JUNIORMETRICS
Gold$4,479.95/oz
Silver$66.98/oz
Copper$6.00/lb

Golconda Gold Ltd.

GG·$2.26·$110M cap
GoldGalaxy Gold Mine, Barberton, Mpumalanga, South Africa (and Summit Project, Grant County, New Mexico) Map

Golconda Gold Ltd. (renamed from Galane Gold Ltd., October 2022) operates the producing Galaxy underground gold mine near Barberton, South Africa, reporting record quarterly production of 3,693 oz in Q1 2026 and 3,648 oz in Q2 2026 as mining ramps up on Galaxy's 26 Level. The company is simultaneously advancing its Summit gold property in New Mexico's Steeple Rock district, having mobilized a mining contractor there in mid-2026.

Notable vs. Peers

  • Jurisdiction risk score of 5/10 is meaningfully riskier than the peer average of 7.8/10.

Lifecycle Milestones

Grassroots
Resource Def.
PEA
PFS
Feasibility
Permitting
Construction
ProductionCurrent

Construction Milestones

5 of 5 reached
  1. Reached — date not disclosed · Galaxy operates under mining right "413 MR" (valid for gold mining until Sept 4, 2032), held by Galaxy Gold Reefs (Pty) Ltd, which purchased the mine/rights from African Pioneer Mining in Dec 2008 and began converting it to new-order mining-right status -- predating Golconda's (then Galane Gold's) Nov 2015 acquisition of the asset. Exact grant/conversion date not found in available sourcing. · Source
  2. Mar 2018 · Galane Gold entered a US$5,000,000 secured loan facility with Barak Fund SPC Limited, explicitly for refurbishment/expansion of the Galaxy processing plant and restarting underground mining -- the financing that funded the successful 2019 restart. An earlier, evidently insufficient ~US$2M board-approved first-phase restart programme (targeting Q4 2016 gold) had been announced July 18, 2016 but did not lead to sustained production. · Source
  3. Reached — date not disclosed · Physical refurbishment began after the July 2016 board approval, stalled, then resumed/continued following the March 2018 Barak financing -- a Feb 11, 2019 update confirmed plant refurbishment still underway ahead of the planned April 2019 restart. No single clean construction-start release exists for this two-phase, multi-year process. · Source
  4. Apr 2019 · Galane Gold commenced commissioning of the refurbished 15,000 tpm Galaxy plant and produced its first concentrate, five days after reporting first ore mined from the Princeton ore body (Apr 11, 2019). Commercial production was declared later, effective Dec 15, 2021. · Source
  5. Reached — date not disclosed · Genuinely reached, but no source found gives a specific month or day: Golconda acquired the Galaxy Gold Mine (Barberton Greenstone Belt, South Africa) in November 2015 and itself recommenced operations in 2019 -- Galaxy remains Golconda's sole current producing asset and cornerstone of the company, but no source found pins down the 2019 recommencement date or any formal 'commercial production declared' threshold with precision. Left null. This row was missing entirely prior to 2026-08-21 -- a genuine data gap, not a stage error; Miner.stage was already correctly PRODUCTION. · Source

Milestones are recorded only from a company's own dated disclosure. A milestone with no date shown is one we can confirm was reached but for which no date was disclosed — we don't estimate one. "Not yet reached" means exactly that, not that a date is missing. An "Expected" line likewise only ever reflects the company's own guidance (e.g. a study or permit decision targeted for a stated quarter) — most not-yet-reached milestones have none, and that absence means no such guidance has been disclosed, not that one is overdue.

10/10
Weak track recordStrong track record
6.3/10
Thin runwayWell-capitalized
5/10
High riskLow risk
How this is calculated
6.3/10
Weaker depositStronger deposit
6.9/10
Weaker profileStronger profile
Price Chart
$0.668$1.26$2.80$1.71$2.26AugNovMarJunSep
Aug 12, 2025Sep 4, 2026
News
$2.26
+108.1%from low-25.3%from high
$1.09$3.03
$110M
Far belowFar above
$563.3M median
Price (USD - Local)
$2.26 - CAD 3.13
Cash Position (USD)
$4.2M
Far belowFar above
$92.4M median
Debt (USD)
$0
Far aboveFar below
$6.2M median
$105.8M
Far belowFar above
$527M median
71.4M
Far aboveFar below
305.4M median
Jurisdiction
South Africa
970,904 oz
Far belowFar above
1.3M median
$109.00/oz
Far aboveFar below
$158.80/oz median
0.0814 oz/tCut-off: Underground Mineral Resource cut-off: 1.4 g/t Au (2020, lowered from 1.85 g/t in 2015 due to a higher $1,600/oz gold price assumption). Open pit cut-off not disclosed
Far belowFar above
0.04 oz/t median
Underground
20 yrs
Far belowFar above
11 yrs median
@5%$359M(at $4,300/oz)
Far belowFar above
$603M median
0.31x
Far aboveFar below
0.46x median
This company's data hasn't been researched yet
Not enough peer data yet
$4,300/oz4% below spot ($4,480/oz)
This company's data hasn't been researched yet
16.1%
0%100%
19.3% median
This company's data hasn't been researched yet
$9.3M
Far belowFar above
$44.1M median
$0.13
Far belowFar above
$0.152 median
11.82x
Far aboveFar below
23.23x median
This company's data hasn't been researched yet
This company's data hasn't been researched yet
Acquisition Susceptibility
6.1/10
Unlikely bolt-onFits the takeout profile

A relative ranking of how closely this company matches the profile of juniors that have actually been acquired — not a probability, and not a reason to buy. Acquisitions are rare: only a few dozen significant deals happen a year across a universe of thousands of juniors, so even a high score here describes a long shot. The strongest signal the underlying research identifies — whether a major already holds a JV, earn-in, or 5–19.9% strategic stake — isn't tracked yet and is absent from this score.

Risk/Reward Asymmetry
0.31x P/NAV· 3rd percentile of 36 stage+commodity peers· Known risk: jurisdiction

P/NAV of 0.31x sits in the 3rd percentile among 36 production-stage gold peers -- and its jurisdiction score of 5/10 is low enough to plausibly explain much of that discount: a known, identifiable risk the market may be pricing correctly today. This is the headline Risk/Reward Asymmetry pattern this screen looks for -- a real, specific risk (e.g. a permitting dispute or comparable jurisdiction issue) that, if it resolves favorably, could re-rate the stock sharply. A mechanical screen only: this does not by itself confirm there IS a resolvable catalyst, or that it resolves favorably -- see this company's own profile page for any completed, cited research (Task #530) into that real "why," where one exists yet.

No specific catalyst identified

[Task #530, 2026-08-22] Checked for a specific negative catalyst beyond South Africa's already-priced general operating risk (grid reliability, BEE requirements) and found the opposite of distress: Galaxy delivered record quarterly production in both Q1 2026 (3,693 oz) and Q2 2026 (3,648 oz, +20% YoY), the company took delivery of new mining fleet and progressed infrastructure builds in Q2, and its secondary Summit property (New Mexico -- materially lower jurisdiction risk) mobilized a mining contractor in the same period. Eskom load shedding, historically this jurisdiction's headline operating risk, had NO scheduled outages as of May 2026 and Eskom reported its strongest reserve margin in nearly a decade heading into winter. No dispute, incident, financing gap, or technical obstacle specific to this company was found -- if anything this looks like a company executing well at a small enough market cap ($110M) and low enough profile that the market hasn't caught up.

Sourceas of Jul 9, 2026Single source

A relative screen, not a probability and not a reason to buy. This flags companies trading unusually cheap vs. peers of the same lifecycle stage and commodity, for a real, identifiable reason (a jurisdiction risk, a specific dispute, an incident, a financing gap) that may or may not ever resolve favorably. "Unexplained" candidates carry no identified driver at all -- a more speculative bucket than a named catalyst.

Overall Score Trend
+21.1% since 2026-08-01 · -2.8% from peak

Your Rankings

Community Sentiment
SELLINGBUYING
CategoryCommunityYour Ranking
Overall (0)Log in to rank
Management (0)Log in to rank
Financials (0)Log in to rank
Jurisdiction (0)Log in to rank
Project Quality (0)Log in to rank

Management Team

Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of Golconda Gold Ltd. Emerging-markets financier; founded/led Navina Asset Management Toronto (since acquired); currently director of Blockchain Power Trust, Feronia Inc. and Eve & Co.; previously a director of ICC Labs and Elgin Mining.

Chief Operating Officer of Golconda Gold Ltd. 30 years of international mining experience across South Africa, Mali, Tajikistan, Kazakhstan, Romania and the Solomon Islands; former GM of the Gold Ridge Operation and COO of Galaxy Gold Mining. BSc, Witwatersrand; MDP, UNISA.

Chief Financial Officer of Golconda Gold Ltd. 18+ years of accounting, finance and business development experience in public markets; chartered accountant, MEng Chemical Engineering; started at PwC London, then 14 years in mining at Aureus Mining, Avesoro Resources and Golden Star Resources.

Insiders, Investors & Smart Money

Notable shareholders and insiders whose involvement is worth knowing about, plus what we're seeing from institutional/large-investor activity.

Smart money
1/10

Ownership is concentrated in management (CEO Ravi Sood, ~9.8%) rather than outside institutional or specialist-fund investors. Sood bought shares on the open market in December 2023 and August 2024, but the only insider activity in the past year was selling by senior officer Wayne Hatton-Jones (August-September 2025).

No notable insiders tracked for this miner yet.

Reports, Presentations & Documents

Technical Report Takeaways

We haven't parsed this company's PEA/PFS/FS recommendations yet — cut-off grade, mine life, DCF/NPV, and the report's own next-steps guidance are a planned research pass, not live data for every company yet.

AI take

Golconda Gold's October 2025 corporate presentation states a Galaxy Gold Mine (Barberton, Mpumalanga, South Africa; producing since 2019) resource base of 941,000 oz gold Measured+Indicated at 2.79 g/t, plus 1.37 million oz Inferred at 2.62 g/t, with a drill-ready plan to expand toward 4 Moz. FY2025 payable production was 10,143 oz; Q1/Q2 2026 quarterly production has been running at record levels (~3.6-3.7 koz/quarter) as the company ramps toward a stated 36,000 oz/yr target by 2031. NOTE: source PDF is image/scan-compressed and could not be text-extracted directly in this pass; the 941 koz M+I / 1.37 Moz Inferred figures are corroborated via Investing News Network's contemporaneous company-profile reporting of the same presentation series.