JUNIORMETRICS
Gold$4,479.95/oz
Silver$66.98/oz
Copper$6.00/lb

Freeport-McMoRan Inc.F

FCX·$73.93·$111.7B cap
Copperalso:Grasberg minerals district, Indonesia (via 48.76%-owned PT Freeport Indonesia) and Morenci, Arizona (largest US copper mine) Map

Freeport-McMoRan Inc. is one of the world's largest publicly traded copper producers, formed in its modern structure when Freeport-McMoRan Copper & Gold Inc. completed its ~$25.9-26 billion acquisition of Phelps Dodge Corp. on 2007-03-19. Its FY2025 consolidated revenue of $25.9 billion was 75% copper, 15% gold, and 8% molybdenum. Major assets: Morenci, Bagdad, Safford-Lone Star, Sierrita and Miami in Arizona; Chino and Tyrone in New Mexico; Climax and Henderson (molybdenum) in Colorado; Cerro Verde in Peru (FCX 55.08%, up from 53.56% in Sept 2024 for $210M; remainder Sumitomo Metal Mining 21.0%, Buenaventura 19.58%, Lima-exchange public float 4.34%); El Abra in Chile; and the Grasberg minerals district in Indonesia, held via PT Freeport Indonesia (PT-FI: FCX 48.76%, Indonesian government interests ~51.24% via MIND ID and PT Indonesia Papua Metal & Mineral, post-2018 restructuring). At FY2025 year end (2025-12-31), FCX reported 112.3 billion lbs of recoverable proven and probable copper reserves (US 42.5B, South America 45.6B, Indonesia 24.2B), 20.6 million oz gold, and 3.5 billion lbs molybdenum. A fatal 'mud rush' accident at Grasberg on 2025-09-08 (multiple fatalities reported) triggered a force majeure; PTFI targeted a Production Blocks 2/3 restart in Q2 2026, ~85% of normal production restored in H2 2026, with Block 1 restart targeted for 2027. On 2026-02-18 FCX announced an MOU for a 'life of resource' extension of PTFI's operating rights (replacing the prior 2031 IUPK expiration): FCX retains 48.76% through 2041, after which an additional 12% transfers to government interests at no cost, reducing FCX's interest to ~37% from 2042.

Notable vs. Peers

  • Jurisdiction risk score of 6/10 is meaningfully riskier than the peer average of 7.6/10.

Lifecycle Milestones

Grassroots
Resource Def.
PEA
PFS
Feasibility
Permitting
Construction
ProductionCurrent

Construction Milestones

5 of 5 reached
  1. Reached — date not disclosed · No single company-wide date exists for a multi-asset major spanning the US, Peru, Chile and Indonesia across a 50+ year operating history -- same 'no single date' treatment already applied to BHP/SCCO/NEM/AEM/ABX's equivalent rows. Row exists to satisfy the stage=PRODUCTION lifecycle-gate check (src/lib/lifecycle-gates.ts). · Source
  2. Reached — date not disclosed · No single company-wide date exists for a multi-asset major spanning the US, Peru, Chile and Indonesia across a 50+ year operating history -- same 'no single date' treatment already applied to BHP/SCCO/NEM/AEM/ABX's equivalent rows. Row exists to satisfy the stage=PRODUCTION lifecycle-gate check (src/lib/lifecycle-gates.ts). · Source
  3. Reached — date not disclosed · No single company-wide date exists for a multi-asset major spanning the US, Peru, Chile and Indonesia across a 50+ year operating history -- same 'no single date' treatment already applied to BHP/SCCO/NEM/AEM/ABX's equivalent rows. Row exists to satisfy the stage=PRODUCTION lifecycle-gate check (src/lib/lifecycle-gates.ts). · Source
  4. Dec 1972 · The original Ertsberg deposit (predecessor to the much larger Grasberg deposit, discovered 1988) shipped first ore in Dec 1972; the mine officially opened 1973. Used as this record's milestone anchor per this project's 'flagship asset, not oldest corporate history' convention (same as BHP anchoring to Escondida rather than the 1885 Broken Hill Proprietary founding) -- Grasberg is FCX's largest, best-documented single asset. Month/year precision only; FCX's Morenci, Arizona asset has an even longer operating history (copper discovered 1865, Detroit Copper Co. began mining 1872, open-pit transition 1937) but its own citations are less consolidated than Grasberg's, per this pass's research. · Source
  5. Reached — date not disclosed · No single company-wide date exists for a multi-asset major spanning the US, Peru, Chile and Indonesia across a 50+ year operating history -- same 'no single date' treatment already applied to BHP/SCCO/NEM/AEM/ABX's equivalent rows. Row exists to satisfy the stage=PRODUCTION lifecycle-gate check (src/lib/lifecycle-gates.ts). · Source

Milestones are recorded only from a company's own dated disclosure. A milestone with no date shown is one we can confirm was reached but for which no date was disclosed — we don't estimate one. "Not yet reached" means exactly that, not that a date is missing. An "Expected" line likewise only ever reflects the company's own guidance (e.g. a study or permit decision targeted for a stated quarter) — most not-yet-reached milestones have none, and that absence means no such guidance has been disclosed, not that one is overdue.

Weak track recordStrong track record
4.6/10
Thin runwayWell-capitalized
6/10
High riskLow risk
How this is calculated
10/10
Weaker depositStronger deposit
6.9/10
Weaker profileStronger profile
Price Chart
$44.35$42.15$65.93$63.37$72.56AugNovMarJunSep227
Aug 26, 2025Sep 4, 2026
News
$73.93
+112.6%from low-7.5%from high
$34.78$79.94
$111.7B
Far belowFar above
$1.5B median
Price (USD - Local)
$73.93
Cash Position (USD)
$4.1B
Far belowFar above
$94M median
Debt (USD)
$9.4B
Far aboveFar below
$121.9M median
$117B
Far belowFar above
$1.4B median
1.4B
Far aboveFar below
541.8M median
Jurisdiction
United States
This company's data hasn't been researched yet
This company's data hasn't been researched yet
This company's data hasn't been researched yet
Open pit (Morenci, Bagdad, Safford-Lone Star, Sierrita, Miami, Chino, Tyrone, Climax, Henderson, Cerro Verde, El Abra) and underground block cave (Grasberg minerals district, Indonesia)
25 yrs
Far belowFar above
14 yrs median
This company's data hasn't been researched yet
Not enough peer data yet
This company's data hasn't been researched yet
Not enough peer data yet
This company's data hasn't been researched yet
This company's data hasn't been researched yet
This company's data hasn't been researched yet
This company's data hasn't been researched yet
This company's data hasn't been researched yet
This company's data hasn't been researched yet
This company's data hasn't been researched yet
This company's data hasn't been researched yet
Acquisition Susceptibility
6.1/10
Unlikely bolt-onFits the takeout profile

A relative ranking of how closely this company matches the profile of juniors that have actually been acquired — not a probability, and not a reason to buy. Acquisitions are rare: only a few dozen significant deals happen a year across a universe of thousands of juniors, so even a high score here describes a long shot. The strongest signal the underlying research identifies — whether a major already holds a JV, earn-in, or 5–19.9% strategic stake — isn't tracked yet and is absent from this score.

Overall Score Trend
+0% since 2026-08-26

Your Rankings

Community Sentiment
SELLINGBUYING
CategoryCommunityYour Ranking
Overall (0)Log in to rank
Management (0)Log in to rank
Financials (0)Log in to rank
Jurisdiction (0)Log in to rank
Project Quality (0)Log in to rank

Management Team

President and Chief Executive Officer of Freeport-McMoRan Inc. since June 2024, previously the company's longtime President and Chief Financial Officer.

Executive Vice President and Chief Financial Officer of Freeport-McMoRan Inc. since March 2022.

Chairman of the Board of Freeport-McMoRan Inc., having previously served as the company's CEO before Kathleen Quirk's 2024 appointment.

Insiders, Investors & Smart Money

Notable shareholders and insiders whose involvement is worth knowing about, plus what we're seeing from institutional/large-investor activity.

Smart money

No smart-money tracking (institutional/large-investor activity) for this miner yet — this is a planned feature, not live data.

No notable insiders tracked for this miner yet.

Reports, Presentations & Documents

Technical Report Takeaways

Multi-asset global major spanning the US, Peru, Chile and Indonesia -- no single consolidated corporate-level dcfNpvUsd/irrPct/technicalReportPriceAssumptionUsd/projectedFreeCashFlowUsd figure exists, the same structural gap already documented for BHP/SCCO/NEM/AEM/ABX at this scale (Task #603 and earlier). ouncesFound is deliberately left null: this repo has an explicit, still-open, repo-wide policy question on the ouncesFound/copper unit mismatch (docs/GOLD-DATA-OPERATIONS-PLAYBOOK.md Section 9 Step 0 / Task #324) -- multiple prior copper backfills (Ero Copper, Gunnison Copper, Anglo Asian) deliberately left ouncesFound null rather than resolve that open question unilaterally on a single company, and this record follows the same established convention rather than being the one to decide it here.