Ivanhoe Mines Ltd.I
Ivanhoe Mines Ltd. (TSX: IVN) is a Vancouver-headquartered mining company built around three principal African assets. Kamoa-Kakula (DRC, Ivanhoe 39.6% / Zijin Mining 39.6% / Crystal River Global 0.8% / DRC government 20%) is the flagship: initial copper concentrate production began 25 May 2021, with commercial production declared 1 July 2021; the Phase 2 concentrator reached commercial production in April 2022, four months ahead of schedule; 2026 guidance is 290,000-310,000 tonnes of copper, with the mine plan targeting steady-state production above 500,000 t/yr from 2028 at a 17-million-tonne-per-year processing rate over an approximately 25-year mine life. Kipushi (DRC, Ivanhoe 68% via 100%-owned Kipushi Holding, Gecamines 32%), a restarted historic zinc mine, produced a record 70,177 tonnes of zinc in concentrate in Q2 2026 alone, with 2026 guidance of 240,000-290,000 tonnes -- large enough to be a genuine, material secondary commodity exposure for the company, not a trace byproduct. The company's own stage-setting evidence throughout is Kamoa-Kakula, its most advanced project by a wide margin.
Notable vs. Peers
- Jurisdiction risk score of 4/10 is meaningfully riskier than the peer average of 7.7/10.
- Trading within 7% of its 52-week low — weak recent price momentum.
Lifecycle Milestones
Construction Milestones
5 of 5 reached- Reached — date not disclosed · Source
- Reached — date not disclosed · Source
- Reached — date not disclosed · Source
- May 2021 · Source
- Jul 2021 · Source
Milestones are recorded only from a company's own dated disclosure. A milestone with no date shown is one we can confirm was reached but for which no date was disclosed — we don't estimate one. "Not yet reached" means exactly that, not that a date is missing. An "Expected" line likewise only ever reflects the company's own guidance (e.g. a study or permit decision targeted for a stated quarter) — most not-yet-reached milestones have none, and that absence means no such guidance has been disclosed, not that one is overdue.
Jurisdiction (40%)4/10
Headquartered in Vancouver, Canada, TSX/NYSE-adjacent-OTC listed -- but essentially all of the company's actual mining risk sits in the Democratic Republic of Congo (Kamoa-Kakula, Kipushi -- both Lualaba/Haut-Katanga province, the more stable, established copper-mining heartland of the DRC rather than the conflict-affected east) and, for Platreef, South Africa. Mitigating factor: Kamoa-Kakula/Kipushi's specific province has been the site of large-scale, continuously-operating foreign-partnered copper/cobalt mining for decades (Zijin Mining JV partner, Gecamines state JV partner at Kipushi) without the interruption risk of DRC's conflict-affected regions, and the DRC government itself holds a direct 20% Kamoa-Kakula stake, a real (if imperfect) alignment-of-interest factor.
Infrastructure (40%)10/10
A confirmed mill, confirmed road access, confirmed grid power, and a confirmed tailings facility at Kamoa-Kakula Copper Complex.
Nearby producing mine (20%)10/10
Kamoto (KCC) (Glencore plc) is 20 km away -- within shared-mill trucking range.
Acquisition Susceptibility
A relative ranking of how closely this company matches the profile of juniors that have actually been acquired — not a probability, and not a reason to buy. Acquisitions are rare: only a few dozen significant deals happen a year across a universe of thousands of juniors, so even a high score here describes a long shot. The strongest signal in the research, a producer that already owns part of the company, is scored from its disclosed strategic shareholders. A producer that is a joint-venture or earn-in partner on the project, rather than a shareholder, isn't captured yet.
How this score is built
- Disclosed pending dealSub-score: Not scored
No pending acquisition or merger disclosed (checked)
Not scored: having no deal in flight isn't held against a company.
Weight 26.25% - Producer's strategic stakeSub-score:9/10
Zijin Mining Group Co., Ltd. holds 12.2% (reported 20 Feb 2026) See holders
An operating producer's stake scores 8 at 5%, rising to 10 at 20% (the take-over-bid threshold) and holding there up to 50%.
Weight 25% · 34% here - Distance to a producing mineSub-score:8/10
Nearest producing mine: Kamoto (KCC) (Glencore plc), 20 km
10 next to a producing mine, 8 at 20 km, 5 at 50 km, 0 beyond 200 km.
Weight 22.5% · 31% here - Lifecycle stageSub-score:5.5/10
Stage: Production
Feasibility and permitting score 10, where deals cluster, and production 5.5; earlier stages score less, down to 1 at grassroots.
Weight 15% · 20% here - JurisdictionSub-score:4/10
Democratic Republic of Congo: jurisdiction score 4/10
Our jurisdiction score, used as is: higher means lower political and permitting risk.
Weight 6.75% · 9% here - CommoditySub-score:8/10
Primary commodity: Copper
Gold 10, copper 8, silver 5, nickel and uranium 4, others 2: most majors' deals are for gold.
Weight 4.5% · 6% here
Weight is each input's share of the full score. “Here” is its share of this company's score: inputs that aren't scored are left out and the rest re-weighted, never counted as zero.
Your Rankings
Management Team
President and Chief Executive Officer of Ivanhoe Mines Ltd, appointed CEO February 24, 2025 after serving as President since 2020 and CFO from 2009-2020.
Chief Financial Officer of Ivanhoe Mines Ltd, with the company since 2011.
Founder and Executive Co-Chairman of Ivanhoe Mines; also Founder & Executive Chairman of Ivanhoe Electric Inc. Widely credited with two of the largest base-metal discoveries of the past several decades: the Voisey's Bay nickel-copper-cobalt deposit in Labrador (discovered via Diamond Fields Resources and sold to Inco in 1996) and the Kamoa-Kakula copper discovery in the Democratic Republic of Congo, developed through Ivanhoe Mines into one of the world's largest copper mines. Also carries a well-documented setback early in his career: Galactic Resources' Summitville mine in Colorado, which ended in bankruptcy and a major environmental cleanup. A fixture on Rick Rule's "Living Legends" panels.
Chief Operating Officer of Ivanhoe Mines Ltd, appointed January 1, 2026, bringing nearly four decades of mining and mine-development experience across Southern Africa.
Insiders, Investors & Smart Money
Notable shareholders and insiders whose involvement is worth knowing about, plus what we're seeing from institutional/large-investor activity.
No smart-money tracking (institutional/large-investor activity) for this miner yet — this is a planned feature, not live data.
No notable insiders tracked for this miner yet.
Reports, Presentations & Documents
Ivanhoe Mines has three major assets with different ownership: the Kamoa-Kakula copper complex in the DRC (39.6%, jointly with Zijin Mining), the Kipushi zinc mine in the DRC (68%) and the Platreef platinum-group-metals project in South Africa (64%). It does not publish a single company-level NPV or IRR; the 25-year mine life shown is Kamoa-Kakula's.