JUNIORMETRICS
Gold$4,479.95/oz
Silver$66.98/oz
Copper$6.00/lb

Aya Gold & Silver Inc.

AYA·AYA·$29.70·$3B cap
Silveralso:Zgounder Silver Mine, Anti-Atlas Range, Morocco Map

Aya Gold & Silver is a Canadian precious metals company anchored in Morocco, where its flagship Zgounder Silver Mine is a commercial silver producer that has rapidly scaled output - record Q2 2026 production of 1.68M silver-equivalent ounces, up 61% year-over-year. The company also holds the polymetallic Boumadine project in Morocco at exploration/evaluation stage, and recently dual-listed on Nasdaq alongside its TSX listing.

Notable vs. Peers

  • Financials score of 6/10 is weaker than the peer average of 7.6/10.
  • Trading within 0% of its 52-week high — strong recent price momentum.

Lifecycle Milestones

Grassroots
Resource Def.
PEA
PFS
Feasibility
Permitting
Construction
ProductionCurrent

Construction Milestones

5 of 5 reached
  1. Jan 2012 · Following an ONHYM international tender Maya Gold & Silver (AYA's predecessor) won 2011-09-15, Maya and ONHYM signed the definitive convention/Assignment Agreement 2012-01-06, under which Maya's subsidiary Zgounder Millennium Silver Mining acquired 85% of the Zgounder silver deposit (ONHYM retaining 15%) for CAD 5,647,250 total. This convention gave Maya/AYA its own operating rights over Zgounder (distinct from the historic 1979-85 SONAREM/Reminex-era mining), directly enabling the restart recorded on this miner's existing CONSTRUCTION_START/FIRST_PRODUCTION rows. · Source
  2. Reached — date not disclosed · Task #922: written as a real, undated MinerConstructionMilestone row (achievedDate intentionally null). Aya Gold & Silver's Zgounder Silver Mine demonstrably reached (at least) two construction decisions -- the original 2013-14 restart (a contractual rehabilitation obligation under the Jan 2012 ONHYM tender/convention, this miner's own PERMIT_GRANTED row) and the 700tpd-to-2,700tpd plant expansion completed ahead of COMMERCIAL_PRODUCTION (2024-12-30, later than this row's stale 2019-01-01 COMMERCIAL_PRODUCTION date on file, which itself predates the expansion and may warrant separate review). Consolidating this miner's own constructionMilestone:CONSTRUCTION_DECISION MetricStatus research (Task #693, the third independent pass after Task #430 and Task #672): no dated construction-decision announcement was ever found for EITHER phase despite exhaustively testing every candidate event (the 2021-12-09 FS/project update, first blast Jan 2022, the 2022-02-22 FS results, detailed engineering Mar 2022, bulk earthworks Aug 2022, the EPC award Dec 2022, and the Feb 2023 financing close) -- deliberately NOT marked disputed, because Aya demonstrably built the expansion plant, so the decision provably happened and only the announcement is missing (the same AAU/SLP distinction Task #692 established: disputed is for doubt the milestone occurred at all, never mere uncertainty about which release records it). Recorded as reached-but-undated rather than continuing to leave the milestone entirely unrecorded.
  3. Reached — date not disclosed · During H1 2013, the company (then Maya Gold & Silver Inc., AYA's predecessor name -- same corporate entity, TSXV:MYA) rehabilitated the mill, concentrators and office facilities at Zgounder, targeting a mine start-up in October 2013. No single dated 'construction commences' press release located; recorded reached-but-undated per the H1-2013 period this secondary compilation attributes it to. · Source
  4. Reached — date not disclosed · First silver pour at Zgounder under Maya Gold & Silver (AYA's predecessor name) in August 2014 -- 20 ingots (~234.5kg, ~7,500oz) -- following milling operations that began in July 2014; the mine was officially inaugurated 20 September 2014. This predates the much larger, better-documented 2022-2024 Zgounder expansion (new 2,000tpd mill, commercial production declared 30 Dec 2024) -- that later event is a capacity expansion of an already-producing mine, not the company's first production, so it is NOT what this row is dated to. Exact day within August 2014 not independently confirmed; recorded reached-but-undated. · Source
  5. Jan 2019 · Genuinely reached with a clean, single, well-documented date: Aya Gold & Silver's Zgounder Silver Mine in Morocco -- effectively the company's sole material producing asset (Boumadine remains exploration/development-stage) -- began commercial-production-basis reporting from 2019-01-01, per the company's own 2019 financial results disclosure. Aya subsequently completed a major processing-plant expansion at the SAME mine (construction begun mid-2022) and declared a second commercial-production milestone for the new, expanded plant on 2024-12-29 (first silver pour 2024-11-27) -- noted here for completeness but not used as achievedDate, since the 2019 date is the company's original, unambiguous declaration and this is the same mine (not a new orebody, unlike Torex's Media Luna). This row was missing entirely prior to 2026-08-21 -- a genuine data gap, not a stage error; Miner.stage was already correctly PRODUCTION. · Source

Milestones are recorded only from a company's own dated disclosure. A milestone with no date shown is one we can confirm was reached but for which no date was disclosed — we don't estimate one. "Not yet reached" means exactly that, not that a date is missing. An "Expected" line likewise only ever reflects the company's own guidance (e.g. a study or permit decision targeted for a stated quarter) — most not-yet-reached milestones have none, and that absence means no such guidance has been disclosed, not that one is overdue.

10/10
Weak track recordStrong track record
6/10
Thin runwayWell-capitalized
6/10
High riskLow risk
How this is calculated
9/10
Weaker depositStronger deposit
7.8/10
Weaker profileStronger profile
Price Chart
$9.45$10.13$18.16$16.94$29.70JulNovFebJunSep
Jul 25, 2025Sep 4, 2026
News
$29.70
+244.7%from low0%from high
$8.61$29.70
See who ↓
3.4%
Low alignmentHigh alignment
See who ↓
50.3%
Low alignmentHigh alignment
$3B
Far belowFar above
$465.2M median
Price (USD - Local)
$29.70 - CAD 41.10
Cash Position (USD)
$172M
Far belowFar above
$75.5M median
Debt (USD)
$98M
Far aboveFar below
$7.5M median
$2.9B
Far belowFar above
$363.9M median
143.3M
Far aboveFar below
322.5M median
Jurisdiction
Morocco
100,200,000 oz
Far belowFar above
47.1M median
$29.10/oz
Far aboveFar below
$5.38/oz median
This company's data hasn't been researched yet
Open pit and underground
11 yrs
Far belowFar above
10 yrs median
This company's data hasn't been researched yet
Not enough peer data yet
This company's data hasn't been researched yet
Not enough peer data yet
This company's data hasn't been researched yet
3.4%
0%100%
13% median
50.3%
0%100%
7.2% median
$68.8M
Far belowFar above
$44.5M median
$0.48
Far belowFar above
$0.103 median
43.48x
Far aboveFar below
38.43x median
This company's data hasn't been researched yet
This company's data hasn't been researched yet
Acquisition Susceptibility
5.5/10
Unlikely bolt-onFits the takeout profile

A relative ranking of how closely this company matches the profile of juniors that have actually been acquired — not a probability, and not a reason to buy. Acquisitions are rare: only a few dozen significant deals happen a year across a universe of thousands of juniors, so even a high score here describes a long shot. The strongest signal the underlying research identifies — whether a major already holds a JV, earn-in, or 5–19.9% strategic stake — isn't tracked yet and is absent from this score.

Overall Score Trend
+30% since 2026-07-24

Your Rankings

Community Sentiment
SELLINGBUYING
CategoryCommunityYour Ranking
Overall (0)Log in to rank
Management (0)Log in to rank
Financials (0)Log in to rank
Jurisdiction (0)Log in to rank
Project Quality (0)Log in to rank

Management Team

FCPA with an MBA and 30+ years of mining executive experience, much of it developing and operating projects in West Africa. President & CEO of Aya Gold & Silver since April 2020. Founded SEMAFO Inc. in 1995, leading it from a junior explorer to a 250,000+ oz/year gold producer, ultimately as Executive Chairman until its ~C$1bn acquisition by Endeavour Mining (already tracked in this DB, EDVMF), completed Jul 2020. Also serves as Chairman of the Canadian Council on Africa, Lead Director at GoviEx Uranium, and Founder/Executive Chairman at SRG Mining Inc. (concurrent board/executive roles, not scored) and Executive Chairman at Sama Resources. Earlier directorships at Earth Alive Clean Technologies and Algold Resources Ltd (not scored, too thin).

CFA charterholder with a B.A.Sc. in Computer Engineering (Management Science) from the University of Waterloo. 15 years across mining, energy, and technology. CFO of Aya Gold & Silver since May 2020. President, COO and (per some sources) CFO of TSXV-listed SRG Mining -- appears to be an ONGOING, CONCURRENT role alongside his Aya CFO position (re-appointed Jun 2020, closely overlapping his May 2020 Aya start), where he led its largest financing and advanced its graphite project from PEA to bankable feasibility; deliberately NOT scored as a PersonMinerRole given the apparent concurrency (avoiding both a fabricated endDate and the campaign's known overextension-penalty scoring risk). Earlier roles at Windiga Energy (Director of Operations), Research in Motion, ATI Technologies, and Distech Controls -- real companies, no confirmed per-employer dates.

Insiders, Investors & Smart Money

Notable shareholders and insiders whose involvement is worth knowing about, plus what we're seeing from institutional/large-investor activity.

Smart money
2/10

The dominant fact on this register is an exit. On 21 January 2026, following a board transition announced six days earlier, nine insiders sold about 8.47 million shares at $21.47 in a single pre-announced secondary transaction -- Robert Taub and Jurgen Hambrecht accounting for the bulk of it, with roughly 12% of the executive team's holdings going alongside. The company framed it as ordinary portfolio management and management still holds around 7.7 million shares. The only purchase on record in the last year is Yves Grou's 6,700 shares in September 2025. On the institutional side, Van Eck Associates is the largest holder at about 10%, but that is its aggregate index exposure rather than a specific fund's decision, and the only other named holder is a rules-based silver ETF at 1.67%.

No notable insiders tracked for this miner yet.

Reports, Presentations & Documents

Technical Report Takeaways

December 2025 technical report: Proven & Probable Reserves of 73M oz Ag (145 g/t, 15.7Mt); Measured & Indicated Resources of 100M oz Ag (165 g/t, 18.9Mt). Life-of-mine plan of roughly 6M oz Ag/year average over the next 11 years, ~66M oz total. 2026 guidance: 6.2-6.8M silver-equivalent ounces.

AI take

Aya Gold & Silver's updated NI 43-101 Technical Report for the Zgounder Silver Mine in Morocco (filed 16 Dec 2025) carries updated Proven and Probable Mineral Reserves, an updated Mineral Resource Estimate and a revised life-of-mine plan built on a capital-efficient open-pit strategy with targeted underground zones, extending the mine life to 2036. Average annual production of about 6M oz of silver over the next 11 years, roughly 66M oz in total. Proven and Probable Reserves of 73M oz silver at 145 g/t (15.7Mt), at a US$26/oz silver price assumption and reflecting depletion to 30 Sep 2025. The Mineral Resource Estimate was prepared by RSC Consulting Ltd.; the Mineral Reserve and remainder of the report were prepared by Aya.