DRDGOLD Limited
DRDGOLD operates the Ergo and Knights surface tailings-retreatment complex near Johannesburg, South Africa -- among the world's largest gold tailings operations, processing roughly 1.7 million tonnes of tailings per month -- and remains free of bank debt while generating strong cash flow from near-record gold prices; cash and cash equivalents rose to R2.32 billion (approximately US$139 million) as of March 31, 2026, after paying a R433.6 million interim dividend.
Notable vs. Peers
- Jurisdiction risk score of 6/10 is meaningfully riskier than the peer average of 7.8/10.
Lifecycle Milestones
Construction Milestones
5 of 5 reached- Reached — date not disclosed · Source
- Reached — date not disclosed · Source
- Reached — date not disclosed · Source
- Apr 2019 · Source
- Reached — date not disclosed · Source
Milestones are recorded only from a company's own dated disclosure. A milestone with no date shown is one we can confirm was reached but for which no date was disclosed — we don't estimate one. "Not yet reached" means exactly that, not that a date is missing. An "Expected" line likewise only ever reflects the company's own guidance (e.g. a study or permit decision targeted for a stated quarter) — most not-yet-reached milestones have none, and that absence means no such guidance has been disclosed, not that one is overdue.
Not yet determined: road access, grid power.
Combined view across 2 projects. Figures below are only combined where the underlying basis genuinely matches -- see the notes under each.
- 22 yrsErgo & Knights Surface Tailings Retreatment, Gauteng, South Africa
- 18 yrsFar West Gold Recoveries, Gauteng, South Africa
Shown as separate totals, not summed together: these projects' studies used different discount rates, so a single combined NPV would not be a real number.
Jurisdiction (40%)6/10
South Africa has a mature, century-old mining industry and an established regulatory framework, but faces ongoing electricity/infrastructure, community, and policy-uncertainty risk that keeps it below top-tier jurisdictions.
Infrastructure (40%)10/10
A confirmed mill, confirmed road access, confirmed grid power, and a confirmed tailings facility at Ergo & Knights Surface Tailings Retreatment, Gauteng, South Africa.
Nearby producing mine (20%)Not yet researched
No project coordinates on file yet, so distance to a producing mine can't be measured.
Acquisition Susceptibility
A relative ranking of how closely this company matches the profile of juniors that have actually been acquired — not a probability, and not a reason to buy. Acquisitions are rare: only a few dozen significant deals happen a year across a universe of thousands of juniors, so even a high score here describes a long shot. The strongest signal in the research, a producer that already owns part of the company, is scored from its disclosed strategic shareholders. A producer that is a joint-venture or earn-in partner on the project, rather than a shareholder, isn't captured yet.
How this score is built
- Disclosed pending dealSub-score: Not scored
No pending acquisition or merger disclosed (checked)
Not scored: having no deal in flight isn't held against a company.
Weight 26.25% - Producer's strategic stakeSub-score: Not scored
Sibanye-Stillwater Limited holds 50.1% (reported 30 Jun 2025) See holders
Already majority-controlled, so a sale is its controlling holder's decision; the toehold-then-takeout pattern this input measures doesn't apply.
Weight 25% - Distance to a producing mineSub-score: Not yet researched
Distance not yet researched: no project coordinates on file
Distance can't be measured without coordinates, so excluded rather than counted as far.
Weight 22.5% - Lifecycle stageSub-score:5.5/10
Stage: Production
Feasibility and permitting score 10, where deals cluster, and production 5.5; earlier stages score less, down to 1 at grassroots.
Weight 15% · 57% here - JurisdictionSub-score:6/10
South Africa: jurisdiction score 6/10
Our jurisdiction score, used as is: higher means lower political and permitting risk.
Weight 6.75% · 26% here - CommoditySub-score:10/10
Primary commodity: Gold
Gold 10, copper 8, silver 5, nickel and uranium 4, others 2: most majors' deals are for gold.
Weight 4.5% · 17% here
Weight is each input's share of the full score. “Here” is its share of this company's score: inputs that aren't scored are left out and the rest re-weighted, never counted as zero.
Your Rankings
Management Team
Chief Executive Officer of DRDGOLD Limited since 1 Jan 2009 (CEO designate from 21 Aug 2008). Lawyer by training (B.Proc, LLB, LLM, University of the Free State / Rand Afrikaans University). Promoted to Group Legal Counsel (Sep 2004), General Manager: Corporate Services (Apr 2005), CEO of Ergo Mining Operations/DRDGOLD SA (Jul 2006) and Managing Director (Apr 2008) before his CEO appointment. Represented the South African Institute of Chartered Accountants on the IASB's Extractive Activities project (2003-2010); elected representative of the Minerals Council South Africa; seat on the World Gold Council.
Chief Financial Officer and executive director of DRDGOLD Limited, appointed CFO designate 1 Jul 2025, full CFO effective 1 Feb 2026, succeeding Riaan Davel. Chartered Accountant (SA). Joined DRDGOLD on 1 May 2016 as Group Financial SOX and Compliance Manager after 11 years at KPMG (South Africa), performing audits of listed mining companies including SEC registrants. Promoted to Financial Director of Far West Gold Recoveries (Jul 2018) and General Manager of Group Finance (Mar 2024) before her CFO appointment. DRDGOLD's first female CFO.
Chief Operating Officer of DRDGOLD Limited. Appointed Operations Director: Ergo Mining Operations (Jul 2014) before his COO appointment; earlier served as DRDGOLD's CFO. Founder of Scatterlinks Proprietary Limited, a South African leadership-development and advisory firm.
Insiders, Investors & Smart Money
Notable shareholders and insiders whose involvement is worth knowing about, plus what we're seeing from institutional/large-investor activity.
Sibanye-Stillwater holds a 50.1% control block. It is a genuine producer majority and it has been maintained, but it originates from a 2020 asset-for-shares transaction rather than from a recent decision to buy in, so it says less about how the stock looks today. The remaining register is almost entirely index and quantitative money -- VanEck GDXJ, BlackRock, Arrowstreet, AQR, Renaissance, Jane Street, Two Sigma -- with only token specialist gold-fund exposure.
No notable insiders tracked for this miner yet.
Reports, Presentations & Documents
DRDGOLD, which is 50.1% owned by Sibanye-Stillwater, retreats historical gold tailings in South Africa's Gauteng province through two operations: Ergo, with its Knights plant near Johannesburg, one of the world's largest gold tailings operations, and Far West Gold Recoveries (FWGR) near Carletonville. Its statement at 31 December 2025 gives 6,570,000 oz of gold in measured and indicated resources (3,940,000 oz measured, 2,630,000 oz indicated), inclusive of reserves, with Ergo holding 4,010,000 oz and FWGR 2,560,000 oz; proven and probable reserves are 5.73 Moz. Ergo's FY2025 technical report summary shows an after-tax real NPV of US$294.4M (ZAR 5.19B) at an 8.91% discount rate over a 22-year life of mine. In July 2026 FWGR commissioned its own smelt house and elution circuit and poured its first dore bar on site, as part of the R10 billion Vision 2028 capital programme. All-in sustaining cost for FY2026 (the year to 30 June 2026) was US$2,062/oz.