China Gold International Resources Corp. Ltd.
China Gold International Resources operates two mines in China: the Chang Shan Hao gold mine in Inner Mongolia and the larger Jiama copper-gold polymetallic mine in Tibet (copper, gold, molybdenum, silver, lead, zinc), currently processing 34,000 tonnes/day with plans to expand to 50,000 tpd in 2027 via a new tailings facility. Majority-owned by China National Gold Group Co., Ltd. (a Chinese state-owned enterprise). Dual-listed on TSX (CGG) and HKEX (2099). Q1 2026 delivered record-high quarterly net profit exceeding US$200 million for the first time.
Notable vs. Peers
- Jurisdiction risk score of 4/10 is meaningfully riskier than the peer average of 7.8/10.
- All-in sustaining cost of $1,148/oz is 37% lower than the peer producer average of $1,814/oz.
Lifecycle Milestones
Construction Milestones
5 of 5 reached- Aug 2006 · Source
- Reached — date not disclosed · Source
- Mar 2004 · Source
- Jul 2008 · Source
- Reached — date not disclosed · Source
Milestones are recorded only from a company's own dated disclosure. A milestone with no date shown is one we can confirm was reached but for which no date was disclosed — we don't estimate one. "Not yet reached" means exactly that, not that a date is missing. An "Expected" line likewise only ever reflects the company's own guidance (e.g. a study or permit decision targeted for a stated quarter) — most not-yet-reached milestones have none, and that absence means no such guidance has been disclosed, not that one is overdue.
Jurisdiction (40%)4/10
Both operating mines are in China (Inner Mongolia and Tibet Autonomous Region). Majority-controlled by China National Gold Group (a state-owned enterprise), which provides operational stability but real jurisdictional/governance risk distinct from Tier-1 Western mining jurisdictions -- reflected in a below-midpoint score.
Infrastructure (40%)10/10
A confirmed mill, confirmed road access, confirmed grid power, and a confirmed tailings facility at Jiama Copper-Gold Polymetallic Mine.
Nearby producing mine (20%)Not yet researched
No producing mine within 50 km in our reference list (nearest listed: Chatree (Kingsgate Consolidated Limited), 1757 km). That list doesn't cover every mining district yet, so a longer distance isn't scored as remote.
Acquisition Susceptibility
A relative ranking of how closely this company matches the profile of juniors that have actually been acquired — not a probability, and not a reason to buy. Acquisitions are rare: only a few dozen significant deals happen a year across a universe of thousands of juniors, so even a high score here describes a long shot. The strongest signal in the research, a producer that already owns part of the company, is scored from its disclosed strategic shareholders. A producer that is a joint-venture or earn-in partner on the project, rather than a shareholder, isn't captured yet.
How this score is built
- Disclosed pending dealSub-score: Not scored
No pending acquisition or merger disclosed (checked)
Not scored: having no deal in flight isn't held against a company.
Weight 26.25% - Producer's strategic stakeSub-score: Not yet researched
Holder register not researched yet
Not scored: most juniors that do get bought had no prior toehold, so a missing stake says little either way.
Weight 25% - Distance to a producing mineSub-score:0/10
Nearest producing mine: Chatree (Kingsgate Consolidated Limited), 1757 km
10 next to a producing mine, 8 at 20 km, 5 at 50 km, 0 beyond 200 km.
Weight 22.5% · 46% here - Lifecycle stageSub-score:5.5/10
Stage: Production
Feasibility and permitting score 10, where deals cluster, and production 5.5; earlier stages score less, down to 1 at grassroots.
Weight 15% · 31% here - JurisdictionSub-score:4/10
China: jurisdiction score 4/10
Our jurisdiction score, used as is: higher means lower political and permitting risk.
Weight 6.75% · 14% here - CommoditySub-score:10/10
Primary commodity: Gold
Gold 10, copper 8, silver 5, nickel and uranium 4, others 2: most majors' deals are for gold.
Weight 4.5% · 9% here
Weight is each input's share of the full score. “Here” is its share of this company's score: inputs that aren't scored are left out and the rest re-weighted, never counted as zero.
Your Rankings
Management Team
Executive Director, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of China Gold International Resources Corp. Ltd. since 14 Nov 2024. Over 20 years in mining-sector corporate management, finance, audit, legal and compliance. Held senior roles with China National Gold Group Co., Ltd. (CNG, the company's controlling shareholder) since Jul 2001, most recently Deputy General Manager/General Manager of CNG's Audit and Legal Department (Nov 2020-Nov 2024) and, before that, Deputy General Manager/Senior Manager of CNG's Finance Department (Oct 2014-Aug 2020). Concurrently Chairman and General Manager of China National Gold Group Hong Kong Limited since Nov 2024. Senior accountant; Bachelor's degree in Accounting, Beijing Wuzi University.
Chief Financial Officer of China Gold International Resources Corp. Ltd. since 15 May 2023 -- his entire documented career has been built inside the company since joining in Aug 2012 as a staff accountant, later accounting manager, before his CFO appointment.
Insiders, Investors & Smart Money
Notable shareholders and insiders whose involvement is worth knowing about, plus what we're seeing from institutional/large-investor activity.
Not scored. Smart-money tracking covers companies below about US$5B in market cap, where a single specialist fund or strategic investor taking a stake is a meaningful signal. This company was above that size when it was assessed.
No notable insiders tracked for this miner yet.
Reports, Presentations & Documents
China Gold International's flagship is the Jiama copper-gold polymetallic mine in Tibet; it also operates the Chang Shan Hao gold mine in Inner Mongolia. A June 2026 resource update raised Jiama's measured and indicated gold resource to 12.45 Moz, with measured resources up 523% on the prior estimate. Management has approved a 'Super Pit' plan of about 160,000 tpd, subject to a new pre-feasibility study due around the end of 2026, so the 2014 feasibility study's economics no longer reflect the planned design.