JUNIORMETRICS
Gold$4,479.95/oz
Silver$66.98/oz
Copper$6.00/lb

Coeur Mining, Inc.

CDE·$21.65·$17.8B cap
Silveralso:Rochester Mine, Nevada, USA Map

Coeur Mining, Inc. is a US-based, NYSE-listed precious metals producer operating Rochester (silver-gold, Nevada), Palmarejo (gold-silver, Chihuahua, Mexico), Kensington (gold, Alaska) and Las Chispas (silver-gold, Sonora, Mexico). Coeur closed its acquisition of New Gold Inc. in Mar 2026, materially expanding the combined company's reserve base. Mitch Krebs is President and CEO; a current CFO could not be confirmed against a primary source in this research pass. Q2 2026 free cash flow was $388 million ($0.37/share); the combined post-New-Gold company holds 7.3 million ounces of gold reserves, 282.1 million ounces of silver reserves, and 591 million pounds of copper reserves. The company is investing $158 million in exploration in 2026 -- twice 2025's level and its largest program ever, concentrated at Palmarejo and Las Chispas.

Notable vs. Peers

  • Financials score of 5.9/10 is weaker than the peer average of 7.6/10.

Lifecycle Milestones

Grassroots
Resource Def.
PEA
PFS
Feasibility
Permitting
Construction
ProductionCurrent

Construction Milestones

5 of 5 reached
  1. Reached — date not disclosed · Multi-mine, multi-country producer with mines permitted independently over years/decades; no single company-wide permit date exists. Row presence documents that current producing mines are, by definition, permitted. · Source
  2. Reached — date not disclosed · Same multi-mine caveat as PERMIT_GRANTED -- no single company-wide construction-decision date represents a multi-asset portfolio built up over years. · Source
  3. Jan 2022 · Approximate -- anchored to the Rochester expansion (Nevada), Coeur's most recent major organic construction project prior to the 2026 New Gold acquisition. · Source
  4. Reached — date not disclosed · Row presence confirms current production status across Rochester/Palmarejo/Kensington/Las Chispas (Q2 2026 results, per Coeur's own release). No single company-wide first-production date is meaningful across a 4-mine, decades-spanning portfolio. · Source
  5. Reached — date not disclosed · Genuinely reached, but no single company-wide commercial-production date exists across a multi-mine US/Canada/Mexico portfolio (Rochester and Kensington in the US, Palmarejo in Mexico, plus New Afton and Rainy River in Canada added via 2026 acquisitions) built over decades. Q2 2026 results (released 2026-08-05) reported record quarterly revenue exceeding $1 billion and record free cash flow of $388 million, driven by the first full quarter of New Afton and Rainy River contributions, plus Rochester achieving a new quarterly crushing record (6.8 million metric tons). This row was missing entirely prior to 2026-08-21 -- a genuine data gap, not a stage error; Miner.stage was already correctly PRODUCTION. · Source

Milestones are recorded only from a company's own dated disclosure. A milestone with no date shown is one we can confirm was reached but for which no date was disclosed — we don't estimate one. "Not yet reached" means exactly that, not that a date is missing. An "Expected" line likewise only ever reflects the company's own guidance (e.g. a study or permit decision targeted for a stated quarter) — most not-yet-reached milestones have none, and that absence means no such guidance has been disclosed, not that one is overdue.

Combined view across 4 projects. Figures below are only combined where the underlying basis genuinely matches -- see the notes under each.

Combined resource
No project has a disclosed resource figure yet
IRR
Not combined
IRR is not additive across independent projects -- see each project's own tab for its figure
Combined NPV, by discount-rate basis
$3.5B
At 5% discount rate -- Rochester + Las Chispas + Rainy River
10/10
Weak track recordStrong track record
5.9/10
Thin runwayWell-capitalized
8/10
High riskLow risk
How this is calculated
10/10
Weaker depositStronger deposit
8.5/10
Weaker profileStronger profile
Price Chart
$12.47$16.96$22.70$16.40$21.65AugDecMarJunSep
Aug 27, 2025Sep 4, 2026
News
$21.65
+79.9%from low-22%from high
$12.04$27.74
$17.8B
Far belowFar above
$465.2M median
Price (USD - Local)
$21.65
Cash Position (USD)
$1.1B
Far belowFar above
$75.5M median
Debt (USD)
$705.3M
Far aboveFar below
$7.5M median
$17.4B
Far belowFar above
$363.9M median
1B
Far aboveFar below
306.9M median
Jurisdiction
United States
902,582,000 oz
Far belowFar above
47.1M median
$19.31/oz
Far aboveFar below
$5.38/oz median
This company's data hasn't been researched yet
Open pit and underground
See projects ↓
This company's data hasn't been researched yet
See projects ↓
This company's data hasn't been researched yet
See projects ↓
Not enough peer data yet
This company's data hasn't been researched yet
Not enough peer data yet
See projects ↓
This company's data hasn't been researched yet
This company's data hasn't been researched yet
18.2%
0%100%
7.2% median
96 kmfrom SSR Mining Inc.'s Marigold
Outside typical bolt-on range
$388M
Far belowFar above
$44.5M median
$0.377
Far belowFar above
$0.103 median
45.80x
Far aboveFar below
38.43x median
$1.9B
Far belowFar above
$568M median
$1.85
Far belowFar above
$1.00 median
Acquisition Susceptibility
4.9/10
Unlikely bolt-onFits the takeout profile

A relative ranking of how closely this company matches the profile of juniors that have actually been acquired — not a probability, and not a reason to buy. Acquisitions are rare: only a few dozen significant deals happen a year across a universe of thousands of juniors, so even a high score here describes a long shot. The strongest signal the underlying research identifies — whether a major already holds a JV, earn-in, or 5–19.9% strategic stake — isn't tracked yet and is absent from this score.

Overall Score Trend
+10.4% since 2026-08-08

Your Rankings

Community Sentiment
SELLINGBUYING
CategoryCommunityYour Ranking
Overall (0)Log in to rank
Management (0)Log in to rank
Financials (0)Log in to rank
Jurisdiction (0)Log in to rank
Project Quality (0)Log in to rank

Management Team

President and Chief Executive Officer of Coeur Mining, Inc. since Jul 2011 -- his entire substantive career has been built inside Coeur since joining as Manager of Acquisitions in Aug 1995, rising through Corporate Development (VP 2003, SVP 2006) and CFO (2008-2011) before becoming CEO. Before Coeur, spent 2 years as an investment banking analyst at PaineWebber Inc. -- an entry-level, undated role not comparable in weight to his 30-year internal Coeur career; not written as a scored career-history row, an honest finding rather than a fabricated title/date. BS Economics, The Wharton School, University of Pennsylvania; MBA, Harvard University.

Senior Vice President and Chief Financial Officer of Coeur Mining, Inc. since 1 Jan 2019, succeeding Peter C. Mitchell -- missing from this DB entirely before this batch (only the CEO was tracked). Before Coeur, CFO of Arizona Mining Inc. (2017-2018, until its acquisition by South32); CFO of Nevsun Resources Ltd. (2014-2017); Partner at Ernst & Young LLP (Canada), including EY's Global Mining & Metals Assurance sector leader and Canadian Mining & Metals sector leader. Undergraduate studies, Queen's University.

Insiders, Investors & Smart Money

Notable shareholders and insiders whose involvement is worth knowing about, plus what we're seeing from institutional/large-investor activity.

Smart money

Task #172 gate batch: smartMoneyScore rubric (playbook §7.6) applied 2026-08-15 -- GATED: marketCapUsd $17.77B >= $5.0B applicability threshold. At this size, index membership (GDX, S&P/TSX 60, Russell 1000) mechanically dominates the shareholder register, so absence of a visible specialist bet carries no information. RESEARCHED_UNKNOWN per playbook §6.4/§7.6.

No notable insiders tracked for this miner yet.

Reports, Presentations & Documents

Technical Report Takeaways

PORTFOLIO SCOPE (Task #317 wave 7): Coeur operates Rochester (NV), Palmarejo (Mexico), Kensington (AK), Wharf (SD), Las Chispas (Mexico), plus New Afton and Rainy River (acquired with New Gold Inc., closed 20 Mar 2026) -- no single company-wide DCF/NPV/IRR study exists. Real, current, per-mine mine-life figures from Coeur's own YE2025 reserves release (17 Feb 2026, gold/silver reserve price assumptions of $2,200/oz Au and $26.00/oz Ag): Wharf ~12-year reserve mine life (nearly doubled year-over-year), with an updated technical report separately projecting Wharf-specific LOM EBITDA of US$1.7 billion and free cash flow of US$1.1 billion (no NPV/IRR given for Wharf specifically); Kensington ~5-year reserve mine life (maintained flat vs. prior year); Palmarejo's reserve life extended by ~5 years (total not separately stated); Rochester ~16-year reserve mine life (2025 exploration fully replaced 2025 production). The ONLY NPV/IRR figure found for any Coeur mine is Rochester's Dec 2020 expansion technical report (after-tax NAV5% of US$634 million, IRR >31%, then-projected 18-year mine life through 2038) -- this is now STALE and superseded: it predates the POA 11 expansion's actual completion (first pour Sep 2023) and predates the reserve base used in the current 16-year figure above, so it is not written here as a current figure (same 'don't cite a superseded pre-construction study' convention as the ORV precedent in the Task #317 playbook). No NPV/IRR was found for New Afton or Rainy River (both newly acquired, Mar 2026) in this pass.