JUNIORMETRICS
Gold$4,479.95/oz
Silver$66.98/oz
Copper$6.00/lb

Fresnillo plc

FRES·$42.50·$26.9B cap
Silveralso:Fresnillo Silver Mine, Zacatecas, Mexico Map

Fresnillo plc is the world's largest primary silver producer and Mexico's second-largest gold miner, London-listed (LSE:FRES) with all 7 of its mines located in Mexico: the flagship Fresnillo underground silver mine, Saucito (adjacent underground silver mine), Ciénega, Herradura (open-pit gold), Noche Buena, Juanicipio (a high-grade silver-gold JV with MAG Silver/Pan American Silver, the latter also seeded in this batch) and San Julián. CEO is Octavio Alvídrez; CFO is Mario Arreguín. H1 2026 revenue rose 74.7% YoY to $3.4B on elevated silver/gold prices, with free cash flow of $1,257M against operating cash flow of $1,493M; silver sales volumes of 23.4 Moz exceeded H1 production of 22 Moz, while H1 gold production of 290.9 koz fell 7.3% YoY. AISC rose 48.3% YoY, driven by higher cash costs and increased sustaining/capitalized development capex.

Lifecycle Milestones

Grassroots
Resource Def.
PEA
PFS
Feasibility
Permitting
Construction
ProductionCurrent

Construction Milestones

5 of 5 reached
  1. Reached — date not disclosed · Multi-mine, multi-country producer with mines permitted independently over years/decades; no single company-wide permit date exists. Row presence documents that current producing mines are, by definition, permitted. · Source
  2. Reached — date not disclosed · Same multi-mine caveat as PERMIT_GRANTED -- no single company-wide construction-decision date represents a multi-asset portfolio built up over years. · Source
  3. Reached — date not disclosed · Same multi-mine caveat -- see the flagship-project-specific note in this miner's description/technicalReportNote for the best-documented individual mine build in the current portfolio. · Source
  4. Reached — date not disclosed · Row presence confirms current production status -- H1 2026 silver sales of 23.4 Moz and gold production of 290.9 koz, per Fresnillo's own H1 2026 results release. The Fresnillo mine itself has operated since the colonial era in various forms; no single meaningful modern first-production date exists across the 7-mine portfolio. · Source
  5. Reached — date not disclosed · Genuinely reached, but no single company-wide commercial-production date exists across a multi-mine Mexican silver/gold portfolio (Fresnillo, Saucito, Juanicipio JV, Herradura, Noche Buena, San Julian, Cienega) built over decades (the Fresnillo mine itself has operated since the colonial era under various owners, with the modern Fresnillo plc entity formed 2008). Q2 2026 production results reported total silver production of 10,928 koz and gold production of 154,812 oz (up 13.8% q/q), with full-year 2026 guidance reiterated. This row was missing entirely prior to 2026-08-21 -- a genuine data gap, not a stage error; Miner.stage was already correctly PRODUCTION. · Source

Milestones are recorded only from a company's own dated disclosure. A milestone with no date shown is one we can confirm was reached but for which no date was disclosed — we don't estimate one. "Not yet reached" means exactly that, not that a date is missing. An "Expected" line likewise only ever reflects the company's own guidance (e.g. a study or permit decision targeted for a stated quarter) — most not-yet-reached milestones have none, and that absence means no such guidance has been disclosed, not that one is overdue.

10/10
Weak track recordStrong track record
6.7/10
Thin runwayWell-capitalized
6/10
High riskLow risk
How this is calculated
7.5/10
Weaker depositStronger deposit
7.6/10
Weaker profileStronger profile
Price Chart
$23.43$30.76$58.42$40.81$42.50AugNovFebJunSep
Aug 12, 2025Sep 4, 2026
News
$42.50
+79.5%from low-27.5%from high
$23.68$58.64
See who ↓
75%
Low alignmentHigh alignment
See who ↓
2.5%
Low alignmentHigh alignment
$26.9B
Far belowFar above
$465.2M median
Price (USD - Local)
$42.50 - GBP 31.45
Cash Position (USD)
$2.5B
Far belowFar above
$75.5M median
Debt (USD)
$840M
Far aboveFar below
$7.5M median
$25.3B
Far belowFar above
$363.9M median
736.9M
Far aboveFar below
306.9M median
Jurisdiction
Mexico
362,600,000 oz
Far belowFar above
47.1M median
$69.71/oz
Far aboveFar below
$5.38/oz median
This company's data hasn't been researched yet
Open pit and underground
This company's data hasn't been researched yet
$32.87/AgEq oz
This company's data hasn't been researched yet
Not enough peer data yet
This company's data hasn't been researched yet
Not enough peer data yet
This company's data hasn't been researched yet
75%
0%100%
12.1% median
2.5%
0%100%
7.7% median
205 kmfrom Newmont Corporation's Peñasquito
Outside typical bolt-on range
$1.3B
Far belowFar above
$44.5M median
$1.71
Far belowFar above
$0.103 median
21.43x
Far aboveFar below
41.48x median
$1.9B
Far belowFar above
$568M median
$2.63
Far belowFar above
$1.00 median
Acquisition Susceptibility
3/10
Unlikely bolt-onFits the takeout profile

A relative ranking of how closely this company matches the profile of juniors that have actually been acquired — not a probability, and not a reason to buy. Acquisitions are rare: only a few dozen significant deals happen a year across a universe of thousands of juniors, so even a high score here describes a long shot. The strongest signal the underlying research identifies — whether a major already holds a JV, earn-in, or 5–19.9% strategic stake — isn't tracked yet and is absent from this score.

Overall Score Trend
+46.2% since 2026-08-08

Your Rankings

Community Sentiment
SELLINGBUYING
CategoryCommunityYour Ranking
Overall (0)Log in to rank
Management (0)Log in to rank
Financials (0)Log in to rank
Jurisdiction (0)Log in to rank
Project Quality (0)Log in to rank

Management Team

Chief Executive Officer of Fresnillo plc since 15 Aug 2012. Joined the Peñoles Group (Fresnillo's majority parent) in Aug 1988, holding a series of senior operational and financial roles -- Treasurer, Head of Investor Relations (London), Head of Procurement of Concentrates, General Manager of the Madero mine, and EVP Exploration, Engineering and Construction -- before becoming Fresnillo's CEO.

Chief Financial Officer of Fresnillo plc since its 2008 IPO/demerger from Industrias Peñoles. Before that, Group Treasurer (~6 years) then Chief Financial Officer (~11 years) of Industrias Peñoles (Fresnillo's majority parent); earlier still, investment banking at Valores Finamex and project management at Dupont México.

Insiders, Investors & Smart Money

Notable shareholders and insiders whose involvement is worth knowing about, plus what we're seeing from institutional/large-investor activity.

Smart money

Task #172 gate batch: smartMoneyScore rubric (playbook §7.6) applied 2026-08-15 -- GATED: marketCapUsd $26.94B >= $5.0B applicability threshold. At this size, index membership (GDX, S&P/TSX 60, Russell 1000) mechanically dominates the shareholder register, so absence of a visible specialist bet carries no information. RESEARCHED_UNKNOWN per playbook §6.4/§7.6.

No notable insiders tracked for this miner yet.

Reports, Presentations & Documents

Technical Report Takeaways

Company-wide Proven+Probable SILVER reserves of 362.6 Moz (+9.4% YoY, driven by higher metals prices and a lower cut-off grade) as of 31 Dec 2025, per Fresnillo's FY2025 preliminary results (3 Mar 2026). Gold reserves (7.8 Moz Au, +7.4% YoY) are DELIBERATELY EXCLUDED from this AgEq-shaped field -- Fresnillo's own confirmed Au:Ag reserve-price assumption could not be located this pass (the FY25 prelims PDF returned undecodable binary via the tools available; one secondary source referenced Fresnillo 'moving toward' $2,800/oz Au and $33/oz Ag but this read as forward guidance, not a confirmed YE2025 reserve assumption, and was not relied on). This is silver-only, NOT a full AgEq figure -- flagged explicitly so a reader doesn't assume gold is already folded in. PORTFOLIO SCOPE: Fresnillo operates 7 Mexican mines (Fresnillo underground silver, Saucito, Cienega, Herradura open-pit gold, Noche Buena, Juanicipio JV w/ Pan American Silver, San Julian) -- no company-wide DCF/NPV/IRR study exists; the FY2025 prelims report contains no NPV or IRR figure for any individual mine or the company as a whole.