JUNIORMETRICS
Gold$4,479.95/oz
Silver$66.98/oz
Copper$6.00/lb

Antofagasta PLCA

ANTO·$52.55·$53.5B cap
CopperLos Pelambres Mine, Coquimbo Region, Chile -- Antofagasta's flagship and longest continuously-operated asset (60% owned, in production since Dec 1999) Map

Antofagasta PLC (LSE: ANTO) is a London-incorporated, Luksic-family-controlled copper mining group whose four producing mines are all in Chile. Los Pelambres (Coquimbo Region; Antofagasta 60%, with Japanese consortium partners holding the balance since a 1997 stake sale) is the flagship: construction began following 1997 environmental approval, first production was achieved Dec 1999 with a then-record 84-day ramp-up, and the mine celebrated its 25th anniversary of value creation in 2025 having produced more than 8.5 million tonnes of copper to date (320,000 tonnes in 2024 alone). A Development Options Project EIA, submitted Dec 2024 and not yet approved as of this pass, seeks to extend Los Pelambres' operating life to 2051; absent that approval, the mine's currently-approved reserve base is understood to support operations only to around 2035. Centinela (also Antofagasta-operated) had its Ore Reserve estimate increased 35% to 2.6 billion tonnes following the addition of the Encuentro sulphides pit (738Mt at 0.45% Cu) as at 31 Dec 2024, and is mid-construction on a Second Concentrator Project. Zaldivar (50%-owned) received Group approval in Q2 2026 for a ~$0.9 billion water-pipeline investment enabling a transition away from continental water sourcing from mid-2028, supporting a potential mine-life extension to 2051 there as well. Antamina-scale byproduct exposure comes from gold and molybdenum (roughly 22% of H1 2026 group revenue combined, with copper the remaining ~77-78%); H1 2026 EBITDA rose 27% on record copper prices even as group copper production of 285,000 tonnes was 9% below the prior-year half, reflecting reduced Los Pelambres throughput from higher maintenance activity and lower grades. Group net debt was $3,966.1 million as at 30 Jun 2026 (net debt/EBITDA 0.68x), up from $2,749.5 million at 31 Dec 2025.

Lifecycle Milestones

Grassroots
Resource Def.
PEA
PFS
Feasibility
Permitting
Construction
ProductionCurrent

Construction Milestones

5 of 5 reached
  1. Reached — date not disclosed · Los Pelambres' 1997-2000 construction/commissioning history predates readily and cleanly available public records for a single dated event on this specific milestone (the EIA approval and financing/FID decision are blended together in available secondary-source retellings without a clean split, and no single 'commercial production declared' announcement was found distinct from the general 84-day-ramp-up narrative already cited for FIRST_PRODUCTION) -- same 'predates available records' treatment as this backlog's other multi-decade-old flagship assets (e.g. PDN's Langer Heinrich PERMIT_GRANTED, Task #620). Row exists to satisfy the stage=PRODUCTION lifecycle-gate check (src/lib/lifecycle-gates.ts), which per Task #619/#620 precedent applies cumulatively at CONSTRUCTION-or-later stages. · Source
  2. Reached — date not disclosed · Los Pelambres' 1997-2000 construction/commissioning history predates readily and cleanly available public records for a single dated event on this specific milestone (the EIA approval and financing/FID decision are blended together in available secondary-source retellings without a clean split, and no single 'commercial production declared' announcement was found distinct from the general 84-day-ramp-up narrative already cited for FIRST_PRODUCTION) -- same 'predates available records' treatment as this backlog's other multi-decade-old flagship assets (e.g. PDN's Langer Heinrich PERMIT_GRANTED, Task #620). Row exists to satisfy the stage=PRODUCTION lifecycle-gate check (src/lib/lifecycle-gates.ts), which per Task #619/#620 precedent applies cumulatively at CONSTRUCTION-or-later stages. · Source
  3. Jan 1997 · Los Pelambres' environmental impact assessment was approved and construction began in 1997 (Bechtel-built original concentrator, 1997-1999), following Antofagasta's 1997 sale of a 25% stake to a Japanese consortium and a further 15% to another partner. Year precision only (exact month/day not independently confirmed this pass). · Source
  4. Dec 1999 · Los Pelambres achieved first production in Dec 1999, with a then-industry-leading 84-day ramp-up to full 85ktpd capacity. Month precision only. · Source
  5. Reached — date not disclosed · Los Pelambres' 1997-2000 construction/commissioning history predates readily and cleanly available public records for a single dated event on this specific milestone (the EIA approval and financing/FID decision are blended together in available secondary-source retellings without a clean split, and no single 'commercial production declared' announcement was found distinct from the general 84-day-ramp-up narrative already cited for FIRST_PRODUCTION) -- same 'predates available records' treatment as this backlog's other multi-decade-old flagship assets (e.g. PDN's Langer Heinrich PERMIT_GRANTED, Task #620). Row exists to satisfy the stage=PRODUCTION lifecycle-gate check (src/lib/lifecycle-gates.ts), which per Task #619/#620 precedent applies cumulatively at CONSTRUCTION-or-later stages. · Source

Milestones are recorded only from a company's own dated disclosure. A milestone with no date shown is one we can confirm was reached but for which no date was disclosed — we don't estimate one. "Not yet reached" means exactly that, not that a date is missing. An "Expected" line likewise only ever reflects the company's own guidance (e.g. a study or permit decision targeted for a stated quarter) — most not-yet-reached milestones have none, and that absence means no such guidance has been disclosed, not that one is overdue.

Weak track recordStrong track record
4/10
Thin runwayWell-capitalized
7/10
High riskLow risk
How this is calculated
6/10
Weaker depositStronger deposit
5.7/10
Weaker profileStronger profile
Price Chart
$29.40$37.13$53.28$54.39$52.55AugNovMarJunSep
Aug 26, 2025Sep 4, 2026
$52.55
+82.6%from low-13.7%from high
$28.78$60.90
$53.5B
Far belowFar above
$1.5B median
Price (USD - Local)
$52.55 - GBP 38.89
Cash Position (USD)
$2.1B
Far belowFar above
$94M median
Debt (USD)
$6.1B
Far aboveFar below
$121.9M median
$57.5B
Far belowFar above
$1.4B median
985.9M
Far aboveFar below
541.8M median
Jurisdiction
United Kingdom
This company's data hasn't been researched yet
This company's data hasn't been researched yet
This company's data hasn't been researched yet
Open pit (Los Pelambres, Centinela, Antucoya, Zaldivar -- conventional truck-shovel open-pit mining; concentrate/flotation and SX-EW processing)
9 yrs
Far belowFar above
15 yrs median
This company's data hasn't been researched yet
Not enough peer data yet
This company's data hasn't been researched yet
Not enough peer data yet
This company's data hasn't been researched yet
This company's data hasn't been researched yet
This company's data hasn't been researched yet
This company's data hasn't been researched yet
This company's data hasn't been researched yet
This company's data hasn't been researched yet
This company's data hasn't been researched yet
This company's data hasn't been researched yet
Acquisition Susceptibility
6.3/10
Unlikely bolt-onFits the takeout profile

A relative ranking of how closely this company matches the profile of juniors that have actually been acquired — not a probability, and not a reason to buy. Acquisitions are rare: only a few dozen significant deals happen a year across a universe of thousands of juniors, so even a high score here describes a long shot. The strongest signal the underlying research identifies — whether a major already holds a JV, earn-in, or 5–19.9% strategic stake — isn't tracked yet and is absent from this score.

Overall Score Trend
+0% since 2026-08-26

Your Rankings

Community Sentiment
SELLINGBUYING
CategoryCommunityYour Ranking
Overall (0)Log in to rank
Management (0)Log in to rank
Financials (0)Log in to rank
Jurisdiction (0)Log in to rank
Project Quality (0)Log in to rank

Management Team

Chief Executive Officer of Antofagasta plc. Commercial engineer and economist with over 30 years in the mining and oil & gas industries; joined the Antofagasta group in 2015.

Chief Financial Officer of Antofagasta plc since March 2020, succeeding Alfredo Atucha. Electrical engineer with 15+ years of experience across energy, mining and railway sectors; joined the Antofagasta group in 2015.

Non-executive Chairman of Antofagasta plc since 2004, on the board since 1990. Member of the Luksic family, Antofagasta's controlling shareholder group.

Insiders, Investors & Smart Money

Notable shareholders and insiders whose involvement is worth knowing about, plus what we're seeing from institutional/large-investor activity.

Smart money

No smart-money tracking (institutional/large-investor activity) for this miner yet — this is a planned feature, not live data.

No notable insiders tracked for this miner yet.

Reports, Presentations & Documents

Technical Report Takeaways

Multi-asset producer (Los Pelambres, Centinela, Antucoya, Zaldivar) with no single consolidated corporate-level dcfNpvUsd/irrPct/technicalReportPriceAssumptionUsd figure disclosed -- same structural gap as this backlog's other multi-asset majors (BHP/SCCO/FCX/CCO/IVN/HBM/LUN/CS/FM). mineLifeYears below is Los Pelambres-specific and reflects the CURRENT approved reserve base (to ~2035), not the pending, not-yet-approved 2051 extension -- described transparently as such rather than presenting an unapproved extension as an established fact. ouncesFound is deliberately left null per this repo's still-open Task #324 ouncesFound/copper-unit policy question, same convention as this backlog's other copper majors.