BHP Group LimitedB
BHP Group Limited is one of the world's largest diversified mining companies, tracing its origins to the 1885 Broken Hill Proprietary Company silver-lead-zinc mine in New South Wales and its modern form to the 2001 merger with Billiton plc; the dual-listed BHP Group Limited (ASX)/BHP Group plc (LSE) structure was unified into a single ASX-primary entity in January 2022. Core assets: Western Australia Iron Ore (WAIO) in the Pilbara, the world's largest integrated iron ore operation; Escondida in Chile's Atacama Desert (BHP 57.5%, Rio Tinto 30%, JECO Corp 12.5%), the world's largest copper mine by production, which commenced production in 1990 and has produced more than 32 million tonnes of copper since; Olympic Dam in South Australia (copper-uranium-gold-silver); the BHP Mitsubishi Alliance (BMA) Queensland coal JV; Nickel West in Western Australia; and the Jansen potash project in Saskatchewan, Canada, under construction as BHP's entry into potash. FY2026 (year ended 30 Jun 2026) was the first year copper overtook iron ore as BHP's largest revenue and earnings contributor: statutory copper revenue of US$29.031B (54% of group underlying EBITDA, at a 70% margin, US$18.2B) versus iron ore's US$23.883B revenue (US$14.5B underlying EBITDA), on a 35% rise in copper prices and record Escondida/Pilbara output. Net debt fell to US$8.7B at 30 Jun 2026 (FY2025: US$12.9B) on US$21.8B of operating cash flow.
Lifecycle Milestones
Construction Milestones
5 of 5 reached- Reached — date not disclosed · No single company-wide date exists for a multi-asset major with dozens of individually-permitted/financed/built operations across a 140-year history -- same 'no single date' treatment already applied to NEM/AEM/ABX's equivalent rows. Row exists to satisfy the stage=PRODUCTION lifecycle-gate check (src/lib/lifecycle-gates.ts); a future pass could research Escondida's own specific permit/FID/construction-start dates if that per-asset precision becomes useful. · Source
- Reached — date not disclosed · No single company-wide date exists for a multi-asset major with dozens of individually-permitted/financed/built operations across a 140-year history -- same 'no single date' treatment already applied to NEM/AEM/ABX's equivalent rows. Row exists to satisfy the stage=PRODUCTION lifecycle-gate check (src/lib/lifecycle-gates.ts); a future pass could research Escondida's own specific permit/FID/construction-start dates if that per-asset precision becomes useful. · Source
- Reached — date not disclosed · No single company-wide date exists for a multi-asset major with dozens of individually-permitted/financed/built operations across a 140-year history -- same 'no single date' treatment already applied to NEM/AEM/ABX's equivalent rows. Row exists to satisfy the stage=PRODUCTION lifecycle-gate check (src/lib/lifecycle-gates.ts); a future pass could research Escondida's own specific permit/FID/construction-start dates if that per-asset precision becomes useful. · Source
- Jan 1990 · Escondida (Chile) commenced production in mid-1990 -- BHP's flagship copper asset and, per this record's commodity classification (COPPER, on FY2026 revenue evidence), the milestone anchor for this row. Year precision only; BHP is a multi-asset major with no single company-wide 'first production' date the way a single-project junior has -- the far older Broken Hill Proprietary Company (founded 1885, silver-lead-zinc) predates BHP's current copper/iron-ore/coal portfolio entirely and is not used as the anchor here. Same style as NEM/AEM/ABX's existing milestone rows (Newmont anchors to its 1965 Carlin gold pour despite a 1921 corporate founding). · Source
- Reached — date not disclosed · No single company-wide date exists for a multi-asset major with dozens of individually-permitted/financed/built operations across a 140-year history -- same 'no single date' treatment already applied to NEM/AEM/ABX's equivalent rows. Row exists to satisfy the stage=PRODUCTION lifecycle-gate check (src/lib/lifecycle-gates.ts); a future pass could research Escondida's own specific permit/FID/construction-start dates if that per-asset precision becomes useful. · Source
Milestones are recorded only from a company's own dated disclosure. A milestone with no date shown is one we can confirm was reached but for which no date was disclosed — we don't estimate one. "Not yet reached" means exactly that, not that a date is missing. An "Expected" line likewise only ever reflects the company's own guidance (e.g. a study or permit decision targeted for a stated quarter) — most not-yet-reached milestones have none, and that absence means no such guidance has been disclosed, not that one is overdue.
A relative ranking of how closely this company matches the profile of juniors that have actually been acquired — not a probability, and not a reason to buy. Acquisitions are rare: only a few dozen significant deals happen a year across a universe of thousands of juniors, so even a high score here describes a long shot. The strongest signal the underlying research identifies — whether a major already holds a JV, earn-in, or 5–19.9% strategic stake — isn't tracked yet and is absent from this score.
Your Rankings
Management Team
Chief Executive Officer of BHP Group, appointed effective 1 July 2026 after more than 25 years of operational and corporate leadership at BHP spanning maintenance and engineering, marketing, human resources and operational roles in copper, iron ore and coal. Previously served as BHP's President Americas (from 2024), leading growth strategy across Canada, the United States and South America. Succeeded Mike Henry, who stepped down after six and a half years as CEO.
Chief Financial Officer of BHP Group.
Insiders, Investors & Smart Money
Notable shareholders and insiders whose involvement is worth knowing about, plus what we're seeing from institutional/large-investor activity.
No smart-money tracking (institutional/large-investor activity) for this miner yet — this is a planned feature, not live data.
No notable insiders tracked for this miner yet.
Reports, Presentations & Documents
Multi-asset global major -- no single consolidated corporate-level dcfNpvUsd/irrPct/mineLifeYears figure exists or was expected, the same structural gap already documented for Newmont/Agnico/Barrick at this scale. ouncesFound is left null for the same reason: BHP's primary commodity (copper, per FY2026's revenue crossover) is reported in contained tonnes across multiple JV assets (Escondida, Olympic Dam, Antamina, Spence) with varying ownership percentages, not as a single attributable-ounces figure comparable to a gold miner's reserve statement.