JUNIORMETRICS
Gold$4,479.95/oz
Silver$66.98/oz
Copper$6.00/lb

Hecla Mining Company

HL·$21.21·$11.3B cap
SilverGreens Creek, Alaska, USA (flagship) and Lucky Friday, Idaho, USA Map

Hecla Mining is the largest primary silver producer in the United States, operating a multi-asset portfolio anchored by Greens Creek (Alaska) and Lucky Friday (Idaho), plus Keno Hill (Yukon, ramping). Hecla closed the sale of its Casa Berardi gold mine (Quebec) to Orezone Gold Corporation on 25 Mar 2026 for up to US$593 million total consideration, completing its strategic transformation to a pure-play premier silver producer. Q2 2026 delivered record free cash flow: operating cash flow rose 61% YoY to $175 million and free cash flow doubled to $136 million, with Lucky Friday posting record output and site-level free cash flow. Consolidated silver cash costs from continuing operations (excluding Keno Hill) were negative $8.10/oz with AISC of $6.07/oz. FY2026 guidance: 15.1-16.1 million ounces of silver. The company is effectively debt-free with ~$483 million in cash and an undrawn $225 million revolver.

Notable vs. Peers

  • All-in sustaining cost of $6.07/AgEq oz is 82% lower than the peer producer average of $34.03/AgEq oz.
  • Jurisdiction risk score of 9/10 is meaningfully safer than the peer average of 6.9/10.

Lifecycle Milestones

Grassroots
Resource Def.
PEA
PFS
Feasibility
Permitting
Construction
ProductionCurrent

Construction Milestones

5 of 5 reached
  1. Reached — date not disclosed · Hecla acquired the mineral concessions underlying San Sebastian on June 25, 1999, via its ~$25.0 million acquisition of Monarch Resources Investments Limited (40,324 hectares across 31 contiguous mining concessions in Durango, Mexico, per Hecla's own FY1999 SEC filings) -- 16 years before the 2015 redevelopment this miner's existing CONSTRUCTION_START/FIRST_PRODUCTION/CONSTRUCTION_DECISION rows are anchored to. Mineral concession titles are valid for 50 years under Mexican mining law, and Hecla's 2015 redevelopment of San Sebastian (itself a past-producing property, mined 2001-2005 under these same 1999-vintage concessions before the 2015 restart) reused this pre-existing concession rather than obtaining a new permit specific to the restart. No dated 'permit granted' event specific to the 2015 redevelopment was found in this pass's research (consistent with Task #430 batch4's own prior finding) -- same reused-pre-existing-concession shape as DVP/Woodlawn's mining lease (Task #641) and DRDGOLD/FWGR's inherited permits (this same batch, below). · Source
  2. Reached — date not disclosed · On 2015-09-16, Hecla announced expected San Sebastian production by year-end 2015, having secured 18-month toll-milling rights to a nearby Merrill-Crowe plant near Velardena to minimize capex (contract miner + rented mill vs. new infrastructure) -- consistent with ore mining commencing that December (see this miner's existing CONSTRUCTION_START/FIRST_PRODUCTION rows). Corroborated by an independent paraphrase of Hecla's FY2015 10-K MD&A: "Hecla made the decision to develop a mine at its San Sebastian unit in the third quarter of 2015." Exact day within September 2015 not found. CAVEAT: sec.gov 403'd on every direct fetch attempt; sourced via search-summarized SEC 8-K, corroborated across independent queries. · Source
  3. Reached — date not disclosed · Hecla brought the past-producing San Sebastian property back into development in late 2015, ahead of mining ore commencing that December. No single dated 'construction/redevelopment start' release found; recorded reached-but-undated. · Source
  4. Reached — date not disclosed · San Sebastian began mining ore in December 2015 as an oxide operation (initially a planned two-year mine life, later extended via exploration success; underground mining followed from 2018). Exact day within December 2015 not confirmed from available sourcing -- recorded reached-but-undated. · Source
  5. Reached — date not disclosed · Genuinely reached, but no single company-wide commercial-production date exists across a multi-mine North American silver portfolio (Greens Creek in Alaska, Lucky Friday in Idaho, Keno Hill in Yukon) built over decades; Casa Berardi (Quebec) was sold in March 2026 and is no longer part of the producing portfolio. Q2 2026 results reported consolidated silver production of 4.2M oz (up 8% q/q), with Greens Creek producing 2.1Moz silver plus 14koz+ gold, Lucky Friday a record 1.5Moz silver, and Keno Hill 625koz silver (up from 500koz in Q1); free cash flow more than doubled y/y to $136M. This row was missing entirely prior to 2026-08-21 -- a genuine data gap, not a stage error; Miner.stage was already correctly PRODUCTION. · Source

Milestones are recorded only from a company's own dated disclosure. A milestone with no date shown is one we can confirm was reached but for which no date was disclosed — we don't estimate one. "Not yet reached" means exactly that, not that a date is missing. An "Expected" line likewise only ever reflects the company's own guidance (e.g. a study or permit decision targeted for a stated quarter) — most not-yet-reached milestones have none, and that absence means no such guidance has been disclosed, not that one is overdue.

Combined view across 3 projects. Figures below are only combined where the underlying basis genuinely matches -- see the notes under each.

Combined resource
64M oz
Sum of 1 of 3 projects with a disclosed figure (others not yet researched)
IRR
Not combined
IRR is not additive across independent projects -- see each project's own tab for its figure
Combined NPV, by discount-rate basis
$1.6B
At 5% discount rate -- Greens Creek + Lucky Friday + Keno Hill
10/10
Weak track recordStrong track record
6.4/10
Thin runwayWell-capitalized
9/10
High riskLow risk
How this is calculated
10/10
Weaker depositStronger deposit
8.9/10
Weaker profileStronger profile
Price Chart
$7.67$13.98$24.54$16.83$21.21AugNovFebJunSep32
Aug 12, 2025Sep 4, 2026
News
$21.21
+195.4%from low-37.9%from high
$7.18$34.16
See who ↓
0.6%
Low alignmentHigh alignment
See who ↓
57.9%
Low alignmentHigh alignment
$11.3B
Far belowFar above
$465.2M median
Price (USD - Local)
$21.21
Cash Position (USD)
$483M
Far belowFar above
$75.5M median
Debt (USD)
Far aboveFar below
$11.2M median
$10.8B
Far belowFar above
$363.9M median
671.8M
Far aboveFar below
306.9M median
Jurisdiction
United States
303,172,000 oz
Far belowFar above
47.1M median
$35.74/oz
Far aboveFar below
$5.38/oz median
This company's data hasn't been researched yet
Underground (multi-asset: Greens Creek, Lucky Friday, Keno Hill)
See projects ↓
This company's data hasn't been researched yet
$6.07/AgEq oz
See projects ↓
This company's data hasn't been researched yet
See projects ↓
Not enough peer data yet
This company's data hasn't been researched yet
Not enough peer data yet
See projects ↓
This company's data hasn't been researched yet
0.6%
0%100%
13% median
57.9%
0%100%
7.2% median
$136M
Far belowFar above
$44.5M median
$0.202
Far belowFar above
$0.103 median
83.23x
Far aboveFar below
38.43x median
$563.6M
Far belowFar above
$1B median
$0.839
Far belowFar above
$1.51 median
Acquisition Susceptibility
6.3/10
Unlikely bolt-onFits the takeout profile

A relative ranking of how closely this company matches the profile of juniors that have actually been acquired — not a probability, and not a reason to buy. Acquisitions are rare: only a few dozen significant deals happen a year across a universe of thousands of juniors, so even a high score here describes a long shot. The strongest signal the underlying research identifies — whether a major already holds a JV, earn-in, or 5–19.9% strategic stake — isn't tracked yet and is absent from this score.

Overall Score Trend
+4.7% since 2026-08-08

Your Rankings

Community Sentiment
SELLINGBUYING
CategoryCommunityYour Ranking
Overall (0)Log in to rank
Management (0)Log in to rank
Financials (0)Log in to rank
Jurisdiction (0)Log in to rank
Project Quality (0)Log in to rank

Management Team

President and Chief Executive Officer of Hecla Mining Company since Nov 2024. Began his career in 1987 at Homestake Gold Australia Ltd. Spent 20 years (2001-2021) at Barrick Mining Corporation (already tracked in this DB, ABX) in roles of increasing seniority, including 13 years on the executive leadership team, most recently as Executive Vice President -- Exploration and Growth (Mar 2016-Nov 2021). His role between leaving Barrick (2021) and joining Hecla (2024) is not confirmed to a primary-source standard. MSc (Economic Geology), University of Tasmania; BSc (Geology), University of Adelaide.

Senior Vice President and Chief Financial Officer of Hecla Mining Company since 1 Mar 2021 -- his internal Hecla career since joining in 2010 has included Controller at the Greens Creek operation (Feb 2015-Feb 2018), Treasurer (since 2017), and Director of Internal Audit. Before Hecla, Audit Manager at BDO USA, LLP (Aug 2004-Nov 2010). CPA.

Insiders, Investors & Smart Money

Notable shareholders and insiders whose involvement is worth knowing about, plus what we're seeing from institutional/large-investor activity.

Smart money

Task #172 gate batch: smartMoneyScore rubric (playbook §7.6) applied 2026-08-15 -- GATED: marketCapUsd $11.32B >= $5.0B applicability threshold. At this size, index membership (GDX, S&P/TSX 60, Russell 1000) mechanically dominates the shareholder register, so absence of a visible specialist bet carries no information. RESEARCHED_UNKNOWN per playbook §6.4/§7.6.

No notable insiders tracked for this miner yet.

Reports, Presentations & Documents

Technical Report Takeaways

PORTFOLIO SCOPE (Task #317 wave 7): Hecla operates three silver mines (Greens Creek, Lucky Friday, Keno Hill) plus non-core exploration/pre-development (Nevada). No single company-wide DCF/NPV/IRR study exists -- each mine is managed and reported on its own reserve-replacement and sustaining-capital basis. Real, current, per-mine figures found this pass, NOT written to the Miner-level dcfNpvUsd/irrPct/mineLifeYears fields because none represents the whole company: (1) Keno Hill (Yukon, ramping since 2022 acquisition) -- its Mar 2024 NI 43-101 Technical Report gives an 11-year reserve mine plan (55 Moz Ag P&P reserves at $17/oz Ag price assumption), forecast to generate 52.9 Moz Ag production and US$420M of free cash flow, with after-tax NPV of US$305 million at $22/oz Ag and a 5% discount rate -- IRR was not found disclosed. (2) Lucky Friday (Idaho) -- reserve mine life of approximately 15 years per the YE2025 reserve statement (13 Feb 2026 release); replaced 5.0 Moz of the 5.3 Moz Ag produced in 2025. (3) Greens Creek (Alaska, flagship by production) -- grew its reserve base by 2.4 Moz Ag in 2025 (produced 8.7 Moz); no standalone reserve-life figure in years was found stated for Greens Creek alone this pass. No NPV/IRR figure was found for Greens Creek or Lucky Friday specifically -- both are long-established, fully-amortized operations run on ongoing reserve replacement rather than a discounted-cashflow study, the same 'mature producer with no current DCF study' pattern as CERT/ORV/GG/BTG (Task #317 playbook precedent).