JUNIORMETRICS
Gold$4,479.95/oz
Silver$66.98/oz
Copper$6.00/lb

Genesis Minerals Limited

GMD·$5.94·$5.4B cap
GoldLeonora Operations, Western Australia (Gwalia, Ulysses, Admiral, Harbour Lights, Tower Hill) Map

Genesis Minerals operates the Leonora Operations in Western Australia -- including the historic Gwalia underground mine, Ulysses, Admiral, and Harbour Lights, plus the Tower Hill growth project -- delivering record FY26 gold production of 285,402 oz within its 260,000-290,000 oz guidance range. On 2026-07-14 Genesis agreed to merge with Vault Minerals (ASX: VAU / OTC: REDLF, also tracked on this site) in an approximately A$12.6 billion deal creating a top-three Australian gold producer, not yet completed as of this writing.

Notable vs. Peers

  • Trading within 7% of its 52-week high — strong recent price momentum.

Lifecycle Milestones

Grassroots
Resource Def.
PEA
PFS
Feasibility
Permitting
Construction
ProductionCurrent

Construction Milestones

5 of 5 reached
  1. Reached — date not disclosed · The 'Laverton mill' Genesis restarted in Sept-Oct 2024 is the former Mt Morgans processing plant (confirmed via mining-technology.com's project page: the plant sits '25km south-west of Laverton,' and 'construction of the A$197m gold project started in January 2017' under Dacian Gold Limited, commercial production January 2019) -- not part of the Leonora Operations bought from St Barbara. Genesis separately acquired Dacian Gold via takeover (80.08% stake completed Feb 20, 2023; compulsory acquisition to 100% completed Dec 7, 2023), and continues operating the plant through the same subsidiary, Mt Morgans WA Mining Pty Ltd, that Dacian used (confirmed still in use post-acquisition via australianminingreview.com.au's Sept 2024 coverage of the Laverton mill restart, which references 'Mt Morgans WA Mining, a wholly owned subsidiary of Genesis'). The plant's original WA environmental/mining approvals were therefore obtained by Dacian Gold circa 2016, ahead of January 2017 construction start -- years before Genesis owned the asset. No new permit-grant event under Genesis's ownership was found; the 2024 restart reused the existing, already-permitted plant and subsidiary rather than obtaining a fresh grant. Same reused-pre-existing-permit shape as CMCL/Blanket (above) and HL/DRD (Task #646 batch 1). · Source
  2. Reached — date not disclosed · Genesis Minerals informed the ASX in early September 2024 that it would fast-track the Laverton mill restart, moving processing forward six months ahead of the previously planned schedule amid near-record Australian-dollar gold prices. Exact day not confirmed from available sourcing (source article unreachable at time of writing) -- recorded reached-but-undated based on secondary reporting. · Source
  3. Reached — date not disclosed · Following the accelerated-restart announcement (see CONSTRUCTION_DECISION), the Laverton mill was restarted in October 2024, ahead of first gold pour targeted for early November 2024. Exact day not confirmed from available sourcing -- recorded reached-but-undated. · Source
  4. Reached — date not disclosed · First gold pour from the restarted Laverton mill was targeted for early November 2024 per company guidance at the time. Genesis subsequently raised its FY24-25 group production guidance from 162,000-188,000oz to 190,000-210,000oz specifically citing the accelerated Laverton restart, indirect confirmation the mill was in fact producing -- but no single press release independently confirming the exact pour date was located before this research's web-search budget was exhausted. Recorded reached-but-undated (early November 2024) rather than treating the guidance increase as a substitute for a dated production event. · Source
  5. Reached — date not disclosed · Genuinely reached, but no single company-wide commercial-production date exists: Genesis Minerals had never produced an ounce of gold before acquiring the Leonora operations (including the historic Gwalia mine, producing continuously in various forms since 1896, most recently under St Barbara) from St Barbara in July 2023, and is now developing the new Tower Hill open pit (mining underway, Stage 2 construction started) alongside continuing Gwalia underground production. FY2026 (year to 30 June 2026) delivered record annual gold production of 285,402 oz at AISC of A$2,670/oz. Because Gwalia's production history long predates Genesis's July 2023 ownership, no single 'Genesis-era' commercial-production date is company-wide/unambiguous. This row was missing entirely prior to 2026-08-21 -- a genuine data gap, not a stage error; Miner.stage was already correctly PRODUCTION. · Source

Milestones are recorded only from a company's own dated disclosure. A milestone with no date shown is one we can confirm was reached but for which no date was disclosed — we don't estimate one. "Not yet reached" means exactly that, not that a date is missing. An "Expected" line likewise only ever reflects the company's own guidance (e.g. a study or permit decision targeted for a stated quarter) — most not-yet-reached milestones have none, and that absence means no such guidance has been disclosed, not that one is overdue.

10/10
Weak track recordStrong track record
6.3/10
Thin runwayWell-capitalized
9/10
High riskLow risk
How this is calculated
6.5/10
Weaker depositStronger deposit
8/10
Weaker profileStronger profile
Price Chart
$2.86$4.55$5.09$3.96$5.94AugNovFebJunSep
Aug 12, 2025Sep 4, 2026
News
$5.94
+111.6%from low-3.8%from high
$2.81$6.17
See who ↓
6.6%
Low alignmentHigh alignment
See who ↓
61.9%
Low alignmentHigh alignment
$5.4B
Far belowFar above
$557.1M median
Price (USD - Local)
$5.94 - AUD 8.24
Cash Position (USD)
$363.2M
Far belowFar above
$90.6M median
Debt (USD)
$139.7M
Far aboveFar below
$5.7M median
$5.1B
Far belowFar above
$486M median
1.1B
Far aboveFar below
303M median
Jurisdiction
Australia
4,400,000 oz
Far belowFar above
1.3M median
$1,167.01/oz
Far aboveFar below
$157.18/oz median
This company's data hasn't been researched yet
Underground
This company's data hasn't been researched yet
$1,864/oz
This company's data hasn't been researched yet
Not enough peer data yet
This company's data hasn't been researched yet
Not enough peer data yet
This company's data hasn't been researched yet
6.6%
0%100%
19.3% median
61.9%
0%100%
3% median
106 kmfrom Gold Fields Limited's Granny Smith
Outside typical bolt-on range
This company's data hasn't been researched yet
This company's data hasn't been researched yet
This company's data hasn't been researched yet
This company's data hasn't been researched yet
This company's data hasn't been researched yet
Acquisition Susceptibility
6.4/10
Unlikely bolt-onFits the takeout profile

A relative ranking of how closely this company matches the profile of juniors that have actually been acquired — not a probability, and not a reason to buy. Acquisitions are rare: only a few dozen significant deals happen a year across a universe of thousands of juniors, so even a high score here describes a long shot. The strongest signal the underlying research identifies — whether a major already holds a JV, earn-in, or 5–19.9% strategic stake — isn't tracked yet and is absent from this score.

Overall Score Trend
+27% since 2026-08-08

Your Rankings

Community Sentiment
SELLINGBUYING
CategoryCommunityYour Ranking
Overall (0)Log in to rank
Management (0)Log in to rank
Financials (0)Log in to rank
Jurisdiction (0)Log in to rank
Project Quality (0)Log in to rank

Management Team

Chief Executive Officer of Genesis Minerals Limited since 29 Jan 2026 (Chief Operating Officer immediately before, promoted when Raleigh Finlayson moved to Executive Chair). Qualified mining engineer with 14+ years of experience in underground and open pit operations across multiple commodities, for both mining-contractor and mine-owner companies. Began his career as an Underground Miner, then Project Engineer, at Redpath Mining Australia (a real mining contractor, too vague/undated to score). Mining Manager at Northern Star Resources Limited (Mar 2017-Feb 2021); COO then CEO of Labyrinth Resources Limited (formerly Orminex) from Feb 2021, transitioning to non-executive director Jul 2023. Joined Genesis Minerals as General Manager of its Leonora operations in Sep 2023, before becoming COO and then CEO -- an entirely internal Genesis progression from that point, not written as external roles. BEng (Hons) Mining Engineering, WASM/UNSW (2009); GAICD.

Executive Chair of Genesis Minerals Limited (previously Managing Director & CEO, Feb 2022-Jan 2026). Mining engineer with 20+ years of technical and operational experience across underground and open pit operations. 14-year tenure at Saracen Mineral Holdings Limited -- COO then Managing Director from 2013 (Thunderbox gold mine development, 50% KCGM Superpit purchase from Barrick Gold) -- during which Saracen's market cap grew from A$53m (2008) to A$6.0bn (2021), culminating in Saracen's merger with Northern Star Resources. Briefly Managing Director of the merged Northern Star Resources (~A$16bn) before departing to study at Harvard Business School and returning to junior exploration at Genesis Minerals from Feb 2022.

Chief Financial Officer of Genesis Minerals Limited since 2023. 30+ years of Australian and international experience in resources, logistics and finance. CFO and Company Secretary of Troy Resources Limited (1998-2008); senior financial and commercial roles with WMC Resources, Brambles and P&O (undated); Managing Director of BCI Minerals Ltd (2013-2016); CFO of Saracen Mineral Holdings Limited (2016-2020, through its merger with Northern Star Resources); CFO of the merged Northern Star Resources Limited (2020-2021), immediately before joining Genesis. BCom, University of Western Australia; member, Institute of Chartered Accountants; Fellow, FINSIA. Also serves as a Non-Executive Director of Chalice Mining Limited and Arrow Minerals Limited (board roles, not scored).

Insiders, Investors & Smart Money

Notable shareholders and insiders whose involvement is worth knowing about, plus what we're seeing from institutional/large-investor activity.

Smart money

Task #172 gate batch: smartMoneyScore rubric (playbook §7.6) applied 2026-08-15 -- GATED: marketCapUsd $5.36B >= $5.0B applicability threshold. At this size, index membership (GDX, S&P/TSX 60, Russell 1000) mechanically dominates the shareholder register, so absence of a visible specialist bet carries no information. RESEARCHED_UNKNOWN per playbook §6.4/§7.6.

No notable insiders tracked for this miner yet.

Reports, Presentations & Documents

Technical Report Takeaways

Genesis Minerals' Leonora-Laverton district (Gwalia, Ulysses, Admiral, Harbour Lights, Tower Hill, Jupiter, Bruno Lewis and others -- the whole of the company's single-region asset base) carried total Mineral Resources of 18.9 Moz and Proven+Probable Mineral Reserves of 4.4 Moz gold as at 31 Dec 2025 (up from a 2024 Gwalia-specific reserve of 3.3 Moz), per the company's Dec 2025 resource/reserve update. A 'ASPIRE 500' multi-year production/cost outlook was flagged by the company for release in the Sept 2026 quarter (not yet published as of this pass) -- no PEA/feasibility-style NPV/IRR study was found; Genesis (like most established ASX gold producers) discloses guidance and reserves, not a DCF study.