Catalyst Metals Limited
Catalyst Metals' 100%-owned Plutonic Gold Mine in Western Australia produced a record 104,000 ounces in FY26 (within 100,000-110,000 oz guidance), the mine's highest annual output since Barrick operated it in 2013; the company ended June 2026 with A$323 million in cash and bullion, no debt, and an undrawn A$100 million facility, funding a three-mine growth pipeline across its Western Australian and Victorian gold belts.
Notable vs. Peers
- Financials score of 9.5/10 is stronger than the peer average of 6.5/10.
Lifecycle Milestones
Construction Milestones
4 of 5 reached- Reached — date not disclosed · Source
- Not yet reached · Recorded, but disputed: not counted as reached · Source
- Jan 1996 · Source
- Reached — date not disclosed · Source
- Reached — date not disclosed · Source
Milestones are recorded only from a company's own dated disclosure. A milestone with no date shown is one we can confirm was reached but for which no date was disclosed — we don't estimate one. "Not yet reached" means exactly that, not that a date is missing. An "Expected" line likewise only ever reflects the company's own guidance (e.g. a study or permit decision targeted for a stated quarter) — most not-yet-reached milestones have none, and that absence means no such guidance has been disclosed, not that one is overdue.
Jurisdiction (40%)9/10
Western Australia: Fraser PPI 2025 is 88.53 of 100 (rank 13 of 68), which maps to 9 on this site's scale. Western Australia, Australia — top-tier, low political-risk mining jurisdiction.
Infrastructure (40%)10/10
A confirmed mill, confirmed road access, confirmed grid power, and a confirmed tailings facility at Plutonic Gold Mine, Western Australia.
Nearby producing mine (20%)Not yet researched
No producing mine within 50 km in our reference list (nearest listed: Fortnum (Starlight) (Westgold Resources Limited), 110 km). That list doesn't cover every mining district yet, so a longer distance isn't scored as remote.
Acquisition Susceptibility
A relative ranking of how closely this company matches the profile of juniors that have actually been acquired — not a probability, and not a reason to buy. Acquisitions are rare: only a few dozen significant deals happen a year across a universe of thousands of juniors, so even a high score here describes a long shot. The strongest signal in the research, a producer that already owns part of the company, is scored from its disclosed strategic shareholders. A producer that is a joint-venture or earn-in partner on the project, rather than a shareholder, isn't captured yet.
How this score is built
- Disclosed pending dealSub-score: Not scored
No pending acquisition or merger disclosed (checked)
Not scored: having no deal in flight isn't held against a company.
Weight 26.25% - Producer's strategic stakeSub-score: Not scored
No producer holds a disclosed stake on file (holder register researched) See holders
Not scored: most juniors that do get bought had no prior toehold, so a missing stake says little either way.
Weight 25% - Distance to a producing mineSub-score:3/10
Nearest producing mine: Fortnum (Starlight) (Westgold Resources Limited), 110 km
10 next to a producing mine, 8 at 20 km, 5 at 50 km, 0 beyond 200 km.
Weight 22.5% · 46% here - Lifecycle stageSub-score:5.5/10
Stage: Production
Feasibility and permitting score 10, where deals cluster, and production 5.5; earlier stages score less, down to 1 at grassroots.
Weight 15% · 31% here - JurisdictionSub-score:9/10
Australia: jurisdiction score 9/10
Our jurisdiction score, used as is: higher means lower political and permitting risk.
Weight 6.75% · 14% here - CommoditySub-score:10/10
Primary commodity: Gold
Gold 10, copper 8, silver 5, nickel and uranium 4, others 2: most majors' deals are for gold.
Weight 4.5% · 9% here
Weight is each input's share of the full score. “Here” is its share of this company's score: inputs that aren't scored are left out and the rest re-weighted, never counted as zero.
Your Rankings
Management Team
Managing Director and Chief Executive Officer of Catalyst Metals Limited since October 2021 (appointed Managing Director Oct 2022), which produces gold from the Plutonic Gold Belt in Western Australia. Qualified Chartered Accountant with extensive capital-markets, financing and M&A experience, primarily in mining. Chartered Accountants Australia and New Zealand; University of Sydney.
Non-Executive Chairman of Catalyst Metals Limited since 2 March 2026, succeeding David Fletcher Jones. Highly experienced listed-company chair in the gold industry: previously Managing Director & CEO of Papillon Resources and of Adamus Resources, and COO of Endeavour Mining. Most recently Non-Executive Chair of Warriedar Resources (acquired by Capricorn Metals for A$230M, Nov 2025) and, in 2024, Chair of Alto Resources (acquired by Brightstar Resources for A$80M).
Non-Executive Director of Catalyst Metals Limited. Qualified geologist with a 30+ year career in international exploration, mine geology and project evaluation; former worldwide head of exploration at Newmont Mining, retired 2003.
Spent 17 years at Credit Suisse in senior roles including structured hybrid financing and equity derivatives trading. Bachelor of Economics (Honours), University of Western Australia.
Non-Executive Director of Catalyst Metals Limited. Senior executive and investment professional with over 25 years across corporate and financial services, including roles at Fortescue Ltd, JPMorgan and Bank of America Merrill Lynch.
Insiders, Investors & Smart Money
Notable shareholders and insiders whose involvement is worth knowing about, plus what we're seeing from institutional/large-investor activity.
Franklin Templeton's gold funds are the one specialist position on the register, holding 4.41% between two vehicles as at 30 June 2026 -- just under the level that would suggest real conviction. Everything else visible is index or generalist money: State Street 6.15%, Vanguard 5.81% across two funds, VanEck's junior gold ETF 2.94%, BlackRock 2.79%. Worth knowing that St Barbara, a gold producer, was once Catalyst's largest shareholder at around 13% and sold its entire holding in August 2024. There are no insider transactions on record.
No notable insiders tracked for this miner yet.
Reports, Presentations & Documents
Catalyst Metals produces gold from the 100%-owned Plutonic Gold Belt in Western Australia, where the June 2026 quarter was the first with ore from four concurrent sources: Plutonic Main, Plutonic East, the Trident open pit and the newly commissioned K2 underground mine. FY2026 production was a record 103,761 oz, within 100,000-110,000 oz guidance, at an all-in sustaining cost of US$1,917/oz (AUD 2,738/oz), and June-quarter output of 31,886 oz was the highest in more than a decade. Company-wide resources total 3,647,000 oz of indicated gold plus 769,000 oz inferred, across the Plutonic Gold Belt deposits and the Bendigo/Four Eagles projects in Victoria. Catalyst has published scoping-level economics only for individual satellite deposits such as Trident, and no study covering the whole belt.
Catalyst Metals' company Resources and Reserves page (most recent component update: Trident Mineral Resource, 4 Aug 2025): total Ore Reserve (Proven+Probable) of 861,000 oz gold at 2.9 g/t across all deposits -- Plutonic Underground 616 koz, Trident Underground 182 koz, Plutonic East Underground 36 koz, K2 Underground 20 koz, Trident West Open Pit 6 koz. Total Mineral Resource of 3,453,000 oz at 3.1 g/t. Attributable (ownership-adjusted) totals differ from the 100%-basis figures shown.