JUNIORMETRICS
Gold$4,479.95/oz
Silver$66.98/oz
Copper$6.00/lb

Hochschild Mining plc

HCHDF·HOC·$8.91·$4.4B cap
Silveralso:Inmaculada Mine, Peru (plus San Jose JV, Argentina and Mara Rosa Mine, Brazil) Map

Hochschild Mining is a London-listed precious metals producer whose core underground operations are the Inmaculada gold-silver mine in Peru and the San Jose gold-silver joint venture in Argentina, plus the newer Mara Rosa gold mine in Brazil. H1 2026 attributable production of 151,830 gold-equivalent ounces kept the company on track for its full-year 2026 target of 300,000-328,000 GEOs, though AISC has been running 5-10% above original guidance on higher royalties, profit-sharing obligations, and Argentine inflation. The development pipeline includes Monte Do Carmo (Brazil) and Royropata (Peru).

Notable vs. Peers

  • Financials score of 5.7/10 is weaker than the peer average of 7.6/10.

Lifecycle Milestones

Grassroots
Resource Def.
PEA
PFS
Feasibility
Permitting
Construction
ProductionCurrent

Construction Milestones

5 of 5 reached
  1. Sep 2013 · Peru's government approved the final mill construction permit for the Inmaculada Advanced Project, completing the final stage of the project's construction permitting process, with commissioning on track for Q4 2014 at the time. · Source
  2. Reached — date not disclosed · No separately dated 'Board approves construction' release distinct from the feasibility study itself was found (consistent with Task #430 batch4's own prior finding). Hochschild's own company history page states Inmaculada's feasibility study (based on the main Angela vein resources) was completed/published in January 2012, 'laying the foundations for the next phase of growth' (a targeted 50% company-wide production increase) -- the decision-equivalent event, per this campaign's established convention of using feasibility-study completion as CONSTRUCTION_DECISION absent a separately announced board sanction (same convention as Imperial Metals/Red Chris, Task #430 batch4, and MUX's own CONSTRUCTION_DECISION row above). This January 2012 date precedes the September 20, 2013 permit already on file under PERMIT_GRANTED -- that row is explicitly sourced as the FINAL stage of a multi-stage construction-permitting process (per its own note), consistent with site work and early construction proceeding through 2012-2013 (as this miner's existing CONSTRUCTION_START row already documents, 'underway ahead of' the September 2013 final permit) after the board committed to the project on the strength of the January 2012 feasibility study. Month precision only. · Source
  3. Reached — date not disclosed · Construction of the Inmaculada mill/processing plant was underway ahead of the September 20, 2013 final construction permit (which itself confirms commissioning was 'on track for fourth quarter 2014'), following a 2012 feasibility study of the Angela vein resources. No single dated 'construction start' release found; recorded reached-but-undated, c. 2012-2013. · Source
  4. Jun 2015 · Inmaculada delivered its first production of dore. · Source
  5. Reached — date not disclosed · Genuinely reached, but no single company-wide commercial-production date exists across a multi-mine, multi-country portfolio (Inmaculada and San Jose JV in Peru/Argentina respectively -- San Jose is actually in Argentina, Mara Rosa in Brazil) built over decades. Production report for the 6 months ended 30 June 2026 reported attributable H1 production of 151,830 gold-equivalent oz (Q2 alone: 76,231 GEO -- Inmaculada ~45koz, San Jose ~32koz, Mara Rosa improving), on track for full-year guidance of 300,000-328,000 GEO. This row was missing entirely prior to 2026-08-21 -- a genuine data gap, not a stage error; Miner.stage was already correctly PRODUCTION. · Source

Milestones are recorded only from a company's own dated disclosure. A milestone with no date shown is one we can confirm was reached but for which no date was disclosed — we don't estimate one. "Not yet reached" means exactly that, not that a date is missing. An "Expected" line likewise only ever reflects the company's own guidance (e.g. a study or permit decision targeted for a stated quarter) — most not-yet-reached milestones have none, and that absence means no such guidance has been disclosed, not that one is overdue.

10/10
Weak track recordStrong track record
5.7/10
Thin runwayWell-capitalized
6/10
High riskLow risk
How this is calculated
10/10
Weaker depositStronger deposit
7.9/10
Weaker profileStronger profile
Price Chart
$4.06$4.86$10.68$7.24$8.91AugNovFebJunSep
Aug 12, 2025Sep 4, 2026
News
$8.91
+131.7%from low-22.9%from high
$3.85$11.56
See who ↓
38.3%
Low alignmentHigh alignment
See who ↓
8.1%
Low alignmentHigh alignment
$4.4B
Far belowFar above
$465.2M median
Price (USD - Local)
$8.91 - GBP 6.60
Cash Position (USD)
$309M
Far belowFar above
$75.5M median
Debt (USD)
$258M
Far aboveFar below
$7.5M median
$4.3B
Far belowFar above
$363.9M median
514.5M
Far aboveFar below
306.9M median
Jurisdiction
Peru
16,100,000 oz
Far belowFar above
51.9M median
$268.41/oz
Far aboveFar below
$5.38/oz median
This company's data hasn't been researched yet
Underground
This company's data hasn't been researched yet
This company's data hasn't been researched yet
Not enough peer data yet
This company's data hasn't been researched yet
Not enough peer data yet
This company's data hasn't been researched yet
38.3%
0%100%
12.1% median
8.1%
0%100%
7.2% median
This company's data hasn't been researched yet
This company's data hasn't been researched yet
This company's data hasn't been researched yet
$386.2M
Far belowFar above
$1B median
$0.751
Far belowFar above
$1.51 median
Acquisition Susceptibility
5.5/10
Unlikely bolt-onFits the takeout profile

A relative ranking of how closely this company matches the profile of juniors that have actually been acquired — not a probability, and not a reason to buy. Acquisitions are rare: only a few dozen significant deals happen a year across a universe of thousands of juniors, so even a high score here describes a long shot. The strongest signal the underlying research identifies — whether a major already holds a JV, earn-in, or 5–19.9% strategic stake — isn't tracked yet and is absent from this score.

Overall Score Trend
+36.2% since 2026-08-08

Your Rankings

Community Sentiment
SELLINGBUYING
CategoryCommunityYour Ranking
Overall (0)Log in to rank
Management (0)Log in to rank
Financials (0)Log in to rank
Jurisdiction (0)Log in to rank
Project Quality (0)Log in to rank

Management Team

Chief Executive Officer of Hochschild Mining plc since Aug 2023, an entirely internal Hochschild progression from General Manager of Argentinian operations (joined Jan 2008), to General Manager of Projects (2011, responsible for the Inmaculada and Crespo Advanced Projects), to Chief Operating Officer (Mar 2013), to CEO. Before Hochschild, Corporate Development Manager at Cementos Pacasmayo SAA (2006-2007), and earlier roles at Peru's Ministry of Energy and Mines and at Repsol S.A. Also currently CEO of Hochschild subsidiary Compania Minera Ares SAC, a Director of Tiernan Gold Corp., and a Non-Independent Director of Aclara Resources Inc. (concurrent roles, not separately scored).

Chief Financial Officer of Hochschild Mining plc since Dec 2021, an internal Hochschild progression from Head of Group Finance (responsible for financial planning and controls, treasury, corporate finance, tax and accounting) -- joined the company Mar 2007. Actively involved in defining and executing Hochschild's growth strategy, leading several financing and M&A transactions. Before Hochschild, various finance roles at Dell Inc., Union de Cervecerias Peruanas Backus y Johnston, and Del Mar Fishing Company. BA Business Administration, Universidad del Pacifico; MBA, University of Texas.

Insiders, Investors & Smart Money

Notable shareholders and insiders whose involvement is worth knowing about, plus what we're seeing from institutional/large-investor activity.

Smart money
3/10

The disclosed institutional register is almost entirely passive sector ETFs and index funds -- led by BlackRock at 5.11% -- with only a tiny stake from the specialist Franklin Gold and Precious Metals Fund. Two insiders bought stock on the open market in the past year, though larger insider selling in the same window offsets that buying.

No notable insiders tracked for this miner yet.

Reports, Presentations & Documents

Technical Report Takeaways

No consolidated, company-level NPV/IRR/mine-life economic study was found for Hochschild's producing asset base (Inmaculada, Peru; San Jose JV, Argentina; Mara Rosa, Brazil) -- these operate off annual reserve/resource statements and production guidance, not a disclosed DCF. The one economic study identified -- Amarillo Gold's own pre-acquisition Feasibility Study for the Posse deposit at Mara Rosa (after-tax NPV5% of US$150-160M at $1,600/oz Au, 18-20% IRR, ~10-year initial mine life) -- is deliberately NOT used: (1) it predates Hochschild's 2021 acquisition and Hochschild's own build-out of the mine (commercial production reached under materially different capex/design than the pre-acquisition study assumed), and (2) it is a gold-only project valuation, which does not fit this miner's SILVER commodity classification the way it would for a AuEq/AgEq-blended company figure. Hochschild's own Reserves & Resources page (checked directly, 31 Dec 2025 reserves / 31 Dec 2024 resources) gives company-wide Measured+Indicated resources of 536.08 Mt for a stated 102.4 Moz Ag + 13.18 Moz Au (~1,196.3 Moz AgEq) and Proven+Probable reserves of 52.63 Mt for 21.5 Moz Ag + 2.31 Moz Au (~212.9 Moz AgEq) -- but this M&I aggregate could NOT be independently corroborated against a second source or reconciled against the per-mine breakdown in this pass (it is large relative to Hochschild's known asset base and may include lower-confidence material from advanced/exploration-stage projects such as Volcan or Monte Do Carmo, which this pass could not confirm one way or the other). Rather than write a company-level ouncesFound figure this pass cannot stand behind, it is left null and recorded RESEARCHED_UNKNOWN. Worth a dedicated follow-up pass reading the primary Annual Report/Reserves & Resources PDF table directly (page-by-page) rather than a page-summarization fetch. [Task #584 ouncesFoundUnit correction, 2026-08-24] ouncesFoundUnit corrected "oz_ag" -> null. ouncesFound itself (16,100,000 contained troy oz silver, Inmaculada P&P reserves per Hochschild's own reserves-and-resources page, Task #539) is unchanged and was never wrong. "oz_ag" was a deliberate-but-unvetted unit string written by Task #539 to self-document "silver ounces", but it duplicated what `commodity`=SILVER already states, violated the schema's sanctioned ouncesFoundUnit convention (null/"oz"/"lb" only, established by Task #529 before Task #539 wrote this row), and was the only such value in the entire database (all 19 other non-null rows are uranium "lb"). Silent effect: DEPOSIT_SIZE_CURVES in src/lib/scoring.ts only has "oz"/"lb" keys, so depositSizeSubScore() returned null for this row while resourceSizeTier() (which special-cases only "lb") kept rendering a "Major" tier -- a populated tier with no score behind it. Found during Task #574's HSLV deposit-data pass, which considered and explicitly rejected repeating "oz_ag" on HSLV by direct analogy to this row (see scripts/correct-hslv-ouncesfound-task574.ts), flagging this HOC row as a real but out-of-scope bug. This pass closes that flag. Full reasoning: scripts/correct-hoc-ouncesfoundunit-task584.ts.