Galiano Gold Inc.
Galiano Gold (formerly Asanko Gold, renamed April 2020) holds a 90% interest in the Asanko Gold Mine in Ghana's Ashanti Gold Belt. Q1 2026 results showed production up 68% year-over-year, record revenue, and $32.7M profit as gold prices averaged $4,857/oz; the company ended Q1 2026 with $114.9M cash and no debt.
Notable vs. Peers
- Financials score of 10/10 is stronger than the peer average of 6.4/10.
- Jurisdiction risk score of 6/10 is meaningfully riskier than the peer average of 7.8/10.
Lifecycle Milestones
Construction Milestones
5 of 5 reached- Reached — date not disclosed · PMI Gold (predecessor) procured Obotan's mining lease shortly after completing its feasibility study, prior to being acquired by Asanko in Feb 2014; exact grant date not located. · Source
- Reached — date not disclosed · No standalone FID release was located; the development decision followed directly from Asanko's Feb 2014 acquisition/consolidation of PMI Gold's Obotan project and its completed feasibility study. · Source
- Reached — date not disclosed · Construction of Phase One of the Obotan/Asanko development started August 2014; exact day not disclosed. · Source
- Jan 2016 · Asanko Gold Mine (Nkran pit) poured first gold; commercial production declared April 1, 2016. Galiano Gold (renamed from Asanko Gold) completed buyout of Gold Fields' 45% stake March 5, 2024, giving Galiano 90% ownership and sole operatorship. · Source
- Apr 2016 · Genuinely reached with a clean, single, well-documented date: gold production at the Asanko Gold Mine (Ghana) commenced January 2016 and commercial production was declared effective 2016-04-01, under Asanko Gold Inc. -- the LITERAL SAME corporate entity as Galiano Gold Inc. today (renamed effective 2020-04-30/2020-05-05 per the company's own shareholder-approved name-change filings, not a different company acquiring a legacy asset). The Asanko Gold Mine was a 50:50 JV with Gold Fields at the time of the 2016 declaration; Galiano increased its stake to 90% in 2024 by buying out Gold Fields (Ghana government retains the remaining 10%) -- noted for completeness, does not alter the underlying 2016 milestone date. This row was missing entirely prior to 2026-08-21 -- a genuine data gap, not a stage error; Miner.stage was already correctly PRODUCTION. · Source
Milestones are recorded only from a company's own dated disclosure. A milestone with no date shown is one we can confirm was reached but for which no date was disclosed — we don't estimate one. "Not yet reached" means exactly that, not that a date is missing. An "Expected" line likewise only ever reflects the company's own guidance (e.g. a study or permit decision targeted for a stated quarter) — most not-yet-reached milestones have none, and that absence means no such guidance has been disclosed, not that one is overdue.
A relative ranking of how closely this company matches the profile of juniors that have actually been acquired — not a probability, and not a reason to buy. Acquisitions are rare: only a few dozen significant deals happen a year across a universe of thousands of juniors, so even a high score here describes a long shot. The strongest signal the underlying research identifies — whether a major already holds a JV, earn-in, or 5–19.9% strategic stake — isn't tracked yet and is absent from this score.
Your Rankings
Management Team
President, Chief Executive Officer and Director of Galiano Gold Inc.
Executive Vice President and Chief Operating Officer of Galiano Gold Inc.
Executive Vice President and Chief Financial Officer of Galiano Gold Inc.
Vice President, Exploration at Galiano Gold Inc.
Senior Vice President, External Affairs & Sustainability at Galiano Gold Inc.
Vice President, Corporate Development at Galiano Gold Inc.
Vice President, Technical Services at Galiano Gold Inc.
Insiders, Investors & Smart Money
Notable shareholders and insiders whose involvement is worth knowing about, plus what we're seeing from institutional/large-investor activity.
Institutional ownership is very high (80%), and the register includes a genuine specialist alongside several generalists: Equinox Partners Investment Management, Sean Fieler's energy- and mining-focused hedge fund, holds a real 5.33% -- a stronger signal than the small Franklin and American Century gold-fund stakes previously noted here. Donald Smith & Co. (8.84%), Ruffer LLP (5.51%) and Aegis Financial Corp (5.40%) round out the disclosed register, all real but generalist deep-value/multi-asset managers rather than resource-sector conviction bets. Two directors bought stock on the open market in the past year, though larger selling by company officers offsets that buying. Gold Fields, the project's former joint-venture partner, sold its entire stake to Galiano in 2024 and is no longer a shareholder of note -- the opposite of a producer taking a position.
No notable insiders tracked for this miner yet.
Reports, Presentations & Documents
We haven't parsed this company's PEA/PFS/FS recommendations yet — cut-off grade, mine life, DCF/NPV, and the report's own next-steps guidance are a planned research pass, not live data for every company yet.