Greatland Resources Limited
Greatland Resources is Australia's third-largest gold miner, operating the 100%-owned Telfer gold-copper mine (Paterson region, WA) and advancing the 100%-owned Havieron brownfield development project, targeting a multi-decade Telfer-Havieron mining hub. A March 2026 Group Ore Reserve upgrade (Telfer +1.1Moz to 1.8Moz) lifted group reserves to 5.0 million ounces of gold plus 196,000 tonnes of copper (including Havieron's unchanged reserve). FY2026 (year ended 30 Jun 2026) production beat guidance at 328,987oz gold and 14,594t copper, at AISC of A$2,179/oz; FY27 guidance is 260-300koz at AISC of A$2,900-A$3,330/oz, reflecting planned Telfer growth capital (A$315-335M) and Havieron pre-production capital (A$365-435M). Cash reached A$1.29 billion by end of FY26 with a debt-free balance sheet.
Notable vs. Peers
- Financials score of 9.5/10 is stronger than the peer average of 6.5/10.
- All-in sustaining cost of $1,478/oz is 18% lower than the peer producer average of $1,810/oz.
Lifecycle Milestones
Construction Milestones
5 of 5 reached- Reached — date not disclosed · Source
- Reached — date not disclosed · Source
- Reached — date not disclosed · Source
- Reached — date not disclosed · Source
- Reached — date not disclosed · Source
Milestones are recorded only from a company's own dated disclosure. A milestone with no date shown is one we can confirm was reached but for which no date was disclosed — we don't estimate one. "Not yet reached" means exactly that, not that a date is missing. An "Expected" line likewise only ever reflects the company's own guidance (e.g. a study or permit decision targeted for a stated quarter) — most not-yet-reached milestones have none, and that absence means no such guidance has been disclosed, not that one is overdue.
Not in place: grid power.
Not in place: mill, tailings facility, road access, grid power.
Combined view across 2 projects. Figures below are only combined where the underlying basis genuinely matches -- see the notes under each.
- 22.5%Havieron
- 17 yrsHavieron
Jurisdiction (40%)9/10
Western Australia: Fraser PPI 2025 is 88.53 of 100 (rank 13 of 68), which maps to 9 on this site's scale. Western Australia (Paterson region) is a Tier-1 mining jurisdiction with stable, established mining law.
Infrastructure (40%)7.1/10
A confirmed mill, confirmed road access, no confirmed grid power, and a confirmed tailings facility at Telfer Gold-Copper Mine.
Nearby producing mine (20%)Not yet researched
No producing mine within 50 km in our reference list (nearest listed: Karlawinda (Capricorn Metals Ltd), 316 km). That list doesn't cover every mining district yet, so a longer distance isn't scored as remote.
Acquisition Susceptibility
A relative ranking of how closely this company matches the profile of juniors that have actually been acquired — not a probability, and not a reason to buy. Acquisitions are rare: only a few dozen significant deals happen a year across a universe of thousands of juniors, so even a high score here describes a long shot. The strongest signal in the research, a producer that already owns part of the company, is scored from its disclosed strategic shareholders. A producer that is a joint-venture or earn-in partner on the project, rather than a shareholder, isn't captured yet.
How this score is built
- Disclosed pending dealSub-score: Not scored
No pending acquisition or merger disclosed (checked)
Not scored: having no deal in flight isn't held against a company.
Weight 26.25% - Producer's strategic stakeSub-score: Not yet researched
Holder register not researched yet
Not scored: most juniors that do get bought had no prior toehold, so a missing stake says little either way.
Weight 25% - Distance to a producing mineSub-score:0/10
Nearest producing mine: Karlawinda (Capricorn Metals Ltd), 316 km
10 next to a producing mine, 8 at 20 km, 5 at 50 km, 0 beyond 200 km.
Weight 22.5% · 46% here - Lifecycle stageSub-score:5.5/10
Stage: Production
Feasibility and permitting score 10, where deals cluster, and production 5.5; earlier stages score less, down to 1 at grassroots.
Weight 15% · 31% here - JurisdictionSub-score:9/10
Australia: jurisdiction score 9/10
Our jurisdiction score, used as is: higher means lower political and permitting risk.
Weight 6.75% · 14% here - CommoditySub-score:10/10
Primary commodity: Gold
Gold 10, copper 8, silver 5, nickel and uranium 4, others 2: most majors' deals are for gold.
Weight 4.5% · 9% here
Weight is each input's share of the full score. “Here” is its share of this company's score: inputs that aren't scored are left out and the rest re-weighted, never counted as zero.
Your Rankings
Management Team
Chief Executive Officer and Managing Director of Greatland Resources Limited since 8 Feb 2021. 25+ years of experience in executive and commercial roles across mining, infrastructure and investment banking. Immediately before Greatland, CFO of Salt Lake Potash Ltd (2019-Dec 2020, resigning after completing an equity raise -- the company later collapsed into administration in Oct 2021, well after his departure, not attributable). CFO of Northern Star Resources Limited (2014-2019, overseeing market cap growth from A$700m to A$8bn). CFO of the SGX-listed Sakari Group, a top-50 Indonesian thermal coal exporter, for approximately 5 years before that. Member of the Senate at the University of Western Australia.
Chief Financial Officer of Greatland Resources Limited. Chartered Accountant with 19+ years of experience in both practice and public-listed companies within the mineral-extractive industries. Served as Acting CFO on two separate occasions (before Dean Horton's Jul 2024 appointment, and again after his Dec 2024 departure, when she was made permanent CFO) and as General Manager Finance in between. Began her career at PricewaterhouseCoopers (Audit and Financial Advisory teams), then held senior finance roles at ConocoPhillips and Santos Limited. Bachelor of Commerce, University of Western Australia.
Insiders, Investors & Smart Money
Notable shareholders and insiders whose involvement is worth knowing about, plus what we're seeing from institutional/large-investor activity.
Not scored. Smart-money tracking covers companies below about US$5B in market cap, where a single specialist fund or strategic investor taking a stake is a meaningful signal. This company was above that size when it was assessed.
No notable insiders tracked for this miner yet.
Reports, Presentations & Documents
Greatland Resources owns and operates the Telfer gold-copper mine in the Paterson region of Western Australia and is developing the Havieron project about 45 km to the east; both are 100% owned, and Havieron ore is to be processed through Telfer's existing mill. Its December 2025 group statement gives 7,800,000 oz of gold in measured and indicated resources (Telfer 3.7 Moz, Havieron 4.1 Moz, inclusive of reserves), with a further 7,100,000 oz inferred, and a March 2026 update lifted the group ore reserve to 5.0 Moz of gold plus 196,000 t of copper. Production in FY2026 (the year to 30 June 2026) was 328,987 oz of gold and 14,594 t of copper. Havieron's December 2025 feasibility study shows a post-tax NPV5% of US$2.03B (AUD 2.9B), a 22.5% IRR and a 17-year mine life at a long-term gold price of A$4,500/oz (US$3,150/oz at the study's long-term AUD:USD 0.70). The final investment decision was approved in June 2026, construction is under way with support from a US$500M corporate debt facility, and integrated Telfer-Havieron production is expected to begin in the 2027-28 financial year.