Discovery Mining Ltd.
Discovery Mining Ltd. (renamed from Discovery Silver Corp. in Jun/Jul 2026) transformed from a silver developer into a diversified Canadian-based producer via two major acquisitions: the Porcupine Complex (Timmins, Ontario gold camp, acquired from Newmont, completed Apr 2025) and, more recently, Glencore's Kidd Operations (Ontario copper-zinc). Its original flagship asset, the 100%-owned Cordero project (Chihuahua State, Mexico), remains one of the world's largest undeveloped silver deposits -- a Feb 2024 Preliminary Feasibility Study reported an after-tax NPV5% of US$1.2 billion, IRR of 28%, 19-year mine life, US$606 million initial capex, and Tier-1 reserves of 302Moz Ag, 840koz Au, 3.0Blb Pb, and 5.2Blb Zn, with average AISC below $12.50/oz AgEq over the first eight years. Porcupine delivered Q1 2026 gold production of 60,269oz at AISC of $2,041/oz (operating cash costs $1,417/oz), with FY2026 guidance of 260-300koz gold at AISC $1,950-2,250/oz. Q1 2026: total liquidity $634.9M (incl. $384.9M cash), zero debt. The Kidd Operations acquisition is noted here but not independently verified/modeled this pass -- flagged for follow-up.
Notable vs. Peers
- Trading within 0% of its 52-week high — strong recent price momentum.
Lifecycle Milestones
Construction Milestones
4 of 5 reached- Reached — date not disclosed · Advance Exploration Permit for Borden (Ontario Ministry of Northern Development and Mines) authorizing construction of an underground ramp and extraction of a 30,000t bulk sample, received April 2017 per Goldcorp's Q2 2017 disclosures. Exact day within April 2017 not confirmed from available primary sourcing -- recorded reached-but-undated. Asset-level history under prior owner Goldcorp, predating Discovery Silver's April 2025 acquisition of the Porcupine Complex (see script header). · Source
- Not yet reached · RULING (Task #693): Discovery Mining has never made a construction decision, and this row exists only to record that where the gate looks. Disputed=true, undated -- it asserts no milestone. Task #672 already ruled this a legitimate divergence but recorded it in MetricStatus only, where neither the audit nor a reader of the company page can see it; this pass re-verified the ruling and moves it onto the row. Hard dates confirmed this pass: (1) PORCUPINE COMPLEX acquired from Newmont, completed 2025-04-15 (announced 2025-04-16: 'Discovery Silver Corp. ... today reported the completion of the previously announced acquisition of Newmont Corporation's Porcupine Operations'), for US$200m cash plus ~119.7m shares plus US$150m deferred. It comprises Hoyle Pond, Borden, Pamour, and the Dome mine and mill -- all built by Goldcorp/Newmont, Borden reaching first production Oct 2019 under Goldcorp/Newmont, which is already this miner's FIRST_PRODUCTION row. (2) KIDD OPERATIONS acquired from Glencore Canada, completed 2026-06-01 (cited above), for US$10m plus offtake plus a 1% NSR. Kidd Creek opened in 1966 -- sixty years of production predating Discovery entirely. (3) CORDERO (Chihuahua, Mexico), the one asset Discovery would build itself, has explicitly NOT reached a construction decision as of its Q2 2026 release (2026-08-13): the MIA is still awaiting SEMARNAT approval and the land-use permit fee 'will follow the approval of the MIA application'. Earlier guidance of a construction decision by early 2025 was not met. A 2024 feasibility study exists; no board construction approval has ever been announced. So this is not a record that is missing -- it is a decision that has never been taken. Recheck Cordero specifically; that one CAN become closable. · Source
- Reached — date not disclosed · Surface infrastructure and exploration-ramp construction underway through 2017, with the 30,000t bulk sample targeted for Q3 2018 per Goldcorp's contemporary disclosures. No single dated 'construction start' release found; recorded reached-but-undated. Asset-level history under prior owner Goldcorp, predating Discovery Silver's April 2025 acquisition (see script header). · Source
- Oct 2019 · Newmont Goldcorp announced the Borden mine (Chapleau, Ontario) achieved commercial production safely, on schedule and within budget, following the official inauguration the prior week (Sept 23, 2019). Asset-level history under prior owner Newmont Goldcorp, predating Discovery Silver's April 2025 acquisition of the Porcupine Complex (see script header) -- Borden ore is processed at the Porcupine mill DSV now operates. · Source
- Reached — date not disclosed · Genuinely reached, but no single company-wide commercial-production date exists: Discovery Mining Ltd. (renamed from Discovery Silver Corp. in June 2026, ticker unchanged at DSV) transformed from an explorer into a gold producer by acquiring Newmont's Porcupine Complex (Hoyle Pond, Hollinger, Pamour, Dome mines near Timmins, Ontario) on 2025-04-15, then added the Kidd Operations (copper/zinc/silver) in June 2026. The Porcupine mines have long, continuous production histories under prior owners (Newmont and predecessors) predating Discovery's ownership -- no single 'Discovery-era' commercial-production date applies, and Pamour specifically is still described as ramping toward commercial levels as of the most recent reporting. Discovery reported record Q2 2026 gold production and revenue. This row was missing entirely prior to 2026-08-21 -- a genuine data gap, not a stage error; Miner.stage was already correctly PRODUCTION. · Source
Milestones are recorded only from a company's own dated disclosure. A milestone with no date shown is one we can confirm was reached but for which no date was disclosed — we don't estimate one. "Not yet reached" means exactly that, not that a date is missing. An "Expected" line likewise only ever reflects the company's own guidance (e.g. a study or permit decision targeted for a stated quarter) — most not-yet-reached milestones have none, and that absence means no such guidance has been disclosed, not that one is overdue.
A relative ranking of how closely this company matches the profile of juniors that have actually been acquired — not a probability, and not a reason to buy. Acquisitions are rare: only a few dozen significant deals happen a year across a universe of thousands of juniors, so even a high score here describes a long shot. The strongest signal the underlying research identifies — whether a major already holds a JV, earn-in, or 5–19.9% strategic stake — isn't tracked yet and is absent from this score.
Your Rankings
Management Team
President and Chief Executive Officer of Discovery Mining Ltd. (formerly Discovery Silver Corp., renamed Jun 2026) since Jan 2023. Professional engineer with over 35 years of development, operational and leadership experience. Immediately before Discovery, CEO of Kirkland Lake Gold Ltd. (2016-2022, transformative growth culminating in its merger with Agnico Eagle Mines, already tracked in this DB, AEM); briefly Executive Vice-President and President of Canadian Operations at Tahoe Resources Inc. following its 2016 acquisition of Lake Shore Gold Inc., where Makuch had been President & CEO since 2008. Earlier career: SVP and COO of FNX Mining Company Inc. (2006-2008); progressively senior roles including VP Operations at Dynatec Corporation (1998-2005).
Chief Financial Officer of Discovery Mining Ltd. (formerly Discovery Silver Corp.) since 31 Jul 2025. Over 20 years of financial and operational leadership experience. Immediately before Discovery, EVP & CFO of SSR Mining Inc. (already tracked in this DB, SSRM, Mar 2021-Mar 2024) -- her tenure there ended amid the real, catastrophic Feb 2024 Copler mine landslide in Turkiye; a subsequent securities lawsuit naming her personally was dismissed with prejudice by a federal court. Before SSR Mining, various corporate and regional roles at Newmont Corporation (already tracked in this DB, NEM), including Regional CFO for North America. Master's and BS in finance and accounting, University of Colorado Boulder. Licensed CPA.
Insiders, Investors & Smart Money
Notable shareholders and insiders whose involvement is worth knowing about, plus what we're seeing from institutional/large-investor activity.
Task #172 gate batch: smartMoneyScore rubric (playbook §7.6) applied 2026-08-15 -- GATED: marketCapUsd $6.42B >= $5.0B applicability threshold. At this size, index membership (GDX, S&P/TSX 60, Russell 1000) mechanically dominates the shareholder register, so absence of a visible specialist bet carries no information. RESEARCHED_UNKNOWN per playbook §6.4/§7.6.
No notable insiders tracked for this miner yet.
Reports, Presentations & Documents
Porcupine Complex (Hoyle Pond, Pamour, Hollinger, Dome, Borden; Timmins/Chapleau, Ontario), acquired 100% from Newmont Corporation (closed 15 Apr 2025). Per the company's own Technical Report on Preliminary Economic Assessment, effective 13 Jan 2025 (per dsvmining.com's operations page): Measured+Indicated Mineral Resource 69,667 kt @ 1.76 g/t Au for ~3,932 koz gold. Assumed mine life of 22 years (Hoyle Pond 10yr to 2035, Borden 8yr to 2033, Pamour open pit 21yr to 2046, plus 1 further year of stockpile processing in 2047). After-tax Project NPV of US$1,239M at a 5% discount rate, using CIBC World Markets' Dec-2024 analyst consensus gold prices (2025: $2,576/oz; 2026: $2,484/oz; 2027: $2,437/oz; long-term from 2028: $2,150/oz). No IRR is calculated: the PEA states explicitly 'the economic analysis does not entail initial capital investment prior to the start of production... so there is no internal rate of return or project payback period relevant to the economic analysis presented' -- Porcupine was acquired as an already-operating complex, not built from a greenfield capital programme. A separate ~11 Moz Inferred resource exists at Dome (not included here per this repo's M+I-only convention). [Task #868] The description's "IRR of 28%" figure is Cordero's own Feb 2024 PFS result (a separate, legacy silver project, not the current Porcupine gold flagship whose dcfNpvUsd/mineLifeYears/ouncesFound occupy this row) -- already fully stored on the Cordero Project row (dcfNpvUsd=US$1.2B, irrPct=28, mineLifeYears=19, resourceOz=302M oz Ag, all with ProjectMetricSource citations). Writing Cordero's IRR into this Miner-level field would sit a silver project's return metric next to Porcupine's gold NPV/mine-life/ounces -- the same cross-project contamination class Task #263 found and declined for Seabridge Gold (SA)/Valor Gold (VGC).