors that have actually been acquired — not a probability, and not a reason to buy. Acquisitions are rare: only a few dozen significant deals happen a year across a universe of thousands of juniors, so even a high score here describes a long shot. The strongest signal the underlying research identifies — whether a major already holds a JV, earn-in, or 5–19.9% strategic stake — isn't tracked yet and is absent from this score.
Your Rankings
Management Team
Chief Financial Officer of Lion One Metals Limited (CA). 25+ years in financial roles for mining companies in Canada, Fiji, and Latin America; previously Director of Finance at Red Eagle Mining Corporation and Corporate Controller for Luna Gold Corp.; CPA; Bachelor of Commerce, UBC.
Chief Executive Officer of Lion One Metals Limited. Mining veteran with 35+ years' experience across gold, oil sands, copper, and coal operations; B.Sc. Mining Engineering, Queen's University; ICD.D certified; previously led operations at several deep underground mines including Con Mine, Lupin Mine, Rice Lake Mine, and Mount Milligan.
Vice President, Corporate Development and Investor Relations at Lion One Metals Limited (P.Geo., MBA). 15+ years spanning geology, exploration, and investor relations; Registered Professional Geologist with EGBC; MBA, UBC Sauder School of Business.
Insiders, Investors & Smart Money
Notable shareholders and insiders whose involvement is worth knowing about, plus what we're seeing from institutional/large-investor activity.
Lion One raised C$17.5 million in June and July 2026 through convertible debentures and units, but the money went to curing a working-capital covenant default under its senior secured facility and meeting near-term obligations, and the company also agreed a forbearance with its lender in July 2026. The lead subscriber, Concept Capital Management, was an existing arm's-length shareholder; the senior lenders are the Nebari funds. None of that is a producer or a specialist taking an equity position on the merits — it is a company in difficulty being refinanced by the people already exposed to it. The one named institutional holder on file, Arbiter Partners Capital Management, LLC (8.89% per a February 2025 filing, predating this year's refinancing), is a New York-based long/short value hedge fund with no resource-sector mandate — a real generalist position, not specialist conviction capital. There are no insider transaction records in our data.
No notable insiders tracked for this miner yet.
Reports, Presentations & Documents
NI 43-101 Technical Report and Mineral Resource Estimate, Tuvatu Gold Project (effective 25 Mar 2024, filed 24 Jun 2024; base case 3 g/t Au cut-off, net of underground development mined out to the effective date): Indicated 642,000 t @ 8.48 g/t Au for 175,000 oz -- no Measured category. Inferred (not included here): 1,384,000 t @ 7.62 g/t Au for 339,000 oz (69 domains) + 11,000 t @ 9.32 g/t Au for 3,000 oz (outside domains) = 342,000 oz Inferred total. RESIDUAL CAVEAT: at least one secondary source (via a different search synthesis, not independently traced to a specific page) cited a gross (not net-of-development) Indicated figure of ~1.00 Mt @ 8.48 g/t for ~274,600 oz for what may be the same report -- the 175,000 oz figure used here is preferred as the more specific, explicitly 'net of underground development' headline total-resource figure matching the report's own stated methodology (gross domain tonnage less mined-out development), but this has not been independently confirmed against the primary PDF's own summary table (WebFetch could not extract readable text from either the barchart syndication's underlying PDF or Lion One's own hosted PDF -- both returned as binary/corrupted). Flagged for a recheck once PDF-rendering tooling is available. SKIP dcfNpvUsd/irrPct/mineLifeYears: the only PEA on file is the 2020 update (pre-tax NPV5% US$155.8M, pre-tax IRR 60.3%, ~5-year mine life, ~78,000 oz/yr average, 1,000 t/d design) -- this predates Tuvatu's actual production start (late 2023) and predates the subsequent mill expansion to 600-700 t/d, so its operating assumptions no longer match the mine as actually built and run. Per mining-technology.com, Lion One's current mine plan is explicitly NOT based on a completed feasibility study of reserves. No economics update accompanied the Mar 2024 MRE. Citing the 2020 PEA's NPV/IRR/mine-life today would describe a design the company has since materially departed from; left null rather than cite a stale pre-production study.