JUNIORMETRICS
Gold$4,479.95/oz
Silver$66.98/oz
Copper$6.00/lb

Hemlo Mining Corp.

HMMCF·HMMC·0URG·$5.74·$1.1B cap
GoldHemlo Gold Mine, Marathon, Ontario Map

Hemlo Mining Corp. acquired the historic Hemlo Gold Mine (Williams + Interlake) from Barrick in Nov 2025 for ~US$1.09 billion, and recently graduated from the TSXV to the TSX (Jun 2026). Cash of CAD $130.2 million (Jun 30 2026) sits alongside a $150 million term loan (net debt ~$19.8 million) -- the company is NOT debt-free, flagged clearly here. Up to $165 million in further deferred/contingent payments to Barrick are due through 2032.

Notable vs. Peers

  • Financials score of 4.4/10 is weaker than the peer average of 6.4/10.
  • Trading within 7% of its 52-week high — strong recent price momentum.

Lifecycle Milestones

Grassroots
Resource Def.
PEA
PFS
Feasibility
Permitting
Construction
ProductionCurrent

Construction Milestones

5 of 5 reached
  1. Reached — date not disclosed · Wikipedia's Golden Giant Mine article states "Noranda permitted and built the Golden Giant mine in less than two years" (within the Apr1983-Apr1985 construction window) -- confirms a permit/mining-lease was obtained, no specific date found. Given the ~7,000 claims staked in the 1982 staking rush and construction starting April 1983, the permit was most likely obtained late 1982/very early 1983 -- inference, not a sourced date. No Ontario MNR lease-grant record with a specific date found despite multiple targeted searches. · Source
  2. Reached — date not disclosed · Noranda Mines Ltd. optioned the Goliath Gold Mines/Golden Sceptre Resources claims in 1982 (shortly after their mid-1982 drilling discovery of the Golden Giant deposit), agreeing to provide $290M to finance all capex, construct the mine, and complete exploration, for a 50% interest -- directly preceded site clearing beginning April 1983 (see this miner's CONSTRUCTION_START row, corrected by this same research pass). CAVEAT: Ontario government Mineral Inventory Record (geologyontario.mndm.gov.on.ca, MDI42C12NW00003, directly fetched) lists "1980: Noranda options claims" -- 2 years earlier, an unresolved discrepancy (possibly a separate/earlier preliminary option on different ground). Reporting 1982 as better-corroborated (4 consistent sources: fundinguniverse.com, referenceforbusiness.com, Wikipedia, encyclopedia.com vs. 1 outlier), flagging the conflict rather than silently picking one. · Source
  3. Reached — date not disclosed · Site clearing and building of the Golden Giant Mine (the first Hemlo-camp mine to reach production) began April 1983; shaft-sinking work (four-compartment shaft to 3,800ft) began November 1983. CORRECTED (Task #612, 2026-08-25): Golden Giant was built by Noranda Mines Ltd. (financier, 50% interest) together with claim holders Goliath Gold Mines Ltd. and Golden Sceptre Resources -- NOT Teck-Corona, as this note previously stated. Teck/Corona instead built the adjacent-but-distinct David Bell Mine and, after winning the Lac Minerals v. International Corona Resources litigation, the Williams Mine -- same Hemlo camp, different properties. Correction supported by 5 independently-sourced, mutually consistent accounts (Wikipedia, FundingUniverse, referenceforbusiness.com, Ontario government Mineral Inventory record MDI42C12NW00003, encyclopedia.com); the dates already on file here (site clearing April 1983) match Golden Giant/Noranda-Goliath-Golden Sceptre's documented history precisely, not Teck-Corona's. Decades before Barrick or HMMC ever held the asset. Exact day not confirmed from available sourcing -- recorded reached-but-undated. · Source
  4. Reached — date not disclosed · The Hemlo camp's Golden Giant Mine (NOT "Williams Mine" as this note previously stated -- see CONSTRUCTION_START correction) has produced continuously since 1985 (~25M oz across the Hemlo camp's three mines -- David Bell, Williams, Golden Giant -- to date) per the company's own materials. CORRECTED (Task #612, 2026-08-25): Golden Giant was built by Noranda Mines Ltd. together with claim holders Goliath Gold Mines Ltd. and Golden Sceptre Resources, not Teck-Corona (which built the separate Williams Mine, completed later, after the Lac Minerals v. International Corona Resources litigation). Correction supported by 5 independently-sourced, mutually consistent accounts (Wikipedia, FundingUniverse, referenceforbusiness.com, Ontario government Mineral Inventory record MDI42C12NW00003, encyclopedia.com). Hemlo Mining Corp only acquired the complex (David Bell, Williams, Golden Giant) from Barrick on Nov 26, 2025 -- it did not itself build any of the three mines, so no primary source with an exact original pour date is being cited here. · Source
  5. Reached — date not disclosed · Genuinely reached, but no single company-wide commercial-production date exists: Hemlo Mining Corp. (formerly Carcetti Capital Corp.) acquired the Hemlo gold complex (35km east of Marathon, Ontario -- David Bell, Williams, and Golden Giant underground/open-pit operations) from Barrick Mining Corp. on 2025-11-26, but the mine itself has produced continuously since 1985 (~25 million oz to date) under a long succession of prior owners (Teck-Corona, Noranda, Barrick and predecessors), decades before this company's ownership began. Because Hemlo's production history long predates Hemlo Mining Corp.'s 2025-11-26 acquisition, no single company-era date is unambiguous, matching the Genesis Minerals/Gwalia and Greatland/Telfer precedent (acquirer of a long-producing legacy mine). This row was missing entirely prior to 2026-08-21 -- a genuine data gap, not a stage error; Miner.stage was already correctly PRODUCTION. · Source

Milestones are recorded only from a company's own dated disclosure. A milestone with no date shown is one we can confirm was reached but for which no date was disclosed — we don't estimate one. "Not yet reached" means exactly that, not that a date is missing. An "Expected" line likewise only ever reflects the company's own guidance (e.g. a study or permit decision targeted for a stated quarter) — most not-yet-reached milestones have none, and that absence means no such guidance has been disclosed, not that one is overdue.

10/10
Weak track recordStrong track record
4.4/10
Thin runwayWell-capitalized
9/10
High riskLow risk
How this is calculated
6.6/10
Weaker depositStronger deposit
7.5/10
Weaker profileStronger profile
Price Chart
$0.237$0.589$5.17$4.87$5.74AugNovFebJunSep
Aug 12, 2025Sep 4, 2026
News
$5.74
+634.1%from low-6.3%from high
$0.78$6.13
See who ↓
12.8%
Low alignmentHigh alignment
See who ↓
37.3%
Low alignmentHigh alignment
$1.1B
Far belowFar above
$557.1M median
Price (USD - Local)
$5.74 - CAD 7.95
Cash Position (USD)
$92.4M
Far belowFar above
$90.6M median
Debt (USD)
$150M
Far aboveFar below
$5.7M median
$1.1B
Far belowFar above
$486M median
296.4M
Far aboveFar below
305.4M median
Jurisdiction
Canada
4,800,000 oz
Far belowFar above
1.3M median
$234.69/oz
Far aboveFar below
$157.18/oz median
0.0452 oz/tCut-off: UG 1.8 g/t Au (diluted); OP 0.28 g/t Au
Far belowFar above
0.04 oz/t median
Underground
14 yrs
Far belowFar above
11 yrs median
$1,805/oz
@5%$1.1B(at $2,610/oz)
Far belowFar above
$596.9M median
0.97x
Far aboveFar below
0.40x median
This company's data hasn't been researched yet
Not enough peer data yet
$2,610/oz42% below spot ($4,480/oz)
This company's data hasn't been researched yet
12.8%
0%100%
19.3% median
37.3%
0%100%
3% median
84 kmfrom Wesdome Gold Mines Ltd.'s Eagle River
Outside typical bolt-on range
This company's data hasn't been researched yet
This company's data hasn't been researched yet
This company's data hasn't been researched yet
This company's data hasn't been researched yet
This company's data hasn't been researched yet
Acquisition Susceptibility
5.6/10
Unlikely bolt-onFits the takeout profile

A relative ranking of how closely this company matches the profile of juniors that have actually been acquired — not a probability, and not a reason to buy. Acquisitions are rare: only a few dozen significant deals happen a year across a universe of thousands of juniors, so even a high score here describes a long shot. The strongest signal the underlying research identifies — whether a major already holds a JV, earn-in, or 5–19.9% strategic stake — isn't tracked yet and is absent from this score.

Overall Score Trend
+29.3% since 2026-08-04 · -3.8% from peak

Your Rankings

Community Sentiment
SELLINGBUYING
CategoryCommunityYour Ranking
Overall (0)Log in to rank
Management (0)Log in to rank
Financials (0)Log in to rank
Jurisdiction (0)Log in to rank
Project Quality (0)Log in to rank

Management Team

President, Chief Executive Officer and Director of Hemlo Mining Corp., which acquired the producing Hemlo gold mine in Ontario from Barrick Mining Corp. (already tracked in this DB, ABX). The company was previously named Carcetti Capital Corp. 15 years of experience spanning mineral exploration, mine development, production and capital markets. Career: President and CEO, Integra Resources Corp. (2023-2025); Founder, Millennial Precious Metals Corp. (2020-2023), grown from an exploration company with no resource to one with a 10-million-ounce resource and 80,000 ounces of annual production within four years, through its real merger with Integra Resources in May 2023; VP Strategic Development, Sable Resources Ltd.

Executive Chairman of the Board of Hemlo Mining Corp., appointed following the shareholder meeting in October 2025 that approved the Hemlo mine acquisition. Career: Co-founder and former CEO, Dakota Gold Corp.; co-founder and former CEO, Gold Standard Ventures Corp., through its real sale to Orla Mining Ltd. for C$242 million in 2022.

Chief Financial Officer of Hemlo Mining Corp. Former professional investor in the mining sector with 18 years of experience in capital markets. CFA, MFin. Career: VP, Portfolio Manager and Research Lead, Equities, CI Global Asset Management, focused on the resource sector at an asset manager with over $100 billion in AUM.

Chief Operating Officer of Hemlo Mining Corp., with the Hemlo mine's VP of Operations and General Manager reporting to him. Over 30 years of experience in mine building and operations, all phases from exploration and permitting to construction, production and closure. Career: COO, Osisko Development Corp. (2018-2025); COO, Dalradian Resources Inc. (through its real acquisition by Orion Mine Finance for ~C$537 million, Sep 2018); General Manager, Canadian Malartic gold mine (Osisko group), built and operated Canada's second-largest gold mine; senior management, IAMGOLD Corporation (already tracked in this DB, IMG) following its real 2006 acquisition of Cambior Inc.; began his career with Barrick (already tracked in this DB, ABX) at the Doyon Mine and contracting companies. Independent Non-Executive Director, Talisker Resources Ltd. (since 2020); former director, Maritime Resources Corp., Nighthawk Gold Corp. (2020-2024) and Barkerville Gold Mines Ltd. (2019).

Vice President, Corporate Development and Investor Relations of Hemlo Mining Corp., appointed effective 2 March 2026. Mining executive with nearly 15 years of experience spanning corporate strategy, capital markets, M&A and investor relations. Prior to Hemlo, held a senior executive role at a U.S.-focused gold producer, leading the acquisition of a Nevada-based gold mining operation that repositioned the company from developer to producer status and drove market capitalization growth from approximately $200 million to over $1 billion; earlier, a founding executive at a gold exploration company, leading its go-public transaction on the TSX Venture Exchange including asset acquisition and equity financing. [Task #513 batch10: the specific company names for these two prior roles were not disclosed in any source found this pass -- an honest gap, no company names fabricated to fill it. HMMC's Management-score gap still closes via Kosec/Awde/Tremblay, all covered this same batch.]

Insiders, Investors & Smart Money

Notable shareholders and insiders whose involvement is worth knowing about, plus what we're seeing from institutional/large-investor activity.

Smart money
6/10

Barrick holds 11.68%, but it is worth understanding how it got there: Barrick took roughly US$50M of Hemlo Mining stock as part of the consideration for selling the Hemlo mine (a ~US$1.09B deal closed in November 2025), rather than paying cash to buy in -- a vendor keeping a slice of what it sold is a weaker signal than an outside producer writing a cheque. A second, independent real holder now sits alongside it: Orion Mine Finance Fund IV LP, a well-known mining-specialist private fund manager, holds 7.82%. Institutional ownership is 37.3%, and there are no insider transactions on record yet.

No notable insiders tracked for this miner yet.

Reports, Presentations & Documents

Technical Report Takeaways

We haven't parsed this company's PEA/PFS/FS recommendations yet — cut-off grade, mine life, DCF/NPV, and the report's own next-steps guidance are a planned research pass, not live data for every company yet.

AI take

Hemlo Mining Corp.'s 2026 Mineral Resource Estimate for the Hemlo Gold Mine (Williams + Interlake, acquired from Barrick Nov 2025): Measured+Indicated Mineral Resources (100% basis) of 96.9 Mt at 1.55 g/t gold for 4.8 Moz, up 1.2 Moz (+34%) versus the 2025 report. Interlake production is subject to a 50% net profit interest royalty to Franco-Nevada. No company-disclosed Proven+Probable Reserve conversion has been published yet as of this research pass -- the company has owned the asset less than a year.