Central Asia Metals plc
Central Asia Metals operates the 100%-owned Kounrad SX-EW copper operation in central Kazakhstan (producing since 2012) and the Sasa zinc-lead-silver mine in North Macedonia; a 2025 bid to acquire the Antler copper project in Arizona (via New World Resources) was, per CAML's own FY2025 Annual Report, "ultimately unsuccessful" -- CAML does not own or operate Antler. First-half 2026 Kounrad copper output rose 1% to 6,304 tonnes while Sasa's zinc and lead output rose 5-6%; net cash strengthened to $96.7 million at June 30, 2026 against minimal debt of roughly $0.9 million.
Notable vs. Peers
- Financials score of 10/10 is stronger than the peer average of 5.4/10.
- Jurisdiction risk score of 5/10 is meaningfully riskier than the peer average of 7.7/10.
Lifecycle Milestones
Construction Milestones
5 of 5 reached- Aug 2007 · Source
- Reached — date not disclosed · Source
- Reached — date not disclosed · Source
- Reached — date not disclosed · Source
- Reached — date not disclosed · Source
Milestones are recorded only from a company's own dated disclosure. A milestone with no date shown is one we can confirm was reached but for which no date was disclosed — we don't estimate one. "Not yet reached" means exactly that, not that a date is missing. An "Expected" line likewise only ever reflects the company's own guidance (e.g. a study or permit decision targeted for a stated quarter) — most not-yet-reached milestones have none, and that absence means no such guidance has been disclosed, not that one is overdue.
Combined view across 2 projects. Figures below are only combined where the underlying basis genuinely matches -- see the notes under each.
Jurisdiction (40%)5/10
Central Asia Metals' flagship is its wholly owned Kounrad copper operation near Balkhash in central Kazakhstan, which carries moderate authoritarian-governance and resource-nationalism risk despite an established mining sector; scored 5 like the other Kazakhstan companies on this site. Its Sasa zinc-lead mine is in North Macedonia, a stable EU-candidate country, which this single flagship-based score does not capture.
Infrastructure (40%)10/10
A confirmed mill, confirmed road access, confirmed grid power, and a confirmed tailings facility at Kounrad Copper Operation, Kazakhstan.
Nearby producing mine (20%)Not yet researched
No producing mine within 50 km in our reference list (nearest listed: Inkai (JV Inkai) (JSC National Atomic Company Kazatomprom), 615 km). That list doesn't cover every mining district yet, so a longer distance isn't scored as remote.
Acquisition Susceptibility
A relative ranking of how closely this company matches the profile of juniors that have actually been acquired — not a probability, and not a reason to buy. Acquisitions are rare: only a few dozen significant deals happen a year across a universe of thousands of juniors, so even a high score here describes a long shot. The strongest signal in the research, a producer that already owns part of the company, is scored from its disclosed strategic shareholders. A producer that is a joint-venture or earn-in partner on the project, rather than a shareholder, isn't captured yet.
How this score is built
- Disclosed pending dealSub-score: Not scored
No pending acquisition or merger disclosed (checked)
Not scored: having no deal in flight isn't held against a company.
Weight 26.25% - Producer's strategic stakeSub-score: Not scored
No producer holds a disclosed stake on file (holder register researched) See holders
Not scored: most juniors that do get bought had no prior toehold, so a missing stake says little either way.
Weight 25% - Distance to a producing mineSub-score:0/10
Nearest producing mine: Inkai (JV Inkai) (JSC National Atomic Company Kazatomprom), 615 km
10 next to a producing mine, 8 at 20 km, 5 at 50 km, 0 beyond 200 km.
Weight 22.5% · 46% here - Lifecycle stageSub-score:5.5/10
Stage: Production
Feasibility and permitting score 10, where deals cluster, and production 5.5; earlier stages score less, down to 1 at grassroots.
Weight 15% · 31% here - JurisdictionSub-score:5/10
Kazakhstan: jurisdiction score 5/10
Our jurisdiction score, used as is: higher means lower political and permitting risk.
Weight 6.75% · 14% here - CommoditySub-score:8/10
Primary commodity: Copper
Gold 10, copper 8, silver 5, nickel and uranium 4, others 2: most majors' deals are for gold.
Weight 4.5% · 9% here
Weight is each input's share of the full score. “Here” is its share of this company's score: inputs that aren't scored are left out and the rest re-weighted, never counted as zero.
Your Rankings
Management Team
Chief Executive Officer of Central Asia Metals plc, appointed to the Board in June 2016 and to CEO in October 2024. Over 25 years' experience in the mining sector, with previous roles at Anglo American, Barclays Capital and Investec. Holds geology and finance degrees.
Chief Financial Officer of Central Asia Metals plc, appointed to the Board in May 2022 and transitioned to CFO in October 2024. Over 20 years' mining sector experience, including as an equity research analyst at Investec. Holds geology and mining geology degrees.
Technical Director of Central Asia Metals plc. Metallurgist with 45 years' experience in project development and mine operations management. Former Chief Operating Officer of European Minerals Corporation; previous roles at Ashanti Goldfields, Lonrho and Anglo American.
General Director of Kounrad Copper Company, Central Asia Metals plc's Kazakhstan copper operating subsidiary. Engineer and economist who joined CAML in 2014 and progressed from Chief Power Engineer to General Director in 2024.
General Director of Sary Kazna, Central Asia Metals plc's Kazakhstan operating subsidiary. Economist with a degree from the Kazakh State Academy of Management; joined CAML in 2013 and was appointed General Director of Sary Kazna in 2024.
General Director of the Sasa lead-zinc mine, Central Asia Metals plc's North Macedonia operating subsidiary. Mining engineer with over 20 years' experience in gold and base metals; Bachelor of Engineering (Mining), University of Ballarat, Australia.
Insiders, Investors & Smart Money
Notable shareholders and insiders whose involvement is worth knowing about, plus what we're seeing from institutional/large-investor activity.
The one holder here that reads as a real discretionary decision is Man GLG, which crossed 5% and then lifted its position to 6.00% (10,663,676 shares) in July 2026 -- a fund adding rather than trimming. Man GLG is a multi-strategy house rather than a mining specialist, so read it as a considered position rather than a sector expert's call. Barclays at 5.31% is a bank line and Allan Gray at 3.89% is a generalist value manager. Institutional ownership is 65.6%, but no producer or resource specialist appears on the register.
No notable insiders tracked for this miner yet.
Reports, Presentations & Documents
Central Asia Metals is a base-metals producer operating the 100%-owned Kounrad SX-EW copper operation in central Kazakhstan, which has produced copper cathode from historic waste dumps since 2012, and the Sasa zinc-lead-silver mine in North Macedonia. Kounrad's indicated resource and probable reserve, effective 31 December 2025, is 595.1 Mt at 0.07% Cu for 407.9 kt of contained copper, planned to yield 74,459 t of cathode up to the expiry of its licence in 2034, a 9-year mine life. Sasa's probable reserve is 6.9 Mt at 3.5% Pb, 2.5% Zn and 26.1 g/t Ag, with a mine plan also running to 2034. Guidance for 2026 is 12,000-13,000 t of copper from Kounrad and 18,000-20,000 t of zinc and 26,000-28,000 t of lead in concentrate from Sasa, and Kounrad's C1 cash cost was US$0.82/lb of copper in 2025.
Kounrad SX-EW copper operation (Kazakhstan, producing since 2012) + Sasa zinc-lead-silver mine (North Macedonia) + Antler copper project (Arizona, acquired 2025). 2026 guidance: Kounrad 12-13kt Cu cathode; Sasa 18-20kt Zn + 26-28kt Pb in concentrate. No unified group-level NPV/IRR/mine-life DCF figure -- CAML reports per-operation reserve depletion/guidance, not a PEA-style study.