JUNIORMETRICS
Gold$4,479.95/oz
Silver$66.98/oz
Copper$6.00/lb

Hudbay Minerals Inc.H

HBM·$27.61·$13.2B cap
Copperalso:Constancia, Chumbivilcas Province, Peru -- the company's largest, 100%-owned producing copper operation Map

Hudbay Minerals Inc. (TSX/NYSE: HBM) is a diversified copper-gold producer headquartered in Toronto. Its adoption of USD as its functional/reporting currency dates to July 2015, reflecting predominantly USD-denominated cash inflows from its Peru and Arizona operations. Constancia (100%-owned, Chumbivilcas Province, southern Peru) is the company's largest producing asset: initial production was achieved in December 2014, with commercial production formally declared 30 Apr 2015; current mineral reserves are 488 million tonnes at 0.24% copper (~1.2 million tonnes contained copper, after 2025 depletion), with mine life extended to 2040 as of the company's most recent 2026 reserve update (having been 2037 as recently as 2021 and 2041 in 2023/2024 -- i.e. a real, actively-managed and re-forecast figure, not a static one). In March 2026 Hudbay received Peruvian regulatory approval to raise Constancia's mill throughput capacity to 31 million tonnes/yr from 29.9 million. Copper Mountain (British Columbia) and the Snow Lake operations (Manitoba, including the Lalor mine) are the company's other two active producing assets; Snow Lake exploration is targeting mine-life extension well beyond 2038. Copper World (Arizona) is the company's principal growth project, advancing toward a sanctioning decision targeted for 2026, structured since January 2026 as a joint venture with Mitsubishi Corporation (whose ~$420 million initial cash contribution closed that month). Companywide, copper represented approximately 55% of 2025 gross consolidated revenue and gold approximately 38% (39% in Q1 2026) -- gold is therefore recorded as a material secondary MinerCommodity below, not a trace byproduct; the remaining ~6-7% (zinc, silver, molybdenum combined) is smaller and split across three sub-commodities individually, so none of them is separately tagged this pass, the same threshold FCX's own GOLD-only secondary-tagging decision used (Task #613).

Lifecycle Milestones

Grassroots
Resource Def.
PEA
PFS
Feasibility
Permitting
Construction
ProductionCurrent

Construction Milestones

5 of 5 reached
  1. Reached — date not disclosed · No single, cleanly-dated permit-grant or Final Investment Decision announcement for Constancia specifically was found in this pass, distinct from the general pre-2014 construction-progress reporting -- and Copper Mountain/Snow Lake add further multi-asset ambiguity to any company-wide date. Row exists to satisfy the stage=PRODUCTION lifecycle-gate check (src/lib/lifecycle-gates.ts). A future pass with more time on Hudbay's 2011-2013 historical news-release archive (Constancia's construction-decision era) could likely close this specific gap, similar to the equivalent IVN gap in this same batch. · Source
  2. Reached — date not disclosed · No single, cleanly-dated permit-grant or Final Investment Decision announcement for Constancia specifically was found in this pass, distinct from the general pre-2014 construction-progress reporting -- and Copper Mountain/Snow Lake add further multi-asset ambiguity to any company-wide date. Row exists to satisfy the stage=PRODUCTION lifecycle-gate check (src/lib/lifecycle-gates.ts). A future pass with more time on Hudbay's 2011-2013 historical news-release archive (Constancia's construction-decision era) could likely close this specific gap, similar to the equivalent IVN gap in this same batch. · Source
  3. Reached — date not disclosed · No single, cleanly-dated permit-grant or Final Investment Decision announcement for Constancia specifically was found in this pass, distinct from the general pre-2014 construction-progress reporting -- and Copper Mountain/Snow Lake add further multi-asset ambiguity to any company-wide date. Row exists to satisfy the stage=PRODUCTION lifecycle-gate check (src/lib/lifecycle-gates.ts). A future pass with more time on Hudbay's 2011-2013 historical news-release archive (Constancia's construction-decision era) could likely close this specific gap, similar to the equivalent IVN gap in this same batch. · Source
  4. Dec 2014 · Constancia (the flagship, largest producing asset and this record's commodity/milestone anchor) achieved initial production in Dec 2014, ahead of commercial production being formally declared 30 Apr 2015 (see COMMERCIAL_PRODUCTION row). Month/year precision. · Source
  5. Apr 2015 · Hudbay formally declared commercial production at Constancia on 30 Apr 2015, per the company's own Q1 2015 results release (whose headline directly announces the declaration). Full date precision, primary-source dated. · Source

Milestones are recorded only from a company's own dated disclosure. A milestone with no date shown is one we can confirm was reached but for which no date was disclosed — we don't estimate one. "Not yet reached" means exactly that, not that a date is missing. An "Expected" line likewise only ever reflects the company's own guidance (e.g. a study or permit decision targeted for a stated quarter) — most not-yet-reached milestones have none, and that absence means no such guidance has been disclosed, not that one is overdue.

Weak track recordStrong track record
5.5/10
Thin runwayWell-capitalized
7/10
High riskLow risk
How this is calculated
9.3/10
Weaker depositStronger deposit
7.3/10
Weaker profileStronger profile
Price Chart
$11.71$16.76$24.39$25.75$27.61AugNovMarJunSep
Aug 26, 2025Sep 4, 2026
$27.61
+141.8%from low-13.9%from high
$11.42$32.06
$13.2B
Far belowFar above
$1.5B median
Price (USD - Local)
$27.61 - CAD 38.21
Cash Position (USD)
$890.9M
Far belowFar above
$94M median
Debt (USD)
$860.2M
Far aboveFar below
$121.9M median
$13.1B
Far belowFar above
$1.4B median
444.1M
Far aboveFar below
670.9M median
Jurisdiction
Canada
This company's data hasn't been researched yet
This company's data hasn't been researched yet
This company's data hasn't been researched yet
Open pit and underground (Constancia: open pit; Snow Lake/Lalor: underground; Copper Mountain: open pit)
14 yrs
Far belowFar above
15 yrs median
This company's data hasn't been researched yet
Not enough peer data yet
This company's data hasn't been researched yet
Not enough peer data yet
This company's data hasn't been researched yet
This company's data hasn't been researched yet
This company's data hasn't been researched yet
This company's data hasn't been researched yet
This company's data hasn't been researched yet
This company's data hasn't been researched yet
This company's data hasn't been researched yet
This company's data hasn't been researched yet
Acquisition Susceptibility
6.3/10
Unlikely bolt-onFits the takeout profile

A relative ranking of how closely this company matches the profile of juniors that have actually been acquired — not a probability, and not a reason to buy. Acquisitions are rare: only a few dozen significant deals happen a year across a universe of thousands of juniors, so even a high score here describes a long shot. The strongest signal the underlying research identifies — whether a major already holds a JV, earn-in, or 5–19.9% strategic stake — isn't tracked yet and is absent from this score.

Overall Score Trend
+0% since 2026-08-26

Your Rankings

Community Sentiment
SELLINGBUYING
CategoryCommunityYour Ranking
Overall (0)Log in to rank
Management (0)Log in to rank
Financials (0)Log in to rank
Jurisdiction (0)Log in to rank
Project Quality (0)Log in to rank

Management Team

President and Chief Executive Officer of Hudbay Minerals Inc. since 2020.

President and Chief Financial Officer of Hudbay Minerals Inc.; CFO since 2022, promoted to also hold the President title effective July 2026.

Insiders, Investors & Smart Money

Notable shareholders and insiders whose involvement is worth knowing about, plus what we're seeing from institutional/large-investor activity.

Smart money

No smart-money tracking (institutional/large-investor activity) for this miner yet — this is a planned feature, not live data.

No notable insiders tracked for this miner yet.

Reports, Presentations & Documents

Technical Report Takeaways

Multi-asset producer (Constancia, Copper Mountain, Snow Lake) with no single consolidated corporate-level dcfNpvUsd/irrPct/technicalReportPriceAssumptionUsd figure disclosed -- same structural gap as this backlog's other multi-asset majors. ouncesFound is deliberately left null per this repo's still-open Task #324 ouncesFound/copper-unit policy question (Constancia's own reserves are reported as 488Mt @ 0.24% Cu, i.e. contained tonnes, not a gold-style ounces figure) -- same convention as BHP/SCCO/FCX/IVN in this backlog. mineLifeYears (to 2040, Constancia -- the flagship, largest producing asset) is used instead to satisfy the deposit-data gate.