JUNIORMETRICS
Gold$4,479.95/oz
Silver$66.98/oz
Copper$6.00/lb

Gold Fields Limited

GFI·$48.18·$33.4B cap
GoldSouth Deep Gold Mine, South Africa Map

Gold Fields Limited is a globally diversified senior gold producer, NYSE/JSE-listed, with operations across South Africa (South Deep), Ghana (Tarkwa, Damang), Australia (St Ives, Gruyere), Peru (Cerro Corona) and Chile (Salares Norte, which achieved commercial production in late 2025). In Oct 2025 Gold Fields completed the $1.42 billion acquisition of Gold Road Resources, giving it full (100%) ownership of Gruyere (previously a 50/50 JV). Mike Fraser has been CEO since Jan 2024; Alex Dall is CFO (permanent appointment Mar 2025, after serving as interim CFO from May 2024). South Deep delivered 309koz in 2025, up 16% YoY. FY2026 guidance is 2.4-2.6 million oz production, $1.9-2.1B total capital, and AISC of $1,800-2,000/oz.

Notable vs. Peers

  • Financials score of 4.6/10 is weaker than the peer average of 6.4/10.

Lifecycle Milestones

Grassroots
Resource Def.
PEA
PFS
Feasibility
Permitting
Construction
ProductionCurrent

Construction Milestones

5 of 5 reached
  1. Reached — date not disclosed · Multi-mine, multi-country producer with mines permitted independently over years/decades; no single company-wide permit date exists. Row presence documents that current producing mines are, by definition, permitted. · Source
  2. Reached — date not disclosed · Same multi-mine caveat as PERMIT_GRANTED -- no single company-wide construction-decision date represents a multi-asset portfolio built up over years. · Source
  3. Jan 2021 · Approximate -- anchored to Salares Norte (Chile) construction, Gold Fields' most recent major build, ahead of its late-2025 commercial production. · Source
  4. Oct 2025 · Salares Norte (Chile) achieved commercial production in late 2025, per Gold Fields' own reporting -- the most recent, best-documented first-production event in the current portfolio. Other mines (e.g. South Deep, Tarkwa) have produced for far longer. · Source
  5. Reached — date not disclosed · Genuinely reached, but no single company-wide commercial-production date exists across a multi-mine, multi-country portfolio (South Deep in South Africa, Tarkwa in Ghana, St Ives and Gruyere in Australia, Salares Norte in Chile, Cerro Corona in Peru) assembled over decades. Q2 2026 operational update reported Group attributable gold-equivalent production of ~630koz, with Salares Norte outperforming and Gruyere/Tarkwa both operating (each flagged as at risk of full-year guidance due to first-half softness, but both actively producing); H1 2026 financial results were released 2026-08-25. This row was missing entirely prior to 2026-08-21 -- a genuine data gap, not a stage error; Miner.stage was already correctly PRODUCTION. · Source

Milestones are recorded only from a company's own dated disclosure. A milestone with no date shown is one we can confirm was reached but for which no date was disclosed — we don't estimate one. "Not yet reached" means exactly that, not that a date is missing. An "Expected" line likewise only ever reflects the company's own guidance (e.g. a study or permit decision targeted for a stated quarter) — most not-yet-reached milestones have none, and that absence means no such guidance has been disclosed, not that one is overdue.

Combined view across 4 projects. Figures below are only combined where the underlying basis genuinely matches -- see the notes under each.

Combined resource
6.6M oz
Sum of 1 of 4 projects with a disclosed figure (others not yet researched)
IRR
Not combined
IRR is not additive across independent projects -- see each project's own tab for its figure
Combined NPV, by discount-rate basis
$138.7M
At 10.8% discount rate -- South Deep
$654M
At 7.5% discount rate -- Salares Norte
$355M
At 8% discount rate -- Gruyere

Shown as separate totals, not summed together: these projects' studies used different discount rates, so a single combined NPV would not be a real number.

10/10
Weak track recordStrong track record
4.6/10
Thin runwayWell-capitalized
8/10
High riskLow risk
How this is calculated
7.7/10
Weaker depositStronger deposit
7.6/10
Weaker profileStronger profile
Price Chart
$31.37$39.31$58.52$39.12$48.18AugNovFebJunSep3
Aug 12, 2025Sep 4, 2026
News
$48.18
+71.4%from low-19.6%from high
$28.11$59.90
See who ↓
0%
Low alignmentHigh alignment
See who ↓
20.9%
Low alignmentHigh alignment
$33.4B
Far belowFar above
$557.1M median
Price (USD - Local)
$48.18
Cash Position (USD)
$1.8B
Far belowFar above
$90.6M median
Debt (USD)
$3.2B
Far aboveFar below
$5.7M median
$34.8B
Far belowFar above
$486M median
894.4M
Far aboveFar below
303M median
Jurisdiction
South Africa
34,200,000 oz
Far belowFar above
1.3M median
$1,017.84/oz
Far aboveFar below
$157.18/oz median
This company's data hasn't been researched yet
Open pit and underground
See projects ↓
This company's data hasn't been researched yet
$1,829/oz
See projects ↓
This company's data hasn't been researched yet
See projects ↓
Not enough peer data yet
This company's data hasn't been researched yet
Not enough peer data yet
See projects ↓
This company's data hasn't been researched yet
0%
0%100%
19.3% median
20.9%
0%100%
3% median
1770 kmfrom CMOC Group Limited's Tenke Fungurume
Outside typical bolt-on range
This company's data hasn't been researched yet
This company's data hasn't been researched yet
This company's data hasn't been researched yet
$4.1B
Far belowFar above
$455.1M median
$4.60
Far belowFar above
$2.02 median
Acquisition Susceptibility
3.7/10
Unlikely bolt-onFits the takeout profile

A relative ranking of how closely this company matches the profile of juniors that have actually been acquired — not a probability, and not a reason to buy. Acquisitions are rare: only a few dozen significant deals happen a year across a universe of thousands of juniors, so even a high score here describes a long shot. The strongest signal the underlying research identifies — whether a major already holds a JV, earn-in, or 5–19.9% strategic stake — isn't tracked yet and is absent from this score.

Overall Score Trend
+38.2% since 2026-08-08

Your Rankings

Community Sentiment
SELLINGBUYING
CategoryCommunityYour Ranking
Overall (0)Log in to rank
Management (0)Log in to rank
Financials (0)Log in to rank
Jurisdiction (0)Log in to rank
Project Quality (0)Log in to rank

Management Team

Chief Executive Officer of Gold Fields Limited since 1 Jan 2024. Before Gold Fields, CEO of Chaarat Gold Holdings Ltd (2022-2024); President & COO of South32 Limited's global aluminium, nickel, manganese and energy coal businesses (2015-2022, since South32's spin-off from BHP); and 2001-2015 at BHP rising through Human Resources, including GM of the Mozal Aluminium Smelter in Mozambique.

Chief Financial Officer and Executive Director of Gold Fields Limited, full-time appointment effective 1 Mar 2025 (interim CFO from Apr 2024). Joined Gold Fields in 2014 in SOX and technical accounting, promoted to VP Corporate Finance in 2022 -- his entire substantive career has been built inside Gold Fields; before that, completed his chartered-accountant articles at KPMG in the energy and natural resources department.

Insiders, Investors & Smart Money

Notable shareholders and insiders whose involvement is worth knowing about, plus what we're seeing from institutional/large-investor activity.

Smart money

Task #172 gate batch: smartMoneyScore rubric (playbook §7.6) applied 2026-08-15 -- GATED: marketCapUsd $33.37B >= $5.0B applicability threshold. At this size, index membership (GDX, S&P/TSX 60, Russell 1000) mechanically dominates the shareholder register, so absence of a visible specialist bet carries no information. RESEARCHED_UNKNOWN per playbook §6.4/§7.6.

No notable insiders tracked for this miner yet.

Reports, Presentations & Documents

Technical Report Takeaways

We haven't parsed this company's PEA/PFS/FS recommendations yet — cut-off grade, mine life, DCF/NPV, and the report's own next-steps guidance are a planned research pass, not live data for every company yet.