Gemfields Group Limited
Gemfields Group Limited is a coloured-gemstone miner and marketer, 75% owner and operator of both Kagem Mining Limited in Zambia (believed to be the world's single largest producing emerald mine) and Montepuez Ruby Mining (MRM) in Mozambique (one of the most significant ruby deposits found in recent decades). Value is realized primarily through periodic gemstone auctions rather than continuous production sales -- H1 2026 auction revenue was $102.9 million, up from $60 million in H1 2025. MRM has faced real operational headwinds in 2026: weak premium-grade ruby recovery (0.025 carats/tonne in H1 2026), security disruption, illegal mining activity, and delayed Mozambique VAT receipts; a second MRM processing plant is expected to be fully commissioned later in 2026. CEO Sean Gilbertson stepped down by mutual agreement effective 15 Jul 2026 after an 8-year tenure; CFO David Lovett is serving as interim CEO while the board searches for a permanent successor, under chairman Bruce Cleaver. The company sold its Faberge luxury-jewellery subsidiary for $50 million in Aug 2025 and completed a $30 million rights issue in Jun 2025 to strengthen the balance sheet.
Notable vs. Peers
- Financials score of 10/10 is stronger than the peer average of 5.4/10.
- Jurisdiction risk score of 5/10 is meaningfully riskier than the peer average of 7.4/10.
Lifecycle Milestones
Construction Milestones
5 of 5 reached- Reached — date not disclosed · Exclusive 25-year mining licence over the Montepuez deposit granted by the Mozambican government in November 2011, ahead of Gemfields completing its 75% acquisition of the project (Feb 27, 2012). Exact day within November 2011 not confirmed from available sourcing -- recorded reached-but-undated. · Source
- Feb 2012 · Completion of Gemfields' acquisition of a 75% interest in Montepuez Ruby Mining Limitada (Mwiriti holding the remaining 25%), enabling mine development to proceed following the November 2011 mining licence grant. · Source
- Reached — date not disclosed · Mine development at Montepuez proceeded through 2012 following the February 2012 acquisition completion, ahead of first bulk sampling in November 2012. No single dated 'construction start' release found; recorded reached-but-undated. · Source
- Reached — date not disclosed · Montepuez Ruby Mining took its first rubies out of the ground in late 2012, with bulk sampling beginning November 2012 -- roughly a year after mine development began. Exact day not confirmed from available sourcing -- recorded reached-but-undated. · Source
- Reached — date not disclosed · Genuinely reached, but no single company-wide commercial-production date exists across a genuine two-asset, two-country, two-commodity portfolio: the Kagem emerald mine (Zambia) commenced commercial production in July 2009, while the Montepuez ruby mine (Mozambique) commenced in June 2014 -- matching the Centerra Gold/CAML/APM precedent, no single company-wide date. Both dates noted for completeness, neither used as this row's achievedDate. This row was missing entirely prior to 2026-08-21 -- a genuine data gap, not a stage error; Miner.stage was already correctly PRODUCTION. · Source
Milestones are recorded only from a company's own dated disclosure. A milestone with no date shown is one we can confirm was reached but for which no date was disclosed — we don't estimate one. "Not yet reached" means exactly that, not that a date is missing. An "Expected" line likewise only ever reflects the company's own guidance (e.g. a study or permit decision targeted for a stated quarter) — most not-yet-reached milestones have none, and that absence means no such guidance has been disclosed, not that one is overdue.
A relative ranking of how closely this company matches the profile of juniors that have actually been acquired — not a probability, and not a reason to buy. Acquisitions are rare: only a few dozen significant deals happen a year across a universe of thousands of juniors, so even a high score here describes a long shot. The strongest signal the underlying research identifies — whether a major already holds a JV, earn-in, or 5–19.9% strategic stake — isn't tracked yet and is absent from this score.
Your Rankings
Management Team
Chief Financial Officer of Gemfields Group Limited.
Chairman and independent non-executive director of Gemfields Group Limited since 1 July 2024 -- missing from this DB entirely before this batch (only the CEO and Interim CEO/CFO were tracked). Former CEO of De Beers Group, 2016 to early 2023, then co-chair for approximately one further year; a director of De Beers from 2008, responsible at different times for exploration, strategy, corporate affairs and commercial matters. During his CEO tenure, De Beers improved its safety record, brought several new mines onstream, made sustainability a core part of the business, launched the Lightbox lab-grown-diamond brand, and created the first fully distributed diamond blockchain (Tracr).
Insiders, Investors & Smart Money
Notable shareholders and insiders whose involvement is worth knowing about, plus what we're seeing from institutional/large-investor activity.
South African mining major Assore Holdings has held a 20% stake in Gemfields for years, a long-standing strategic position rather than a fresh cash purchase. Institutions separately hold about 35% of the register, and Chairman Patrick Sacco bought roughly R38 million of stock in the past year.
No notable insiders tracked for this miner yet.
Reports, Presentations & Documents
Gemfields is a coloured-gemstone (emerald + ruby) producer, not a metal miner -- its Kagem (75% GGL, Zambia) and Montepuez (75% GGL, Mozambique) mines report Mineral Resources/Reserves in CARATS under JORC/SAMREC, not troy ounces, so this repo's ouncesFound field (troy-oz shaped) cannot hold a real figure without a fabricated unit conversion -- same structural mismatch already flagged for LUC's diamond carats (Task #317 wave 5, and this same wave 6 batch). REAL FIGURES FOUND, dated and vintage-mixed: Kagem's most-recent SRK Consulting CPR located this pass (effective 23 Sep 2015) supported Proved+Probable Reserves of ~1.1 billion carats over a ~25-year LOM; Kagem's own current site states total attributable Mineral Resources (combined emerald+beryl, all categories) of 1,088 million carats at an average USD2.06/ct as of 31 Dec 2024, and a separate current disclosure states Kagem forecasts recovering 750 million carats over its remaining LoM. Montepuez's SRK CPR (SAMREC, effective per the 21 Jan 2019 release) gave Indicated+Inferred Mineral Resource of 467 million carats @ 62.3 ct/t and Probable Ore Reserve of 432 million carats @ 15.7 ct/t diluted, over a 21-year LOM (Competent Person Dr Lucy Roberts, SRK). A newer, company-wide 'Gemstone Resources and Gemstone Reserves Report (Kagem and MRM) -- 31 December 2025' (released 26 Mar 2026, SAMREC 2016) supersedes some/all of the above but its specific carat/LOM figures could not be extracted this pass -- the PDF returned only undecodable binary via the tools available, and no secondary source quoting its exact numbers was found. Given (a) the Kagem/Montepuez figures on hand are 1-11 years stale relative to today and materially inconsistent in vintage with each other, and (b) NO NPV or IRR figure of any kind was found anywhere for either mine across this pass -- confirmed directly against Gemfields' own CPR/Resources-and-Reserves index page, which lists CPR documents but explicitly carries no NPV/IRR disclosure -- ouncesFound/dcfNpvUsd/irrPct/mineLifeYears are all left as researched-but-unresolved rather than forcing a stale or ambiguous number. The NPV/IRR absence looks structural: gemstone value here is realised through periodic rough-gemstone auctions (reported in $/ct realised at auction), not a PEA/DFS-style discounted cashflow study, the same shape GGP's Telfer and VALT's Mogalakwena (this same wave 6 batch) show for other reasons.