Black Cat Syndicate Limited
Black Cat Syndicate is a multi-hub Western Australian gold producer, operating the Paulsens and Kal East mines (high-grade underground and open-pit) and advancing exploration and studies at its Coyote gold operation in the Tanami, one of Australia's highest-grade gold projects, which remained on care and maintenance through FY2026. In FY2026 (year ended 30 Jun 2026) Black Cat produced 90,833 oz of gold and reported revenue of A$374.3 million (gold sales of A$317.4 million plus A$56.5 million of toll milling), a net profit after tax of about A$86 million and operating cash flow of about A$225 million, ending the year with A$105 million of cash, bullion and listed investments. The company is debt-free and unhedged, and tenement holdings span ~5,350km2 across areas that have historically produced ~2 million ounces of gold. Chris Stone has been Acting Managing Director since 8 September 2026, after James Bruce left the role on 4 September; Paul Chapman is Non-Executive Chair. As at 30 June 2026 its JORC (2012) Mineral Resources totalled 30.3Mt at 2.4 g/t Au for 2.31Moz, of which 1,159,000oz is Measured and Indicated, with Ore Reserves of 5.3Mt at 1.6 g/t Au for 272,000oz at Paulsens and Kal East.
Notable vs. Peers
- Financials score of 8.3/10 is stronger than the peer average of 6.5/10.
- Trading within 6% of its 52-week low — weak recent price momentum.
Lifecycle Milestones
Construction Milestones
5 of 5 reached- Reached — date not disclosed · Source
- Sep 2023 · Source
- Reached — date not disclosed · Source
- Dec 2024 · Source
- Reached — date not disclosed · Source
Milestones are recorded only from a company's own dated disclosure. A milestone with no date shown is one we can confirm was reached but for which no date was disclosed — we don't estimate one. "Not yet reached" means exactly that, not that a date is missing. An "Expected" line likewise only ever reflects the company's own guidance (e.g. a study or permit decision targeted for a stated quarter) — most not-yet-reached milestones have none, and that absence means no such guidance has been disclosed, not that one is overdue.
Not in place: grid power.
Not yet determined: road access, grid power.
Combined view across 3 projects. Figures below are only combined where the underlying basis genuinely matches -- see the notes under each.
Jurisdiction (40%)9/10
Western Australia: Fraser PPI 2025 is 88.53 of 100 (rank 13 of 68), which maps to 9 on this site's scale. Black Cat's Paulsens, Kal East and Coyote operations are all in Western Australia, a Tier-1 mining jurisdiction.
Infrastructure (40%)7.1/10
A confirmed mill, confirmed road access, no confirmed grid power, and a confirmed tailings facility at Paulsens Gold Operation.
Nearby producing mine (20%)Not yet researched
No producing mine within 50 km in our reference list (nearest listed: Wodgina (Mineral Resources Limited / Albemarle Corporation), 295 km). That list doesn't cover every mining district yet, so a longer distance isn't scored as remote.
Acquisition Susceptibility
A relative ranking of how closely this company matches the profile of juniors that have actually been acquired — not a probability, and not a reason to buy. Acquisitions are rare: only a few dozen significant deals happen a year across a universe of thousands of juniors, so even a high score here describes a long shot. The strongest signal in the research, a producer that already owns part of the company, is scored from its disclosed strategic shareholders. A producer that is a joint-venture or earn-in partner on the project, rather than a shareholder, isn't captured yet.
How this score is built
- Disclosed pending dealSub-score: Not scored
No pending acquisition or merger disclosed (checked)
Not scored: having no deal in flight isn't held against a company.
Weight 26.25% - Producer's strategic stakeSub-score: Not scored
No producer holds a disclosed stake on file (holder register researched) See holders
Not scored: most juniors that do get bought had no prior toehold, so a missing stake says little either way.
Weight 25% - Distance to a producing mineSub-score:0/10
Nearest producing mine: Wodgina (Mineral Resources Limited / Albemarle Corporation), 295 km
10 next to a producing mine, 8 at 20 km, 5 at 50 km, 0 beyond 200 km.
Weight 22.5% · 46% here - Lifecycle stageSub-score:5.5/10
Stage: Production
Feasibility and permitting score 10, where deals cluster, and production 5.5; earlier stages score less, down to 1 at grassroots.
Weight 15% · 31% here - JurisdictionSub-score:9/10
Australia: jurisdiction score 9/10
Our jurisdiction score, used as is: higher means lower political and permitting risk.
Weight 6.75% · 14% here - CommoditySub-score:10/10
Primary commodity: Gold
Gold 10, copper 8, silver 5, nickel and uranium 4, others 2: most majors' deals are for gold.
Weight 4.5% · 9% here
Weight is each input's share of the full score. “Here” is its share of this company's score: inputs that aren't scored are left out and the rest re-weighted, never counted as zero.
Your Rankings
Management Team
Acting Managing Director of Black Cat Syndicate Limited since 8 September 2026, after joining its board as an independent non-executive director on 7 September 2026. Mining engineer (BE Mining, MBA, MProjMgt) with more than 35 years of experience across gold, nickel, copper and coal operations; before his board appointment he led life-of-mine planning for Black Cat, and earlier he rose from Principal Mining Engineer for WMC Resources at Kambalda through operating roles at BHP to Vice President WA Nickel.
Non-Executive Chair of Black Cat Syndicate Limited since August 2017. Chartered accountant with over 30 years of experience in the resources sector in Australia and the United States, across gold, nickel, uranium, manganese, bauxite and alumina, and oil and gas, including managing director and other senior management roles in public companies. A founding shareholder and director of Reliance Mining, Encounter Resources, Rex Minerals and Silver Lake Resources; also a director of Dreadnought Resources and Meeka Metals.
Insiders, Investors & Smart Money
Notable shareholders and insiders whose involvement is worth knowing about, plus what we're seeing from institutional/large-investor activity.
Kongwell Management Limited became a substantial holder of Black Cat Syndicate in March 2025 and now discloses the largest stake on the register at 6.89%, though nothing in accessible sources confirms it as a resource-sector specialist rather than a generalist investment vehicle, so it is named here for completeness without being credited as informed conviction capital. Franklin Gold and Precious Metals Fund, a real specialist gold fund, holds a smaller stake. One director bought a small parcel of stock on the open market in March 2026. No producer or strategic corporate backer is on record.
No notable insiders tracked for this miner yet.
Reports, Presentations & Documents
Black Cat Syndicate is a multi-hub Western Australian gold producer operating the Paulsens and Kal East mines, while its Coyote operation in the Tanami remained on care and maintenance through FY2026. In the year to 30 June 2026 it produced 90,833 oz of gold and reported revenue of A$374.3 million, including A$56.5 million of toll milling, and a net profit after tax of about A$86 million, ending the year with A$105 million of cash, bullion and listed investments, no debt and no hedging. As at 30 June 2026 its resources are 1,159,000 oz of gold measured and indicated, of which 1,000 oz is measured, plus 1,153,000 oz inferred, with ore reserves of 272,000oz at Paulsens and Kal East. Its Managing Director is Chris Stone.