Barrick Mining Corporation
Barrick Mining Corporation (renamed from Barrick Gold Corporation in 2025 to reflect its growing copper business) is one of the world's largest gold and copper producers, formed by the 2019 merger of Barrick Gold and Randgold Resources. Headquartered in Toronto, its core operations are anchored by Nevada Gold Mines (a 61.5% Barrick / 38.5% Newmont joint venture, Barrick-operated), Kibali (DRC, 45% Barrick JV with AngloGold Ashanti and state miner SOKIMO), Loulo-Gounkoto (Mali) and Pueblo Viejo (Dominican Republic, ~60% Barrick JV with Newmont). This record covers those 4 flagship operations via Task #347's Project model; the broader portfolio also includes Tongon (Côte d'Ivoire), Bulyanhulu and North Mara (Tanzania), Veladero (Argentina), and the Reko Diq copper-gold project (Pakistan, under security-related review as of this pass). Barrick plans to spin off its North American gold assets (including its Nevada Gold Mines stake and Pueblo Viejo) into a separately New York-listed 'NewCo' by late 2026. Mark Hill became permanent President and CEO on 5 Feb 2026 after serving as interim CEO from Sep 2025; Helen Cai is CFO. Year-end 2025 proven and probable gold reserves were 85 million ounces at 0.98 g/t, calculated at a $1,500-2,000/oz gold price assumption.
Lifecycle Milestones
Construction Milestones
5 of 5 reached- Reached — date not disclosed · Anchored to the 10-year Loulo-Gounkoto (Mali) permit renewal secured in early 2026, the most recent major permitting event in the current portfolio -- not a company-wide date across Barrick's full multi-mine, multi-decade history. [Task #697 chronology ruling, 2026-08-25] achievedDate cleared (was 2026-01-01). Task #696 flagged this as a permit dated 36 years after this miner's FIRST_PRODUCTION row. Both sides were placeholders, and this one was doubly so: the note above says it was "Anchored to the 10-year Loulo-Gounkoto (Mali) permit renewal secured in early 2026... not a company-wide date", so the value was (a) a RENEWAL rather than an original grant and (b) "early 2026" rendered as 1 January. Barrick's other three rows (CONSTRUCTION_DECISION, CONSTRUCTION_START, COMMERCIAL_PRODUCTION) already carry achievedDate=null with an explicit "no single company-wide date exists" hedge for a 17-country portfolio assembled over decades through the Randgold merger and the Nevada Gold Mines JV. This row now matches them. The Loulo-Gounkoto renewal research is preserved above. · Source
- Reached — date not disclosed · No single company-wide construction-decision date exists for a portfolio built up over decades plus the 2019 Barrick-Randgold merger. Row presence documents the general fact rather than a fabricated date. · Source
- Reached — date not disclosed · Same caveat as CONSTRUCTION_DECISION -- Pueblo Viejo's recent expansion construction is the best-documented recent build, but a precise start date was not confirmed against a primary source this pass. · Source
- Reached — date not disclosed · Approximate -- Barrick's Nevada operations (the current Nevada Gold Mines complex) have been in continuous production since well before the 1990s; exact first-production date for the combined modern JV structure is not a single meaningful date. Row presence confirms current production status, which Q1 2026 results (260,000-290,000 oz guidance at Loulo-Gounkoto alone) directly evidence. [Task #697 chronology ruling, 2026-08-25] achievedDate cleared (was 1990-01-01). Paired with the PERMIT_GRANTED correction above. The note already called this "Approximate" and, unusually, argued against its own value -- "exact first-production date for the combined modern JV structure is not a single meaningful date" -- while also noting Nevada has produced "since well before the 1990s". A date the row itself says is not meaningful should not be the thing another rule is measured against. Now consistent with the company-wide null hedge on this miner's other rows; row presence and citation continue to evidence current production status. · Source
- Reached — date not disclosed · Genuinely reached, but no single company-wide commercial-production date exists across a global multi-mine portfolio (17 countries) assembled over decades through mergers (notably Randgold, 2019) and joint ventures (Nevada Gold Mines with Newmont) -- each asset (Loulo-Gounkoto, Kibali, Pueblo Viejo, Cortez/Goldrush, Turquoise Ridge, Hemlo, etc.) reached commercial production independently. Barrick reported Q2 2026 gold production of 796,000 ounces (up 11% over Q1, above guidance of 730,000-770,000 oz), confirming active, ongoing commercial gold production across the portfolio. This row was missing entirely prior to 2026-08-21 -- a genuine data gap (row presence is the signal per this model's doc comment), not a stage error; Miner.stage was already correctly PRODUCTION. Same pattern as AEM (see scripts/fix-aem-commercial-production-and-fcf-price-gaps.ts) and the other five gap tickers fixed in this same batch (NEM, AGI, EQX, BTG, AAUC). · Source
Milestones are recorded only from a company's own dated disclosure. A milestone with no date shown is one we can confirm was reached but for which no date was disclosed — we don't estimate one. "Not yet reached" means exactly that, not that a date is missing. An "Expected" line likewise only ever reflects the company's own guidance (e.g. a study or permit decision targeted for a stated quarter) — most not-yet-reached milestones have none, and that absence means no such guidance has been disclosed, not that one is overdue.
Combined view across 4 projects. Figures below are only combined where the underlying basis genuinely matches -- see the notes under each.
A relative ranking of how closely this company matches the profile of juniors that have actually been acquired — not a probability, and not a reason to buy. Acquisitions are rare: only a few dozen significant deals happen a year across a universe of thousands of juniors, so even a high score here describes a long shot. The strongest signal the underlying research identifies — whether a major already holds a JV, earn-in, or 5–19.9% strategic stake — isn't tracked yet and is absent from this score.
Your Rankings
Management Team
Interim President & CEO of Barrick Mining Corporation from Sep 2025, confirmed as permanent President & CEO in early 2026, after nearly two decades at Barrick since joining in 2006 (Chief Investment Officer from Sep 2016; earlier VP Evaluations and VP Capital Projects; COO for LATAM and Asia-Pacific). Before Barrick, held senior positions at BHP Billiton, AngloGold Ashanti, Placer Dome, and WMC Ltd (per multiple independent sources), though no specific title or date range for any of these four roles could be confirmed to a primary-source citation standard in this research pass -- not written as a scored career-history row to avoid fabricating a date or title; flagged here as a genuine, honest partial gap for a future, deeper pass.
Senior Executive Vice President and Chief Financial Officer of Barrick Mining Corporation, effective 1 Mar 2026 (Barrick board member since Nov 2021). Before Barrick, Managing Director at China International Capital Corporation (CICC) leading IPO/restructuring/M&A transactions, until spring 2021; earlier an equity research analyst at Goldman Sachs covering American mining and technology sectors.
Chief Geological Officer of Regulus Resources Inc. (Dr.) Economic geologist with 40 years' field experience in North and South America; a founding member of Regulus.
Insiders, Investors & Smart Money
Notable shareholders and insiders whose involvement is worth knowing about, plus what we're seeing from institutional/large-investor activity.
Task #172 gate batch: smartMoneyScore rubric (playbook §7.6) applied 2026-08-15 -- GATED: marketCapUsd $69.35B >= $5.0B applicability threshold. At this size, index membership (GDX, S&P/TSX 60, Russell 1000) mechanically dominates the shareholder register, so absence of a visible specialist bet carries no information. RESEARCHED_UNKNOWN per playbook §6.4/§7.6.
No notable insiders tracked for this miner yet.
Reports, Presentations & Documents
Barrick is a multi-mine producer operating four economically-distinct, separately-studied gold complexes carried as Project rows: Nevada Gold Mines (Nevada, USA -- JV with Newmont), Kibali (DRC -- JV with AngloGold Ashanti), Loulo-Gounkoto (Mali) and Pueblo Viejo (Dominican Republic, 60% Barrick/40% Newmont). Per playbook Sec 7.1, company-level dcfNpvUsd/irrPct/mineLifeYears are deliberately left null rather than represented by one asset's figures -- see the Projects tab. Pueblo Viejo's own economics: the Pueblo Viejo Expansion (plant throughput increase to ~14 Mtpa plus a new tailings facility, El Naranjo) requires an initial new investment of US$1.3 billion and is expected to extend the mine's life to beyond 2040, sustaining production above 800,000 oz/yr (100% basis), per Barrick's 27 Jul 2023 release -- already reflected in this Project row's mineLifeYears citation. No standalone or consolidated after-tax NPV/IRR figure for the Expansion was found disclosed in the sources checked this pass (the underlying Mar 2023 NI 43-101 Technical Report on SEDAR/EDGAR runs well over 10MB and could not be fetched/analyzed in this pass -- a genuine access-limited gap, not a confirmed non-disclosure). No NPV/IRR figures were found for Nevada Gold Mines, Kibali, or Loulo-Gounkoto either. ouncesFound (85 Moz P&P Reserves, 31 Dec 2025) was already correctly cited before this pass and is unchanged.